Customer Reviews for

The Deep Zone: A Novel (with bonus short story Lethal Expedition)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Deep Zone is a fascinating, terrifying, exhilarating book. A

    The Deep Zone is a fascinating, terrifying, exhilarating book. A non-stop thriller that stands out as particularly well-paced and written. Any reader that enjoyed 'The Andromeda Strain' by Michael Crichton will love this novel.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    I could not set it down! If you like thrillers, you have to read

    I could not set it down! If you like thrillers, you have to read this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Deep Zone

    I enjoyed the story and found it hard to put down. I liked James M. Tabors book so much I went out and bought his book Frozen Solid and I'm already engrossed in the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Really spell binding---must admit that I was really amazed at the end to find out who the actually person who was the "villain" was--never would have suspected him. The author did a great job (I thought) of never leaving any clues as to that person at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Sort of recommend

    Subject was great and exciting, but a little far fetched. However, author needs to quit inundating us with strange words that no one has ever heard of including the Nook dictionary. Come on - I am a very intelligent reader, but hate having to stop and look up words. Seems a if he is trying to show how intelligent he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Mesmerizing

    I've never gone spelunking, and now I don't have to. This book was so vivid in its mysterious and frightening descriptions of the depths of caves, I feel as if Tabor truly took me there with the characters - all of whom were fairly engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    The Deep Zone is a well written book that paints a very complete

    The Deep Zone is a well written book that paints a very complete and interesting story but it’s slow and boring. Throughout the story there is plenty of mystery about who’s on whose side and what will happen next but that shouldn’t be confused with thrilling. For about 70% of the book (bad) things happen to the characters but for the most part they’re all away from the readers point of view so we don’t get any play by play, we’re only left wondering what happened. Then 10% of the book is pretty action packed. Then the last 20% is wrapping up with no action. Overall an interesting read but if you’re looking for a thrilling time that pulls you along you might want to skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Interesting,but graphic in places

    I've read all this author's books in this series. If you like Preston and Child or James Rollins, you'll probably like this, although its a bit more gritty.( I have to skip over the torture stuff.) The information about extreme environments is really interesting. That is why I read these books even though I cringed at some of the descriptions and avoided some parts altogether.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Great story

    Only complaint is that I would have liked to see more of the " bad guys" resolved at the end rather than leave room for a sequel. Well written and moves quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    An Exciting Action Thriller

    I found this to be a fascinating adventure story. Like most people, I have little background in caving, especially not this type. Hallie Leland is an almost hard to believe hero, and the circumstances of the cave itself seem insurmountable. The three men who accompany her are interesting. I question the necessity of her beginning a romantic attachment to one. The short story which is included is okay, but has too many similarities to the book. I have now read two items by the author--enough, I think. A book group might find this a nice change of pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Loved it

    Exciting adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Amazing

    I've only read the first chapter , but it's still a good book. (Not as good as Old Yeller though)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Wow

    Perfect story for a Syfy channel movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1