Customer Reviews for

The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Pat Conroy is, plain and simple, a brilliant author. The Great S

Pat Conroy is, plain and simple, a brilliant author. The Great Santini is one of my favorite films and it is sheer delight to get to known the man who influenced this story. Conroy writes with honesty that jumps off the page. I loved this book and highly recommend it.

posted by coreyblissford on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best book

I like Pat Conroy's writing, but I think he "overwrote" in this book. I found the description of his mother's illness especially unpleasant; I am not one who enjoys the most graphic details of an illness. I did finish this book and I don't finish every book I start an...
I like Pat Conroy's writing, but I think he "overwrote" in this book. I found the description of his mother's illness especially unpleasant; I am not one who enjoys the most graphic details of an illness. I did finish this book and I don't finish every book I start and I will continue to read Mr. Conroy's books but I do not recommend this one except to avid fans of the author.

posted by 7577658 on November 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Sandwing

    Runs to cliff and jumps off of it dying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Bittersweet Memoir

    The Death of Santini, a memoir was a difficult book to read at times, as Pat was a victim of a scarred childhood carried though to his adult life – his anger, failed marriages his own demons, dark secrets, breakdowns, the suicide of his youngest brother, Tom, (5 of the children attempted suicide), the death of his mother.

    When he published his novel “The Great Santini”, was a fictionalized version of his father which caused great controversy; and this one was the nonfictional account of his life with his abusive father. The book opened up his father and they began a journey to help make peace with the past. This book is about second chances of dysfunctional families and wars waged within and forgiveness – Thought provoking, powerful, emotional, tragic, yet moving and written from the heart.

    Don Conroy expected total obedience from his children and ruled the house with a military discipline. The background of both Pat and Don, led to their extreme expectations of all sorts of behavior. However, during all the turmoil, there was something almost heroic about the way the family rallied during the most difficult times, which could prove they loved one another in their own way.

    This book is a more honest account of family versus the prior book and heartbreaking. Pat Conroy opens up his raw feelings of abuse based on real events- Highly recommend for southern Pat Conroy fans, opening his personal connections, his life, and his writing. As usual, he interjects humor and expressive way of telling the story, making it easier to read with all the sadness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    One of the best books I have ever read, and in my opinion the be

    One of the best books I have ever read, and in my opinion the best Conroy book to date.  A keeper, and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Would pass on this one

    Started reading it and have for now put it aside. There was nothing there to hold my interest. I have read all of Conroys books in the past and will no doubt return to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Difficult read

    Prepare to enter a dark corner of the world that centers on mental illness and physical abuse. Pat Conroy opens his life without benefit of cover-up characters and introduces the real players in his books who have made his literary world possible. The reader will experience unbelievable rage at parents who are so deranged in the first part of the book while raising their children...then are expected to 'mellow down' as the parents age, and deny, their culpability in the damage done to their children. I am left shaken...why? Because it brought back horrible memories for me...I am Pat's age now, and it still hurts and I have questions, but no one to answer them...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    When I first started to read The Death of Santini, I was really

    When I first started to read The Death of Santini, I was really doubting why I bought the book in the first place. It seemed to be a repetition of what I was reading in all of Conroy's other books. Well, I bought it, so I was determined to read it and labored through the first three chapters. Then the book started to get into fresh material. I realized he was probably bringing in readers who were not familiar with his other works.

    As I was going through the following chapters, I was learning things about the family that the other books had not brought out. I give Pat Conroy a lot of credit for being able to tell such a sad story with such truth; especially since it was about him and his family. It took a lot of courage to point out the things he did. I don't think it was a case of Look What I Had To Go Through, but more of trying to explain how families like this are really affecting the children. He has to explain what it did to him as factual. Who would know better than he? But as you read on, he is telling what he was told, observed and what factually happened to the others in the family. A splendid story, especially for people in similar circumstances, and are lost in the fog of their own frightful environment. The chapters about Stanny were drawn out. It got just a little boring. The most insightful part was about his father's denial about what he had done. Again, Conroy doesn't make judgment. He just tells it as it happened. Was Don Conroy really having mental problems? Or was he just ashamed of what he did? The readers are left to come to their own conclusions.

    Through all this sadness, Pat Conroy still found a way to make you laugh. The guy is a damn good writer. I wound up really liking this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pat Conroy has created a remarkable masterpiece. The Death of Sa

    Pat Conroy has created a remarkable masterpiece. The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son is a must read.  It is a heart wrenching novel. The process of healing and coming to terms with the past can be hilarious and emotional. Many siblings, even though raised by the same parents, deal with grief, love, emotions and life very differently.  Conroy writes about these subjects with such amazing, insightful descriptions that I felt I could understand the different journeys that each took.  For an author to dig deep into themselves, emotions and their family and be able to write so beautifully, it is not only courageous but pure genius!  Thank you Mr Conroy for sharing and writing.  I thank my late Irish dad, who grew up in Atlanta for introducing me to Pat Conroy's books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    The Death of Santini

    I loved the book
    Thank you for sharing your family
    Only a person from a perfect family will not learn from this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly recommend this book, especially if you were a military brat in this era of our country's history.

    I have followed all of the Pat Conroy novels and loved how he shows his readers that a family survives and heals and moves on.
    Parents try their best to raise a family in the best of times and we certainly saw the worst of times and Mr. Conroy lovingly evoked memories in all of us born in that era of military parents and the war's effect on their children. In both public and private they endured. He is an eloquent man and writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    I have most of Pat Conroy's books, and am appalled at this lates

    I have most of Pat Conroy's books, and am appalled at this latest drivel. He seems to have no new
    ideas to write about,
    and has gone over the top with this one. It was whiny, self-pitying and vulgar. The last I plan to read and very disappointing. A former fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Santini

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This is Conroy's through and through. I was very disappointed in South of Broad but The Death of Santini was marvelous. Pat Conroy will remain my favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Good reading

    This is a wonderful book but a bit heart breaking. The story of a man's life who was quite abused, physically and emotionally. I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Truly great

    Jpw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Strongly recommended

    A Conroy fan long before I moved to South Carolina, this is yet another example of him tracing his familial history through fiction and now non-fiction. He is an evocative writer and his books very moving, stirring something within. I envy his ability to work out the familial dysfunction via such beautiful writing with such wonderful storylines. A very good book, and very glad I got it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Excellent

    Could not put this book down. Good for Conroy, he found a way too put his family demons away. Very brave and unselfish to share his feelings with us. A good Southern read. Thanks, Mr. Conroy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    I have read and loved six of Pat Conroy's books, and this one is

    I have read and loved six of Pat Conroy's books, and this one is the shining star of all of them. This is like no other book I have ever read.
    I feel like I was privileged to sit down and have Pat Conroy explain his entire life to me, with such candor, insight, and total honesty that I was in total awe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Heartbreaking and Beautifully Written

    Pat Conroy's fiction is always poignantly and exquisitely written, so it's no surprise that his autobiography would be equally moving. He leads us on an honest and heartbreaking journey through the tragic circumstances of being the oldest child of a larger-than-life abusive father. This book will haunt me but I will never regret reading it. The Prince of Tides had such an impact on me that it led to my seeking must-needed therapy, so in a way Pat may have saved my life. Not everyone is strong enough to read the beautiful and brutal truth about his life, but no one who reads it will regret it and is a book I know I'll read more than once.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Disappointed

    Extremely disappointed. I was expecting a continuation of what I considered one of the best books I have read, "The Great Santini". Never even finished the book. Was nothing but an "I" "me" book. Look at how good a son I was. As close to a waste of printed matter as I ever attempted to stumble through. I know it got lots of good reviews but I am still wondering why and how. Literary, maybe. An interesting story, absolutely not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Not a must read.

    Long and not particularly insightful tale of his relationships with his father and other family members. I prefer his fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4