Customer Reviews for

The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Pat Conroy is, plain and simple, a brilliant author. The Great S

Pat Conroy is, plain and simple, a brilliant author. The Great Santini is one of my favorite films and it is sheer delight to get to known the man who influenced this story. Conroy writes with honesty that jumps off the page. I loved this book and highly recommend it.

posted by coreyblissford on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not his best book

I like Pat Conroy's writing, but I think he "overwrote" in this book. I found the description of his mother's illness especially unpleasant; I am not one who enjoys the most graphic details of an illness. I did finish this book and I don't finish every book I start an...
I like Pat Conroy's writing, but I think he "overwrote" in this book. I found the description of his mother's illness especially unpleasant; I am not one who enjoys the most graphic details of an illness. I did finish this book and I don't finish every book I start and I will continue to read Mr. Conroy's books but I do not recommend this one except to avid fans of the author.

posted by 7577658 on November 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    I have read and loved six of Pat Conroy's books, and this one is

    I have read and loved six of Pat Conroy's books, and this one is the shining star of all of them. This is like no other book I have ever read.
    I feel like I was privileged to sit down and have Pat Conroy explain his entire life to me, with such candor, insight, and total honesty that I was in total awe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    I don't believe I've ever seen such a high-achieving, dysfunctional family. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    If you read The Great Santini, you must read this book

    I enjoyed the complex other half of this story. The read was up and down with emotion. As in the story we all live, grow, make mistakes, and do the best with what we are given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Another winner for Mr. Conroy

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. I have read all of his books, and I must say this is one of the best. A brilliant writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Wonderful story!

    I have loved all of Pat Conroy's books and was so excited to see this one. It was an honest story of a damaged family. It was interesting to see the connections between Conroy's real life and the books he's written. Also appreciated the honesty in the stories shared in the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    his best so far

    i really enjoyed this he is on top of his game with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Deathheart

    Name: Magic pegasus from cloudsdale.... Deathheart! Age: T.T 22 moons Gender: a she appearence: a pretty black cat with silver spots everywhere, one on my chest that looks like a heart, now has scars, giving me my name. Icy blue eyes. Mate/crush/kits: jaggedstar, jaggedstar, Willowkit and Toughkit parents: scourge and sandstorm History: (sigh) i guess i do need to open up... i was born in Emeraldclan as Deathkit with my sister Snake. Our clan burned down by a twoleg fire, killing my parents and family and freinds, exept for Snake. We wandered around the forest for a long time. One day, we were chased by a fox and we ran away and went our seperate ways. Tried to join Twilightclan as Deathpaw, but Leopardbreeze said no and kicked me out. Joined Lightclan, then Bloodclan attacked and I realized my bloodlust was wanted there. I became Deathheart. One day we attacked Twilightclan and Leopardbreeze broke my jaw. Later, I figured out I had a power. I turn into a bloodthirsty wolf named Fang. Plus I also have like a brother named Lightningclaw. Themesong: love the way you lie by eminem.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Ice

    I did.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Iceescales

    "Ice go to Erin Hunter res.1 and post mate a shedragon named Iceescales at snow and mate another shedragon at snow res.2."

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Read the book with diligent interest, as I have read all of his

    Read the book with diligent interest, as I have read all of his books. After reading the book (which I liked very much) Pat Conroy's name is not on my wish list for dinner companions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Pat Conroy at his best.  His voice rings true straight through y

    Pat Conroy at his best.  His voice rings true straight through your bones, especially if you are from a family of turmoil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3