Customer Reviews for

The Deerslayer

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book

This book should be in every person's library.It is well written and based on
American history which all American citizens should know I am pleased to be
a member of Barnes and Noble which sells these works of classic literature at
prices that are affordable.
Ple...
This book should be in every person's library.It is well written and based on
American history which all American citizens should know I am pleased to be
a member of Barnes and Noble which sells these works of classic literature at
prices that are affordable.
Please note that I am using a different e-mail address
my previous e-mail address was harry.sheather@verizon.net

posted by rea1der on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

type errors

to many type errors

posted by 3304514 on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Excellent Book

    This book should be in every person's library.It is well written and based on
    American history which all American citizens should know I am pleased to be
    a member of Barnes and Noble which sells these works of classic literature at
    prices that are affordable.
    Please note that I am using a different e-mail address
    my previous e-mail address was harry.sheather@verizon.net

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    type errors

    to many type errors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    Even Better than the Last of the Mohicans

    Although the best known title in Cooper's Leatherstocking series is the Last of the Mohicans, the first book (the Deerslayer) and the third book (the Pathfinder) are better. Cooper wrote these two books later and they definately show an improvement in writing and plot synthesis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Prickleclaw

    "Goodbye." He sadly turns and pads out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Magicpaw

    Bye Prickleclaw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Fatalgrin's Bio (Added)

    History:Born in a small clan, were her mother clearly did not want kits. For she was a cat trying to become deputy her kits only got in the way. But in order to prove herself she faught and learned how to be strong. Her final test to become a warrior was to kill her father, in doing so she earned the right to be deputy. In the night she killed her leader becomeing leader herself. She tried to kill one of her brothers neices and in doig so he ran away with a few of her warriors. Her clan shortly died out soon after. She traveled from clan to clan, meeting a tom here and there she would have a kit. Comeing to Avionclan, were she met Avionstar, she was medicne cat so haveing any feelings for a tom was unthinkable. Yet despite that she fell in love with him. But she had three kits so she resigned as medicne cat. Disappearing for long peirod of times was normal for her, returning to Avionclan to find it gone. She has traveled alone untill comeing her to live for now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Darkstorm's Bio

    Name: Darkstorm<br>
    Gender: Tom<br>
    Rank: Elite Warrior<br>
    Appearance: Dark jet black from head to toe with starling blue eyes.<br>
    Personality: He is noble, wise, and loyal. He is willing to protect the clan and the warrior code with his life. He is skilled in combat and uses all five senses to ensure victory. He seeks no high position, just to serve the clan.<br>
    Kin: Cujo/Brother, Alive/Rogue/Visits Thornclan.<br>
    Mother/Unknown and dead<br>
    Father/Unknown and dead<br>
    Mate: Looking<br>
    Kits: None but wants <br>
    Apprintice: Marshpaw<br>
    Signature: D/\|2Kstorm<br>
    Themesong: Click, Click, Boom by Saliva

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Duskmoon bio

    Im a tom. I will tell you Im 10 moons. My pelt color is dusty brown, pale orange spots on back, and blue eyes. I am a risky,adventurous tom who will risk his life for his clan. I would be a loving and caring mate and help my mate through every pawstep. Ive never had a mate and my crush is Skyflower. My adopted kids are Wishstar and Redgrowth. Also my theme song is Let her go by Passanger. And my history is to sad. May I be deputy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Bio

    My name is Crimsonpaw. I am a female and i have white fur with red paws, a red muzzle, and the tip of my tail is red. I have green eyes. I love challenges and have a bad habit of rushing into things headfirst. I am not afraid to get hurt if means protecting a clanmate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Viperstar's Bio

    Name: Viperstar<p>

    Former Name: Viperfang<p>

    Gender: Tom<p>

    Rank: Leader<p>

    Appearance: He is a large, lean muscular tom with yellow eyes, like that of a snake. He has a jet black pelt with sandy tigerstripe patterns that goes from head to tail. The pattern goes down his muzzle and over his eyes. He has unusually long fangs and good sized claws. His nose is black along with the tips of his ears. <p>

    Personality: He is noble and willing to protect his clan at all costs. He makes decisions to fit the clans needs and make sure everyone is satisfied. He is kind, patient, and will listen to anyones suggestions or problems that they need handled. In battle, he is a very skilled fighter. He trained alongside his brother and has all of the skills he does. He is very observant and notices the slightest noises, scents, or movements. He never backs down from a challenge and he carries out all of his duties as a leader.<p>

    History: Ask him! He likes to tell a good story...<p>

    Kin: Father/Unknown, Mother/Unknown, Brother/Moltenclaw (Alive/ Ashclan), Other/Unknown.<p>

    Mate/Kits: None. Looking.<p>

    Signature: \/iper&starf <p>

    Themesong: Warrior's Call by Volbeat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    'And white shall I live and die!'

    Many who have not yet read Fenimore Cooper's 1841 novel THE DEERSLAYER, or THE FIRST WAR-PATH, have nonetheless heard of Mark Twain's satire of it. Variously styled 'Cooper's Indians' or more accurately, 'Fenimore Cooper's Literary Offenses,' Twain's essay, by any admission both inaccurate and unfair, nonetheless, has a grain of truth. Some of Cooper's Indians do seem a mite too stupid or at least clumsy and some of his white people speak like bad translations from Homeric Greek. *** Happily, the Barnes and Noble Classics edition of DEERSLAYER contains Twain's humorous treatment of DEERSLAYER as an appendix, and Mark Twain is very funny, accurate or not. So make up your own mind after you read the original! *** The action takes place in 1744, at the onset of King George's war between Britain and France. And it will not be long before Britain will be distracted by France's support of the rising for Bonnie Prince Charlie in Scotland. *** The location of THE DEERSLAYER is Lake Otsego, one of 11 Finger Lakes in Central New York. Indians call it 'Glimmerglass.' Muskrat Castle is a fortified hut on stilts in the lake. It was built by Floating Tom Hutter, a trapper. He also has a smaller lake craft, the ark, resembling a diminutive canal barge. Iroquois make an attack on this barge while it carries Tom, his two daughters, Judith and Hetty, along with 'Natty' Bumppo, aka Deerslayer and his Indian friend Chingachgook. Mark Twain makes much of Indian ineptness in their failure to seize a slow moving boat being winched out of a river into the lake. At novel's beginning Deerslayer had been traveling with Henry Marsh, 'Hurry Harry' who is courting Judith. Natty was to meet up with Chingachgook on the lake to help him recover his captured wife from Hurons. *** Adventures with Iroquois and Huron Indians -- indiscriminately styled Mingos by Deerslayer -- make up much of the rest of the tale. Somewhat older Judith falls heavily in love with 20 year old Natty Bumppo, but he is not then or later much of the marrying kind. The novel's appeal is in its description of interactions and misunderstandings between white men and red men. Trading is a big feature of frontier life and lives are saved when the Mingos become fascinated by elaborate chess pieces offered by Judith in trade for the lives of her father and Hurry Harry. *** Throughout the five Leatherstocking Tales Natty Bumppo, illiterate but with a probing mind, tries to understand what makes white and red men different. He articulates his theory that every creature has its own 'gifts.' If redskins have a gift for taking scalps of slain enemies, well, white men simply do not. Accept the diversity of God's gifts and get on with life. *** Here are three samples of Natty's wisdom: --'God made us all, white, black, and red and, no doubt, had his own wise intentions in coloring us differently. Still, he made us, in the main, much the same in feelin's though I'll not deny that he gave each race its gifts. A white man's gifts are Christianized, while a redskin's are more for the wilderness.' 'Ch. III' --'I've fou't, Judith yes, I have fou't the inimy, and that, too, for the first time in my life. These things must be, and they bring with 'em a mixed feelin' of sorrow and triumph. Human natur' is a fightin' natur', I suppose, as all nations kill in battle, and we must be true to our rights and gifts.' 'Ch. VIII' ----'Telling of his first kill to his admiring Indian friend': ' ... I fou't like a man with gifts of my own color. God gave me the victory. ... White he made me and white I shall live and die.' 'Ch. IX' *** The skirmishes on Lake Glimmerglass are part of the first war-path of two young friends, raised together among Delaware Indians, who hate Mingos. Natty kills his first human, a Mingo warri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4