BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Deepest Night

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    The Deepest Night continues Eleanore's story, immediately follow

    The Deepest Night continues Eleanore's story, immediately following the sad conclusion of The Sweetest Dark. Eleanore is still unhappily attending Iverson School for Girls, feeling that she doesn't belong among her peers who are all from families with money and are unwilling to accept her scholarship status. Her continuing friendship with Lord Armand Louis, the Marquess of Sherbourne, also attracts their jealousy, little do they know that Lore and Mandy are both dragons!
    In this sequel Shana Abe concentrates upon developing the friendship between the two protagonists, as Lore leaves Iverson for the summer to become a nurses aide at Tranquility, which Mandy offers as a convalescent home for soldiers brought home from fighting in WW1. Although for Lore, who is still grieving for Jesse, their relationship is purely platonic, Mandy's feelings for her are evolving and he hopes that she will eventually agree to becoming his wife.
    The significance of the war in the plot increases as Lore and Mandy are tasked with rescuing Mandy's elder brother from a prison camp in Europe. Not only does this heighten the tension in the story, but the reality versus fantasy boundaries merge as the only way the pair can travel is via Lore's dragon.
    The Deepest Night was a book I could not tear myself away from: there is constantly an element of fear and danger, balanced by camaraderie and romance. A brilliant series, I hope the wait for book three isn't too long!
    I received this as a complimentary review copy, but this has had no influence on my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Its ok

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    Fantancy mish mash for the genre's teen reader

    More of a serial than series suggest sample first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I really love this series! I really enjoyed the first in the ser

    I really love this series! I really enjoyed the first in the series, The Sweetest Night. I also loved The Deepest Night, I may have even enjoyed it more than the first! I'm really looking forward to the next in the series. It better turn out how I want! I don't want to be disappointed! I love the journey the main characters go through and how they are there for each other. More and more I'm liking Armand, he is really growing into a strong individual. I love how protective he is of Lora, and he doesn't waver. Lora is still great, I love how strong she is. One thing I would love for her, is to open up some. Especially with Armand. She needs to not be so closed off. I think I liked this book more than the first, because I liked that it was mainly away from the school. The adventure they go on adds so much to the story. I really hope we get a happy ending for the characters, and certain things that have been suggested don't happen. I'm really enjoying Shana Abe, and I have read other books of hers. I always enjoy Abe's books. Really, Really looking forward to the next book, please hurry!(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Random House Publishing Group - Bantam Dell and Netgalley.)
    This is book 2 in the ‘Sweetest Dark’ series, and kicks off where book 1 ‘The Sweetest Dark’ left off.
    **Warning – some unavoidable spoilers for book 1**
    After the events of the previous book, Eleanore is coming to terms with Jesse’s death, and now must find somewhere where she will be able to stay for the summer, whilst the boarding school is closed.

    Armand it seems can still hear Jesse though. He now speaks to him from the stars, and guides him. He tells Armand that his brother, who was thought dead, is actually alive, and in a German prison.

    Converting his father’s home to a convalescent facility for army members, Armand creates a job and a place to stay for Eleanor for the summer, whilst they plan how to rescue Aubrey.
    Can Eleanor learn to control her transformations so that Armand may ride her? Will Armand learn the art of transforming himself? And can they rescue Aubrey and bring him home?


    This was an interesting story, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first in the series.

    I felt like this book was a bit of a filler to be honest, something to take us from the first book to the third book, so this was sort of the dull middle bit.
    This part of the story basically consisted of a lot of procrastinating over where Eleanor would spend the summer, a whole lot of flying by dragon, and a rescue operation. The pace felt a little slow to me, and there just wasn’t the magic and excitement that the first book had, there also wasn’t the romance.
    To be honest, I didn’t really care about where Eleanor would spend the summer. I really didn’t see why there was any argument at all really. Never mind the fact that Armand is in love with her and lives in a big mansion, why would she go back to an orphanage for the summer when Jesse left her so much gold that she could easily spend on somewhere to live (and still have a fortune left over)?

    The revelation that Armand’s brother Aubrey was alive was fairly surprising, but I just couldn’t feel excited for the rescue mission, it all just felt a bit stale, and really lacked something for me.
    I liked that Jesse was still communicating with the Drakon, but for some reason Eleanor wasn’t able to hear him, which was also a bit disappointing.
    The romance between Eleanor and Armand was sorely lacking until right at the very end, and again just didn’t excite me.
    The ending was okay, and we were left with a promise of more trials to come for the Drakons, I seriously hope that the next book is more like the first and less like this one though, as this just didn’t do it for me.
    Overall; an okay second instalment, but where has the magic and romance gone?
    6.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Another great book by Shana Abe

    Love this series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I was first sent this book for review, I was nervous. I jus

    When I was first sent this book for review, I was nervous. I just knew that I wouldn't like it. I was so wrong. It turned out that I loved the book. I wanted to stop reading everything else and go read other books by Ms. Abe. I know I personally look forward to reading more.




    My heart hurt for Lora. She just wanted a place to belong and feel accepted. Then she finds she is a Drakon. so she will never be accepted. She had already been tortured by Doctors for hearing the stars sing to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    While I wasn't as enamored with this one as I was with the first

    While I wasn't as enamored with this one as I was with the first book, it was still pretty darn good. In fact, this is fast becoming one of my favorite series. The author is truly gifted in her story telling abilities. She draws you in so much that you feel like you are a part of this world. This is what I would call a versatile read in that there is so much going on and so much that would appeal to a wide variety of readers. The ARC of The Deepest Night by Shana Abe was provided to me by the publisher through Net Galley for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    The Deepest Night is Shana Abe¿s 2nd book in her The Sweetest Da

    The Deepest Night is Shana Abe’s 2nd book in her The Sweetest Dark series. To refresh your memory, we met Lora Jones in the first book, as she learned she was drakon, with ability to change into smoke and become a dragon. This series takes place in England, during 1915, which is a time of a war. Normally, I don’t usually like stories set in the past, especially if it’s not a historical romance. But Abe does a wonderful job making this story a beautiful scenario, even in the time of war.

    When we left off in The Sweetest Dark, Lora was grieving the loss of her love, Jesse, who was also her protector and teacher of her magical abilities. But Jesse is a star, who is a light filled with song; as the stars fill the sky with light and song, and they are the ones who take care of their dragons.

    The Deepest Night picks up just about at the end of the school year, where Lora wonders where she will be sent for the summer. Armand (Mandy), who also loves Lora, is determined to keep her close by, so that he can protect her. Armand is also a drakon, but he has not made the change, as of yet. This story is about Lora and Armand, with multiple pov’s, though mostly Lora’s, and an occasional one from Jesse, who keeps his loving eye on Lora, but only in the stars.

    The crux of the story is that it is wartime, and Armand finds out that his brother Aubrey, is still alive, but a prisoner of war. Lora is determined to use her ability and go to Germany to save Aubrey. What I thought made this book even better then the first book was watching Lora use her gifts, and I totally adored when she became a dragon, and with Mandy on her back flying high. It was a lot of fun, and scary when she would lose the change while in the air and poor Mandy dropping to the ground. It also became natural to her to appear nude in front of him when she changes back from dragon to girl; and when Armand does make his first change, he too will be nude. But at this point of their relationship, it doesn’t have an effect, other then being natural & helping one another.

    The other main part of the story is Armand’s love for Lora, and how slowly she begins to feel more for him. She becomes very protective of Mandy, knowing he is due to go through a very painful first change. In The Deepest Night, Lora truly becomes a strong heroine, and learning to use her gifts makes her more confident and courageous. I like Armand more in this book, as he shows his love for Lora so well. We find ourselves rooting for her to open her heart and accept Armand.

    The last third of the book, with Lora flying with Armand on her back, as they head to war torn Germany to save Aubrey was very exciting and tense. In between there was some dangerous tight situations, and possible exposure when she was forced to turn into her dragon form to save them. I really enjoyed this book, and love the drakon concept and watching Lora become so strong. I know Shana Abe is writing the third book in this series, and hopefully we will get to see Lora admit her feelings for Armand, and they become the couple they are expected to be. One can hope. The Deepest Night continues the wonderful theme of the Drakons, with the younger set. Abe has given us a beautiful background for this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lora Jones is still reeling from the loss of her love. Strugglin

    Lora Jones is still reeling from the loss of her love. Struggling to face her fears is one thing but struggling with the will to continue on is another. The situation is only compounded by the drakon attraction between Lora and Armand. 

    Discovering that a fellow drakon is being held prisoner behind enemy line in Germany, Armand and Lora must face insurmountable odds to rescue one of their kind.

    This story is completely enchanting! Beautifully descriptive creating a stunningly realistic feel for this fabulously original fantasy. The plot pulls you in from the beginning and holds you till the very end. I absolutely adore this series and can't wait to read more of the Shana Abe's imaginative twisting of historical, fantasy and romantic tales into the world of the The Sweetest Dark.

    This ARC copy of The Deepest Night was given to me by Random House - Bantam in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication on August 13, 2013.

    Hardcover: 320 pages
    Publisher: Bantam 
    Publication Date: August 13, 2013
    ISBN-10: 0345531736
    ISBN-13: 978-0345531735
    Rating: 4.5
    Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Romance
    Age Recommendation: Young Adult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    Loved the last book and loved this book.  Some writers have the

    Loved the last book and loved this book.  Some writers have the knack of holding you just by the way they write.  Shana Abe is one of those writers.  I don't care what she is writing about, I would read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    4.5 stars

    Now this is what I’m talking about. I enjoyed this book immensely. This was so much better than the last book for me. It was a big page turner and I didn’t want to stop!

    Lora finished her year at Iverson but the head mistress doesn’t want her to return. Armand steps in and lets her come to his place in Tranquility. He announces that he’s making it into a hospital for the wounded and Lora is playing nurse there. Really it was a sham, he has learned that someone dear to him is held hostage and he needs her…or so the stars say. There was quite of bit of misgivings on the adventure but it brought them oh so much closer.

    Lora has become more confident with herself. She owns being a drákon. Armand or Mandy was stupendous in this. He has learn more about himself and his family. You can tell he would do anything for Lora and vice versa for her. Still not sure where Sofia plays in the part of being a sometimes friend to Lora, maybe we learn in a future book? Even though Jesse isn’t there, he always helping and guiding. Biding his time.

    So if you were like me with the first book, push through it because this one was worth it. I want another book soon to find out what’s going to happen with them.

    *I received this through NetGalley.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully Moving!

    Shana Abe takes us back to the compelling world of the Drakon with her latest emotionally powerful novel, The Deepest Night. Lora is still reeling from Jesse’s death and her pain is so very raw re-living that night in her heart and mind. She’s made it through her grueling year at Iverson, and is learning more control over her powers as Drakon. Most importantly, she is learning to accept and embrace her uniqueness. Armand has proven to be so much more than just the rich young man he appeared to be. As the war continues in Europe, Armand learns that his brother Aubrey, was alive, wounded and a prisoner behind enemy lines and knows he must somehow rescue him and bring him home. In her Drakon form with Armand on her back, Eleanore flies them across a war torn land, often under fire in a desperate attempt to get to Aubrey and bring him safely home before it’s too late. Was it the journey that brought Armand and Eleanore closer? Was it the fact that they may be the last of the Drakon? Have her feelings for Armand grown so deep she would give her very life in trade for his?

    With book 1, The Sweetest Dark, Shana Abe set a most beautiful and richly drawn world for Lora’s story. Her ability to communicate the depth of feelings in her characters was phenomenal! Most important, the stage was set for The Deepest Night to continue the saga of the last remaining Drakons and take this tale to even more greatness! Filled with more action, more danger and more depth in each character, I have to say, she succeeded in spades while keeping that almost dream-like atmosphere to get lost in! I was spellbound, held a willing captive in this magical world from the first page to the last!


    This ARC copy of The Deepest Night was given to me by NetGalley & Random House - Bantam in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1