Customer Reviews for

The Deepest Cut, YA Paranormal Romance (MacKinnon Curse series, book 1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Amazing :)

    This book is fantastic, I got really attached. The writing was great and I couldn't even force myself to put it down! This book made me smile, laugh, and nearly cry. Brilliant character development, and the horror aspect was pretty scary. I cannot wait to read the second book! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Beautiful book!

    I bought this book out of impulse after reading the description & i am so glad i did! It is a beautiful book that i read in a few hours. It felt short & definately left me wanting more. I really love Riley as a character & connect with her story immediately. I am gonna forever dream of Ian :-) . I absolutely encourage others 2 read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HEART-MELTING LOVE STORY!!!

    The Deepest Cut is an amazingly beautiful love story. J.A Templeton's writing is truly beautiful. The tenderness Templeton shows between Riley and Ian made my heart fall in love with them. Riley and Ian's love had me crying, hoping, and longing that they would find a way to be together. Templeton has a gift for writing heart-melting love. Riley and Ian broke my heart with their love that could never be.

    Riley lost her mother in a car crash, and Riley feels responsible for her mom's death. The guilt is too much for Riley to carry, so she finds a way to let the pain out. But the way Riley has chosen to deal with pain is a secret that she has to hide. When Riley moves to Scotland, it's kind of hard to hide this secret from a ghost, but Ian is not your average creepy ghost. Ian's nineteen, gorgeous, and has been cursed to the lands where Riley now lives. Riley and Ian find strength in each other. Riley never thought that her best friend and the love of her life would be a ghost. And because of her gift, she knows she the only one that can end Ian's curse and he finally crosses over. This will become Riley's deepest pain, letting go of a love she knows she will never have again.

    Riley and Ian's love will make you feel every tender moment between them. Every heart break, but also the power of love that can heal the deepest cut. I highly recommend The Deepest Cut as a must read and I love the beautiful cover.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Perfect

    This is literally to die for....i couldnt stop crying because i felt so attached to the characters. I love this so much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great read

    Creative. Well written. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Loved thus Loved this book omg

    Finished it in one sitting absolutely loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Another series to fall in love with...

    I like the writing style. I am drawn to this story. Will be reading the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Ghosts!

    Riley loses her mother and now sees ghosts but not the ghost of her mother. Riley has another problem se cuts herfelf when shes upset. Her father moves the family to scotland and she meets Ian a ghost from the 1780'S. Ian comes wiyh baggage in the form of a crajzy ghost who killed and cursed Ian. Love and loss is a perfect paranormal romance combo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Amazing

    This book reminded me of so many old memories. I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved this book as much as i loved the characters. I've read it so many times and i recomend it to everyone. I never once thought the characters were too much of something or too less, they were just right.

    ~Ian Forever~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Oh. My. Goodness. I absolutely love this book! I couldn't put i

    Oh. My. Goodness.
    I absolutely love this book! I couldn't put it down and stayed up way past my bedtime to read just one more chapter. I feel in love with Ian, like many others, and wish he was my own knight in shining armor. I had force back tears at the end of this book and remind my self I was in a public place. This book had me smiling, laughing, crying, and on the edge of my seat. I love the way this book is written and the storyline. I would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat although there was some unnecessary language at times. Hope this helped.

    Love you Ian!!!!! <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raise your hand if you have a thing for a hot guy with a scottis

    Raise your hand if you have a thing for a hot guy with a scottish accent? *Raises both hands HIGH*
    If someone had told me earlier that the guys is scottish, I would read this book first, no questions ask.

    As you can tell, I loved the plot. A girl moving to anew town, meeting a hottie and getting quickly subdued to solving a life long mystery. I admired this plot. It's paced well plus it brings some good back history to the characters. With each past of theirs revealed, it's a onion pulling back the layers one by one till you've seen it all. The plot places the reader in a world of mystery and murder. You just have to fine the murder first before they get you!

    There is an enduring friendship turned love. I really liked this part. I didn't think it happen but it did. It's once love that started but the reader knew it just couldn't happen and that's what sucks! I wanted it to work soooo bad! They be perfect for each other. Nevertheless, those few precious moments they had in loving each other the only way that they can, I emerged myself more into it knowing that it be over soon.

    The ending is touching. It's is bittersweet, yet you know it's not the end, it's only the beginning. I can't wait to read the rest of the books.

    The Deepest Cut, cuts the reader deep in their heart. It's exciting to see the plot race forward once you are in the characters shoes. The thrilling events with each chapter keep the reader locked in their seat, eyes never straying off the page. Utterly amazing, The Deepest Cut is a rush!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Love it

    I lloved this book...i was stuck right away.the story line was
    great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great read!

    The book started out slow for me but quickly picked up. It has the perfect balance of romance and paranormal. I really enjoyed it and I cannot wait to read the next two! Would definately recommend this to any fan of paranormal romance series. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    How manys words or pages?

    How many words is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great read

    Truly loved this book, so much that I read the entire series in 4 days! I recomend thisbook for all who like ghost stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great paranormal with contemp aspects

    I was honored when Julia Templeton asked me to review The Deepest Cut, it combines the factors of contemp that I love, the tough issues (Riley's mom dying and her guilt at being in the car with her, and the cutting) right with the paranormal aspects that I love. The paranormal, the ghosts one woven into a love story and the other downright evil and creepy are very well written.
    I flew through this book. The characters grabbed and held my interest, the plot is fast moving always having me wonder what would happen next while still processing what just happened, and the emotions are so well written.
    Riley is easy to relate to, and her pain jumps off the page. I also really admire her love for her dad and her brother. Her brother Shane is balanced between a good friend and awesome brother with just enough annoying to make it believable.
    Ian really is swoon worthy and I love how dogged he was at first with her to get and keep her attention. He got mine too. The backstory with Laria is good, and I was always wondering what it was just below the surface and what it would finally take to deal with her.
    And I totally wasn't expecting the ending, I can't wait to get my hands on the next one to find out how this all ties together and what happens with Riley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificnet

    Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
    Reviewed by April
    Review Copy Provided by the Publisher

    If you enjoy romance and alien’s you will enjoy this short story about a one night stand that turns into so much more. This cute story gives you the reader hope in love that transcends differences.

    Frey an alien working on earth finds that he wants more than what his planet of Ginnun can give him. After making the decision to leave and make a home on earth after he is betrayed by his fiancé who has slept with his best friend and roommate. He signs up with a dating service hoping to find the perfect mate to spend the rest of his life with.

    After a divorce Carrie is left with no confidence and no faith in men. Her best friend Tamara talks her into Madame Evangeline’s one night stand dating service to get her confidence back.

    The match between Carrie and Frey ends up being magical. He rocks her world.
    In such a short story Ms. Subject brings the characters to life so much so that you find yourself feeling for them as if they were friends. Rooting for them to make things work.

    Ms. Subject shows both strong emotions and the vulnerabilities in both Frey and Carrie. The story is believable and well written. The sex scenes are sexy and sweet. Anyone who enjoys romance and/or aliens will enjoy this story.

    Favorite Quote: Carrie to Tamara when asked about her one night stand….”It was cosmic…out of this world.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Excellent Read!!

    Excellent 3 part series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love

    Love this series. My mom got me hooked!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5