BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Decoded Company: Know Your Talent Better Than You Know Your Customers

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    I was struck by the enthusiasm and solid advice in the book. The

    I was struck by the enthusiasm and solid advice in the book. The coauthors have written such an in-depth book on how to run a company, I'm not surprised it's on the bestseller lists. This book contains training and personal coaching in its pages. The resources and ideas that the authors suggest you implement are challenging but you can see on the page how they can improve your systems.




    I don't care how big or small your company is, this book will transform it. As a small biz owner, I found it very helpful and I can recommend it to other business owners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    I highly recommend the Decoded to anyone who is looking to impro

    I highly recommend the Decoded to anyone who is looking to improve their organizational culture. It's interesting how the book lays out 3 principles that are easy to follow and can truly be transformative for any type of organization, regardless of how small or how big the team is. There is also many great real world examples that will change your perspective on how useful data can really be!
    Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    What I really admire about this book is that the information can

    What I really admire about this book is that the information can be applied to a wide variety of businesses, regardless of their size. There's some advice clearly aimed at quite larger companies, yet I, as a small business owner, have gotten more than my money's worth with the entirety of Decoded, and am ultimately left beyond impressed. What I have learned from this book will surely influence many of my future business decisions in a positive way and my only wish is that I would have had this resource available to me many years ago.

    The book's premise focuses on a different approach than what most are accustomed to; it's an adaptable and flexible one that focuses on keeping up with contemporary changes and taking advantage of great opportunities that newer, data-based technology offers; it may seem slightly daunting at first, but the author does a great job of expressing everything in a straightforward and concise manner that is easy to understand without sacrificing quality. It's not hard to tell that the author (and coauthors) are truly competent when it comes to business management, and I doubt there are many sources out there that are as helpful as Decoded.

    I found the real life case studies to be great examples of what the Decoded perspective is all about, it helped me understand the concepts in a realistic and practical setting due to the wide variety of companies discussed; there's a reason why certain major companies stand out and continue to be successful and Decoded does a great job of showing how and why they do it.

    In summary, Decoded is an absolute must read for anyone involved in business - no matter what field a company specializes in, or how big it is, I am sure that it can benefit from Decoded in some form or another. Decoded gets a strong 5 stars from me and I would strongly consider it a "must read".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    What a refreshing read! It's about time someone starting pushin

    What a refreshing read!

    It's about time someone starting pushing companies to throw out the antiquated management processes that almost every company seems to subscribe to.  Why companies keep employee the same ineffective practices over and over again is beyond me.

    The book asks what would happen if companies actually invested the time, energy and resources to understand their employees as much as they understood their customers. This seems like such a no-brainer, and yet its a revolutionary approach that only a handful of companies are providing any real thought to. 

    The best part? The book takes the reader through many great examples of "Decoded Companies" in such a way that any company can begin their own experiments in making the journey to join the 21st century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Not only does this talk about shift in management thinking, it a

    Not only does this talk about shift in management thinking, it also offered real world examples and practical advice on how to apply the thinking.  It was definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A book for business leaders. A great read!

    A book for business leaders. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Full disclosure: I'm an employee of Klick, the company featured

    Full disclosure: I'm an employee of Klick, the company featured in The Decoded Company. I'm also a professional in the field of Analytics. As a member of both communities, I'm very proud to recommend this book.

    The examples described in the book truly reflect a new way of thinking and running a business. They combine the discipline to reject outdated practices, the foresight to value previously ignored data points and the creativity to apply them in intelligent applications.
    This will be the new norm in 10 years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    What a great read! Being a business leader, I found this book to

    What a great read! Being a business leader, I found this book to be informative and inspirational . I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    I am only part way through this book but find it very insightful

    I am only part way through this book but find it very insightful and a fresh way of looking at looking at inspiring people to do great work.  This is a compelling read for any business leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A educational and inspired read for a corporate worker in any po

    A educational and inspired read for a corporate worker in any position. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Such a refreshing and rewarding read. Finally, a book that incor

    Such a refreshing and rewarding read. Finally, a book that incorporates business, motivation and how to truly make it all cohesive. As a "young professional" in the working force I found this book very helpful and inspirational. A great insight into the corporate world - with a twist! I love the "outside the box" thinking and innovation. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    This book clearly laid out the reason behind why we need to re-t

    This book clearly laid out the reason behind why we need to re-think how we engage with our teams. I really enjoyed the anecdotes and real life case studies from companies I admire and what specifically they are doing different to understand the awesome talent they have working for them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A great read for anyone who's ever been frustrated by email, mee

    A great read for anyone who's ever been frustrated by email, meetings or performance reviews!
    The thing I like about this book is that it gives interesting stories and examples from great companies (Amazon, Starbucks, Google, Netflix, Whole Foods, UPS, etc) that have faced and solved these problems. The intersection of Big Data and talent management is a fascinating one that this book tackles head on. There's been such an intense focus on understanding our customers using data and technology, but this is the first time I've seen the application of those learnings on how to better manage people and get the best performance out of them.
    I really like that while there are powerful applications of the ideas in this book for senior management, that anyone working in corporate America can apply these concepts at an individual level too. I put this up there with Good to Great by Jim Collins as one of my favorite business book reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    So many business books hammer the same message home chapter afte

    So many business books hammer the same message home chapter after chapter. Decoded is a total page turner with fresh new thoughts and Ideas at every turn. I read it in one sitting!
    There are lots of recommendations about how to connect with customers better out there but this is the first meaningful book I've read on changing the game on building bridges with your most valued asset - your people.
    There's endless dialogue about valuing people but they're BS as none of them are actionable. Decoded gives real life examples (other than just facebook) that are actionable and relatable. They hit a nerve personally around things in corporations that suck and that everyone agrees don't work culturally but are sacred cows that no one will kill. 
    The last few chapters actually give you exercises to get started!
    This is a must read if you want to change the environment you work in - regardless of what level you work at!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    An inspirational new take on office management!  A must read.

    An inspirational new take on office management!  A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    This is a how-to guide for 21st century management. The tools we

    This is a how-to guide for 21st century management. The tools we use to manage teams date back to the turn of the century. The LAST century. The Decoded Company updates management for an era where data is cheap and everywhere, and personalization applies as much inside the enterprise as out. The promise of a Decoded company is simple: spend more time doing the important work, and much, much less on the dregs of work – the meetings, the emails, the heavy processes. If you're looking for a sustainable competitive advantage, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1