BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Debt Bomb: A Bold Plan to Stop Washington from Bankrupting America

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sen. Coburn's book should add to the outrage that people already

Sen. Coburn's book should add to the outrage that people already feel about the federal government. All of us have a stake in the health of the nation, and we need to address its ills right now, before it's too late. Everyone should read the book, and take the good Doc...
Sen. Coburn's book should add to the outrage that people already feel about the federal government. All of us have a stake in the health of the nation, and we need to address its ills right now, before it's too late. Everyone should read the book, and take the good Doctor's advice very seriously.

posted by Mccullh on May 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

When our founding fathers wrote their views down for posterity,

When our founding fathers wrote their views down for posterity, one of the things discussed was how to pay for wars, pay off debt, avoid credit defaults and thus keep our country in good standing. This book ignores this wisdom, instead choosing to politicize the proble...
When our founding fathers wrote their views down for posterity, one of the things discussed was how to pay for wars, pay off debt, avoid credit defaults and thus keep our country in good standing. This book ignores this wisdom, instead choosing to politicize the problem and blame others. In that respect, it serves only as propaganda.

posted by 10957797 on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Sen. Coburn's book should add to the outrage that people already

    Sen. Coburn's book should add to the outrage that people already feel about the federal government. All of us have a stake in the health of the nation, and we need to address its ills right now, before it's too late. Everyone should read the book, and take the good Doctor's advice very seriously.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    To TillytheMole. Either you didn't read the book or you missed

    To TillytheMole. Either you didn't read the book or you missed the point. Our Country is broke and in major debt. This book is a wake up call. How much of the debt is Pres. Obama's fault......I'd say about 5 trillion plus interest. Since the Democrats took control of Congress, the National Debt: has increased from $8.67 trillion to almost $16 trillion. The Deficit has increased from $161 billion in the last budget before Democrats took control of the Congress (FY 2007) to $1.3 trillion in the most recent fiscal years. The President and the Democrat Controlled Congress passed an $800 Billion Stimulus Package that they promised would create jobs, pay for shovel ready infrastructure projects and invest in green energy (Solyndra, Amonix and other failures). It didn't work and now we are more in debt. If we do what you are suggesting and double down and spend MORE money (borrowed money) on a plan that didn't work the first time, our economy WILL collapse.
    Try reading the book!!!!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Oklahoman

    Anyone who thinks Dr. Coburn's book is propaganda or that he is doing this for political reasons, has not read the book and is not aware of the tremendous work that he and his staff have done to educate the public on the waste and fraud throughout the government. BOTH SIDES! He is a statesmen and not a partician politician. Everyone should read the book and VOTE THEM OUT!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Every Thinking American Should Read This Book.

    A fine, fine book. Coburn makes no secret of his Republican affiliation and yet he is, above all, a pragmatist and, sadly, one of the few politicians who believes that his role is first and foremost to serve the American people, NOT the narrow interests of his local constituents, NOR his party ideologues, and NOT his own re-election needs.

    His argument that "careerism" is the root cause of the shambles that is now the American system of government is thought-provoking and hard to argue with. The stories he tells of Big Government waste, program redundancy and downright fiscal stupidity are depressing in the extreme. Yet he exposes equally graphically the hypocrisy and deceit surrounding the "no tax increases" dogma that has become the ideology of the "little government" advocates on the other side of the aisle.

    A great book: a savage indictment of the American political system and a timely warning of what will happen to all of us if we don't recognize the problems and fix them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Extremely Enlightening

    Senator Coburn summarizes the insidious obsession our elected representatives have to retain office and do no harm to their reelection. He lays out the details of the chilling and destructive effect the debt has on our lives, which goes largely unnoticed by a majority of the population. I won't provide details here since the doctor has done such a masterful job himself. I didn't rate it five stars because there are several passages which are repetitive, but on the other hand, they serve to solidify the tenets and drive the points home.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    A true patriot tells us about our problems. A must read.

    Those who criticize this book as being partisan have either not read the whole book or are not thinkers. Colburn blasts both sides of the aisle. While he acknowledges that he is a conservative who would like to shrink government, at the same time he acknowedges that a solution to the debt problem must be a compromise or it will never happen. And he makes a strong case that we don't have much time to fix the problem. If you don't think we need to do something now about the federal deficit and debt, please step out of the way, because you are part of the problem.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    When our founding fathers wrote their views down for posterity,

    When our founding fathers wrote their views down for posterity, one of the things discussed was how to pay for wars, pay off debt, avoid credit defaults and thus keep our country in good standing. This book ignores this wisdom, instead choosing to politicize the problem and blame others. In that respect, it serves only as propaganda.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dr. Coburn gives a great view of the inside of our government an

    Dr. Coburn gives a great view of the inside of our government and career politicians making Washington seem like a bunch of corrupt crooks. I found this book very informative and Coburn gives analysis about everything he explains in his detailed plan to cut our spending. For a college pilot like myself who has no back round or seeking a degree in politics I found this book an awesome read, and he makes it very easy to understand for the normal citizen. I would recommend this book to anyone who want's the real story behind our debt and what the causes for government not planning anything to fix it. If we had more Senators in office like Coburn I believe we could turn this economy and nation around to what our founder fathers always dreamed for it to be. Doesn't matter if you're a die hard republican or a die hard liberal democrat, this book gives a detailed plan to fix the debt crisis our career politicians have put us in and get us back on track.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Next to Dr. John Taylor's, "First Principles: Five Keys to

    Next to Dr. John Taylor's, "First Principles: Five Keys to Restoring America's Prosperity," this book throughly explains our debt problem. Our debt problem is explained by Dr. Coburn as well anyone I've read over the past four years. Over the past four decades plus, Washington has spent money like a bottomless well. Dr. Coburn's writing on this subject is clear, concise, and understandable for the everyday citizen. I suggest this book to anyone, young or old who deeply cares for this great nation. We as the people, can demand a beter government for the people, by the people.
    Thank you Dr. Coburn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    If you want to know how Washington Truly Works... Read this Book!

    Coburn is the only Washington Insider willing to tell the Truth about the Bankrupting of our country. Read this Book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    This book is written by a man who a has planned since the night

    This book is written by a man who a has planned since the night of the Presdents swearing in to ruin him. So how much of the debt is his fault along with his cohorts in the do nothing congress! Instead of writing a book maybe he should have been working on jobs. Water, electrical lines and bridges need replaced. Invest in green energy in wind and solar, before we don't have a plant anymore!!

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    A Must-read

    Senator Coburn exposes the tragedy of the current political situation in Washington, the waste of money and totally irresponsible behavoir by representatives of both parties in our government. Every American taxpayer should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Interesting perspective!

    Coburn has written a book that examines several issues with the US debt crisis. Generally I think he is correct in his evaluation & solutions. Coburn discusses how to approach our health and retirement programs without throwing the beneficiaries - current & future under the bus. He outlines possibilities about how to reform our tax code and approach the debt conundrum. A far more sane approach than most that I have heard.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    A chilling expose, one that you can take with a grain of salt.

    A chilling expose, one that you can take with a grain of salt. Well written. A frightening look into the future.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1