Customer Reviews for

The Demi-Monde: Winter

Average Rating 3.5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

People! Just REVIEW the book...it's FREE! Stop WHINING! Don't r

People! Just REVIEW the book...it's FREE! Stop WHINING! Don't read it of you don't like it! THis is a GOOD READ! If you liked books like Hunger Games, etc. you will like this book..it's got more "history" stuff in it!

posted by ireadeverythingMI on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

It is part of a series!

This book has no end. You are left hanging.

This is not a narrative with a beginning, middle, end ... The story just stops.

Demi-Monde is actually part 1 of a series of books - That information is written NOWHERE. They want you buy this book, then wait and buy t...
This book has no end. You are left hanging.

This is not a narrative with a beginning, middle, end ... The story just stops.

Demi-Monde is actually part 1 of a series of books - That information is written NOWHERE. They want you buy this book, then wait and buy the next one, and the next ...

Nothing wrong with writing and selling a series --- Just tell us the truth.

Don't be lured into purchasing this expensive novel only to find out that it does not end ...

... and please don't tell me that the word Winter, in the sub-heading, gave it away ...

posted by 4679412 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    People! Just REVIEW the book...it's FREE! Stop WHINING! Don't r

    People! Just REVIEW the book...it's FREE! Stop WHINING! Don't read it of you don't like it!
    THis is a GOOD READ! If you liked books like Hunger Games, etc. you will like this book..it's got more "history" stuff in it!

    68 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    It is part of a series!

    This book has no end. You are left hanging.

    This is not a narrative with a beginning, middle, end ... The story just stops.

    Demi-Monde is actually part 1 of a series of books - That information is written NOWHERE. They want you buy this book, then wait and buy the next one, and the next ...

    Nothing wrong with writing and selling a series --- Just tell us the truth.

    Don't be lured into purchasing this expensive novel only to find out that it does not end ...

    ... and please don't tell me that the word Winter, in the sub-heading, gave it away ...

    60 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Excellent

    It was a great reaf that I could not put fown.

    Just be warned, there is no real ending to this novel, it just expects you to read the next one "Spring". I belive it will be a four book series.

    50 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Whether you are a history buff, sci fi fan or just looking for a good read, this book may be for you. The characters are very well developed and the plot is intriguing. It does end in a cliff hanger, but that just leaves us wanting more.

    I'm looking forward to Demi-Monde Spring with great anticipation!

    48 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Excellent read

    This story is such a beautiful mash up of sci fi and history! Very well written, i cant wait for the next book.

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Cliffhanger but can't put it down!

    The author's incorporation of historical terms updated and perverted is amazing. Read it and you will see what I mean. An exciting story with a lot of humor and suspense and growth. However, I find the heroine a little too perfect, wholesome, sympathetic, brilliant and overall, unreal. In a world of computer-simulated megalomaniacs, she is the one without any relatability precisely because of her infallability. Otherwise, an amazing read and a brilliantly conceived, detail-oriented nightmare of a world. Must read!

    36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    If you want Free Books (on any day), get yourself a Barnes &

    If you want Free Books (on any day), get yourself a Barnes & Noble credit card. Every month I get gift cards for using my Barnes & Noble credit card . . . Free Anything!! So, if you don't like someone else picking your free stuff, then be proactive and correct the situation. Don't complain, work harder!!

    32 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    I want more!

    I really hope there is another book coming out. So many questions left unanswered. Wonderful read!

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Free Fridays

    After reading the "Overview" I knew this was not the book for my tastes. However, for those complaining about the choice of the Free Friday selections go to "SHOP" and type in 0.00 and you will find 1,845,041 free books to choose from. That will keep you busy for awhile. Dianna

    30 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Already preordered the next one!

    Great read

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Anon

    Why, when we have such amazing technology, and such beautiful reading devices, is there so much of this just, plain, crap offered up? If I didn't have to give at least one star, I would assign at least minus ten.

    26 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Very hard to follow

    I was never really sure if the narator was speaking or if it was just internal monologue, as the book jumped from first person to third person constantly.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This rating is for the reviewers NOT the book.........as in very

    This rating is for the reviewers NOT the book.........as in very poor!

    Doesn't matter if the book is great, good or sux. It's free and there are some who will enjoy it. Those that don't can click delete. What IS your problem? None of the whiners 'reviewed' this book. Or maybe you don't understand what 'review' means. You're supposed to tell a bit about this book so others can decide if they'd like to try it or not...for help with this - look at the inside flap of a real live paper book. It describes the characters and plot of the book. Try it!! I came here to see if I would be interested - none of your 'reviews' helped me. In fact, they angered me! How can you whine about FREE??????

    Thank you to the few who actually read the book and gave us their thoughts on it I appreciate your time!.

    17 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Just Be Appreciative...

    For the opportunity to try new things for free. If all you can do is complain about free stuff not being good enough for you, then maybe you need a new pastime. Keep up w/the ungrateful remarks & they could just stop the free Friday's entirely. Then you'll really have something to complain about!! Pathetic & ungrateful & sad!!

    16 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    terrible writing

    this could have been written by a teenager. i couldn't stand the language and style. i can't see how this book could have any more than the most limited appeal - perhaps avid sci fi readers who care little for writing skill or the beauty of language so long as the plot includes the usual man vs. machine drivel. for me, i was too distracted by the unnatural tone and impotent attempts at humor to get lost in the story - no nor even to get TO the story. read the time machine instead. it is also free and contains infinitely more literary prowess.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    FIVE before I read

    Im giving this book 5 stars b4 I read because every Friday everyone gripes about it not being the FREE book they want and it is SO unfair to the author to give a poor rate on a book YOU HAVE NOT READ because BandN didnt give you the book you want! Grow up people do you go to the store and complain because hamburger is on sale and you wanted chicken! Seriousely. And for the one that gave a 1 star for it being a series all you have to do is search the authors other books to know there is a book 2 coming in about 2 weeks! To me this is a great oppertunity because if I end up not liking the book I DONT buy book 2 and Im out nothing! I currently have 6 books in series I am waiting for yea I want them now but they are all worth the wait ! Anticipation is part of the fun of some books just like a movie when it has other parts! If you must complain about a free book do it in the right place go to BandN on facebook or send them an e-mail.

    14 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    I read the first two chapters and decided this book was not for me. I had no idea what the book was about. This type of genre is geared for the younger mind. I wish people wouldn't complain about the free Friday books, they are offered to you free, you can't please everybody all of the time. I have read a lot of good free Friday books and there have been some I didn't care for, I don't expect a winner every Friday.

    12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    !

    Another loser. Why cant bn have good choices anymore? Used to, every friday was a winner, now we have the dregs of the barrel like this loser.

    9 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Y

    I recently went to an epublishing conference. The reason we dont get not so well known books is because unknown authors try to promote their books through Free Friday deals. Dont judge them too hard. Sure, I agree that more than half the books are poorly written junk, but would you really want someone to dis your ebook just because you gave it to them free for a day???
    ~Krista

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    For those of you like me that enjoyed this book, I did some rese

    For those of you like me that enjoyed this book, I did some research because I wanted to know when the second book would be out. What I discovered is that since this author writes in the UK, the Demi-Monde Spring is already out over there. HOWEVER...here in the states, the Demi Monde Winter is called, Demi Monde: Book One in the Demi Monde Saga. The 2nd book, here is the States is called The Shadow Wars. Not sure why he has 2 different titles (one for the UK and one for the US - even the ISBNs are different) but the contents of the books are the same. So...if you're eager to read Part 2 (what we are calling Spring), it's called The Shadow Wars. Hope this is helpful.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13