BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Demi-Monde: Winter

Average Rating 3.5
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

People! Just REVIEW the book...it's FREE! Stop WHINING! Don't r

People! Just REVIEW the book...it's FREE! Stop WHINING! Don't read it of you don't like it! THis is a GOOD READ! If you liked books like Hunger Games, etc. you will like this book..it's got more "history" stuff in it!

posted by ireadeverythingMI on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

It is part of a series!

This book has no end. You are left hanging.

This is not a narrative with a beginning, middle, end ... The story just stops.

Demi-Monde is actually part 1 of a series of books - That information is written NOWHERE. They want you buy this book, then wait and buy t...
This book has no end. You are left hanging.

This is not a narrative with a beginning, middle, end ... The story just stops.

Demi-Monde is actually part 1 of a series of books - That information is written NOWHERE. They want you buy this book, then wait and buy the next one, and the next ...

Nothing wrong with writing and selling a series --- Just tell us the truth.

Don't be lured into purchasing this expensive novel only to find out that it does not end ...

... and please don't tell me that the word Winter, in the sub-heading, gave it away ...

posted by 4679412 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    It is part of a series!

    This book has no end. You are left hanging.

    This is not a narrative with a beginning, middle, end ... The story just stops.

    Demi-Monde is actually part 1 of a series of books - That information is written NOWHERE. They want you buy this book, then wait and buy the next one, and the next ...

    Nothing wrong with writing and selling a series --- Just tell us the truth.

    Don't be lured into purchasing this expensive novel only to find out that it does not end ...

    ... and please don't tell me that the word Winter, in the sub-heading, gave it away ...

    60 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Free Fridays

    After reading the "Overview" I knew this was not the book for my tastes. However, for those complaining about the choice of the Free Friday selections go to "SHOP" and type in 0.00 and you will find 1,845,041 free books to choose from. That will keep you busy for awhile. Dianna

    30 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Anon

    Why, when we have such amazing technology, and such beautiful reading devices, is there so much of this just, plain, crap offered up? If I didn't have to give at least one star, I would assign at least minus ten.

    26 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Very hard to follow

    I was never really sure if the narator was speaking or if it was just internal monologue, as the book jumped from first person to third person constantly.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This rating is for the reviewers NOT the book.........as in very

    This rating is for the reviewers NOT the book.........as in very poor!

    Doesn't matter if the book is great, good or sux. It's free and there are some who will enjoy it. Those that don't can click delete. What IS your problem? None of the whiners 'reviewed' this book. Or maybe you don't understand what 'review' means. You're supposed to tell a bit about this book so others can decide if they'd like to try it or not...for help with this - look at the inside flap of a real live paper book. It describes the characters and plot of the book. Try it!! I came here to see if I would be interested - none of your 'reviews' helped me. In fact, they angered me! How can you whine about FREE??????

    Thank you to the few who actually read the book and gave us their thoughts on it I appreciate your time!.

    17 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    terrible writing

    this could have been written by a teenager. i couldn't stand the language and style. i can't see how this book could have any more than the most limited appeal - perhaps avid sci fi readers who care little for writing skill or the beauty of language so long as the plot includes the usual man vs. machine drivel. for me, i was too distracted by the unnatural tone and impotent attempts at humor to get lost in the story - no nor even to get TO the story. read the time machine instead. it is also free and contains infinitely more literary prowess.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    I read the first two chapters and decided this book was not for me. I had no idea what the book was about. This type of genre is geared for the younger mind. I wish people wouldn't complain about the free Friday books, they are offered to you free, you can't please everybody all of the time. I have read a lot of good free Friday books and there have been some I didn't care for, I don't expect a winner every Friday.

    12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    !

    Another loser. Why cant bn have good choices anymore? Used to, every friday was a winner, now we have the dregs of the barrel like this loser.

    9 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Disappointed again

    Another sad free Friday pick..... Can't we have some good ones with class & good stories?

    5 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Not for everyone

    The premise of this book seems to be that the characters are living somehow inside a video game. There are odd juxtapositions of things from vastly different times and places. I slogged along for a while trying to catch up to speed or to get pulled into the story. It did not work for me, but it might for someone else. It seems to be an interesting and different idea. It is rare for me not to finish a book, no matter what, but I gave up on this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Books

    Should have gotten a Kindle..better free books, better apps. I tell everyone who asks about my Nook to get a Kindle. B&N is weak and caters to kids.

    2 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    The book may or may not be a good one. Barnes and Nobles has dec

    The book may or may not be a good one. Barnes and Nobles has decided that we must pay $0.01 for the FREE Friday books. It's not about th penny. It's call FALSE ADVERTIZING!

    If the book cost a penny, then say so! Don't say FREE and then charge me a penny.

    2 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Free books

    If you just type in "free book" in search and find something you like!

    2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Borrrrrrrrrrrrrrring!

    About as dumb as they come. This is a waste of reading. If this is a series...snooze alert. Very poorly written, it sounded so promiding but was utter garbage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Don't do it.

    As much as I tried i couldn't get into this book. The premise was interesting. Escape from New York/Matrix/Underworld/cyberpunk/steampunk. It seems awesome right? Wrong. Its boring. Thats my problem. Presidents daughter trapped in a cyber world populated with histories worst of the worst...and right from the beginning...thru the middle...to the end i just didnt care about any one character. Who are you Neal Stephenson!?! Boring. Boring. Boring. Save yer money and buy ANY other book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Free Friday Fail

    I tried to read this, but it was terrible. Either I'm not a fan of weird sci-fi or it's just that bad. It's poorly written and at times seems to lose sight of the plot. On one particular page a character has an argument with his internal artificial intellegence that goes back and forth like yes no yes no yes no. Like that. I just skipped to the next page; it was pointless. I'm just glad it was free!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Kindle offers better

    I hage both the nook and recently purchased a kindle. There are much better free books and better "sale" books offered

    1 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I would not recommend.

    I had trouble getting into this book. I ended up putting it down and reading other books. Maybe some day I will go back to this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Didn't work for me

    First off, I love Free Fridays and the opportunity to read books I might not normally try. While I have enjoyed other books of this genre in the past, this start to this one was like watching paint dry. I was unable to get past the first chapter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Not highly recommended

    Too many weird names. Thought I was reading about Russian Aristocracy. Every political style/belief had many sub-names. I had to constantly refer to the glossary to make any understanding of the story. A bad read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3