Customer Reviews for

The Death of Bees: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

One of the best books I've ever read. So raw and wonderfully written.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Over 300 pages

Filled with sex, grown men with 14 year old girls. Incest with very young girls. Gay man with very young prostitutes. 15 year old lesbians. Young girls and their boyfriends. Gay man and his partner, unmarried adults. There is drug use, selling drugs, stealing drug money...
Filled with sex, grown men with 14 year old girls. Incest with very young girls. Gay man with very young prostitutes. 15 year old lesbians. Young girls and their boyfriends. Gay man and his partner, unmarried adults. There is drug use, selling drugs, stealing drug money and alcohal abuse by children. Kids are smoking at 11 years old. There is an over abundance of cursing. There us murder and its cover up, very grizzly. One of the sisters is described as mentaly handicapped. There is child abuse by everyone. This book is well edited. It is set in England. The English words and slang were hard to decipher at times. I did not like this book at all. The ending was okay. I am astonished there were so many good reviews, then I noticed many of them were by game playing kids. This book is for adults only. I found it to be unbelievable and very disturbing. It literally made me sick to my stomach in places.

AD

posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Amazing

    One of the best books I've ever read. So raw and wonderfully written.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Eugene Doyle. Born 19 June 1972. Died 17 December 2010, aged thi

    Eugene Doyle. Born 19 June 1972. Died 17 December 2010, aged thirty-eight. Isabel Ann Macdonald. Born 24 May 1974. Died 18 December 2010, aged thirty-six.

    Today is Christmas Eve. Today is my birthday. Today I am fifteen. Today I buried my parents in the backyard. Neither of them were beloved."

    The opening prologue of Lisa O'Donnell's book The Death of Bees hooked me right away. Aren't you wondering? Where can the story go after such a beginning? Well, O'Donnell takes it place I wouldn't have imagined......

    Marnie and her sister Nelly live on a housing estate in Glasgow. With the death of their parents Marnie is determined to keep herself and the younger Nelly together. So she lies - if anyone asks, their parents have gone to Turkey for a bit. It's not that much of a stretch - the girls have been left to fend for themselves many times as Gene and Izzy drink, smoke and party their lives away. But, Lennie, the lonely old man next door does notice. He begins to help them, feeding them and providing a clean, warm place for them to stay. But the questions start coming from all sides - teachers, friends and more. And Lennie helps the girls by lying as well. Until......

    The story is told in chapters alternating through the three main characters. The same events are seen very differently in some cases. O'Donnell's characters are wonderful. Marnie is tough, resilient, brilliant but tiring of holding it all together. Nelly is wounded in many ways and seeks solace in her own world, often speaking as though she's in an old movie. Lennie too, is wounded by the world, having endured his own hardships. But the three together are able to find pockets of happiness and joy together and - dare I say it - the family that each has been yearning for. Until.....

    As I crept nearer to the end of the book, I accepted my fate - I was going to be up very late that night - there was no way I could possibly put it down without knowing the outcome. O'Donnell manipulates the reader magnificently. We are given subtle insights into the girls' past with each of their narratives that only intensifies the need to know more (and the rapid turning of just one more page) Their situation is appalling, but there is that little glimmer that maybe, just maybe it will be okay. (precipitating more rapid page turning)

    I absolutely adored this book. Every year there a few books that stand out for me, ones that I immediately think of when someone says 'Can you recommend a good read? Definitely - The Death of Bees.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book from TLC Book Tours in exchange for a fair

    I received this book from TLC Book Tours in exchange for a fair and honest review.  

    The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell hooked me from the start.  I read this book over the course of one day, totally unwilling to put it down.

    The Death of Bees is about Marnie and Nelly, who have buried their not-so-wonderful parents in the backyard of their (potentially project) house.  Marnie is a 15-year-old, super smart but also kind of lazy teen, who enjoy cigarettes, occasional drug use, and being Nelly’s protector.  Nelly is a little “off,” an almost-normal girl, who just seems to have a little bit of social trouble.

    Marnie and Nelly need to keep the secret and survive, especially one the welfare checks are cut off. . . and they do so with the help of their “sexual predator” neighbor, an elderly gay man named Lennie who had one incident that has labeled him for the rest of his life.

    Lennie becomes a surrogate grandfather to the girls, and while he doesn’t know exactly where the parents are, he lets that go to both help protect Nelly and Marnie and also to have their company.

    They all have secrets, and through the telling of The Death of Bees, you realize that sometimes family doesn’t always have to be who you are related to by blood.

    The Death of Bees is a book I recommend.  It’s one you can read quickly, even at over 300 pages.

    Would you cover up a secret if you knew it was for the best interest of someone you loved?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    This is an amazing book. A must read. Lisa O'Donnell is a fantas

    This is an amazing book. A must read. Lisa O'Donnell is a fantastic writer and I'm looking forward to her next book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Over 300 pages

    Filled with sex, grown men with 14 year old girls. Incest with very young girls. Gay man with very young prostitutes. 15 year old lesbians. Young girls and their boyfriends. Gay man and his partner, unmarried adults. There is drug use, selling drugs, stealing drug money and alcohal abuse by children. Kids are smoking at 11 years old. There is an over abundance of cursing. There us murder and its cover up, very grizzly. One of the sisters is described as mentaly handicapped. There is child abuse by everyone. This book is well edited. It is set in England. The English words and slang were hard to decipher at times. I did not like this book at all. The ending was okay. I am astonished there were so many good reviews, then I noticed many of them were by game playing kids. This book is for adults only. I found it to be unbelievable and very disturbing. It literally made me sick to my stomach in places.

    AD

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    It's not a happy book. I didn't expect to like it. But I loved i

    It's not a happy book. I didn't expect to like it. But I loved it; couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Very good read

    A jarring and raw plot, but ultimately a book about family. Two girls left on their own when their parents die (don't weep for the parents, they were scum) must find a way to stay together. The people who hurt and help them define the families these girls form. Loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Quite an intere

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Quite an interesting book and definitely different from most of what I read, this book centers around two sisters who are burying their parents and at the young ages of 15 and 12 are trying to keep up the appearances to avoid being separated.  Their inquisitive neighbor enters the picture and provides another voice to the book with his own issues that he is trying to live with.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Once I began reading, I couldn't put it down. 

    Once I began reading, I couldn't put it down. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    I felt this story was far fetched and not believable. Maybe life

    I felt this story was far fetched and not believable. Maybe life is this much different in Scotland that 2 adults could go missing for months and their 2 minor children would be able to hide it from the authorities. Also the narrative used English or Scotish phrases and words so the speech patterns are different than most books I read. For me this was like a fairy tale that goes to the dark side that a teenager who hates her parents might dream up of life on her own.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Five stars!

    Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Thoroughly Enjoyed!

    A captivating story written in an uncommon style. Each of the main characters contributes in the first person, often providing a first hand perspective of a scene from each of the character's point of view.

    A story of redemption from tragedy, of family love found in the ashes of sorrow, violence and loss. Many wounded characters come together in this tale and in their compassion help to make each other whole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Amazing

    Started and finished in just one day.....just could not put this book down! An amazing book about family, and how family comes in many forms. Well writen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    L

    This was one of the best books that I have read. The story is told in chapters by three characters. The characters will make you wish for better things for them all. A very interesting book and a book you will keep in your thoughts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Great read!!!

    Love the characters - all were so distinct! Highly recommended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    The story is a little depressing and some of the language is offensive. The characters made this a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    The characters were so full...really enjoyed the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    I loved it.  The characters, setting and story line.   While a t

    I loved it.  The characters, setting and story line.   While a tough pill to swallow it was intriguing.   Very interesting read indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Raw and Original What a strange, but wonderful book! This story

    Raw and Original

    What a strange, but wonderful book! This story was unlike anything I've read before. It was a little dark, disturbing, and vulgar at times, but it made the story raw and original. Marnie and Nelly are wonderful girls that are just trying to stay with each other, the only family they know. Lennie is a grandfather figure to them and loves the girls dearly. This book was great. Marnie is a little rough around the edges, and Nelly, a quiet, soft-spoken girl. They don't seem like they would be close sisters, but after their difficult childhood, they are there for each other. I highly recommend this book to everyone, as long as you don't mind a little vulgarity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Loved this book!!!

    Absolutely entertaining as you love and hate the various characters. Would highly recommend this book about two of today's teenagers and their good and bad caretakers. It's a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3