Customer Reviews for

The Demon's Desire (A Hearts of the Fallen Novel)

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Diov

    The she-demon stared out the window, her delicate, dark fingers curling around the heavy drapes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Also posted at my Goodreads account 4 stars The Demon's Desi

    Also posted at my Goodreads account

    4 stars

    The Demon's Desire is the second installment of Hearts of Fallen series. It continue from Demon's Song, featured Meresin, one of the Fallen Angel that reside and protect Terra Nortem and Drusilla, the vampire king's sister. Both Meresin and Dru had a long history between them, all start with kiss. Dru care for Meresin that always brooding, angry and homicidal. While Meresin care for nothing, not for his own brethren because his vindictive nature and his ability to wielding lightning and storm. Then the Archangel Uriel give Meresin a task that maybe can save him from his condition. And from some accidental event, Dru and Meresin are bonded, both now go to the Purgatory. To bring back Meresin's sanity and give him a second chance

    I like this better than the previous book, Demon's Song. Demon's Song feel like an ordinary PNR for me, with a same old-same old ending. While Demon's Desire not too different, it's grab me by the story and character. Meresin is what I called "Zsadist archetype". We all (okay some PNR fans maybe) know that Zsadist from BDB is so tortured, he decide that he's not worthy for his woman. Same case with Meresin, he believe that he's born alone, live alone and therefore will die alone. He doesn't give any of his brethren chance to care for him, even just a little. His emotion always raging, full of violence and unforgiveness because his past with the angels. What we need with this kind of a hero? A heroine that can accept for what he is, and Dru is the prerfect woman for Meresin.

    I like Dru, a lot. She's better than Sofia,the heroine from Demon's Song. Dru is already immortal, therefore make her badass. But she also have feeling and flaws, that make her more real. Dru doesn't back off from Meresin's attitude to her. She challenge him with caring for him, understand him more than everyone. Even I'm not too fond with Meresin (tortured hero that think that he's not worthy for his woman kinda annoyed me sometimes), Dru is what I like from this pairing. They both balanced each other.

    From story, not so much happen, and not all Fallen Angel show. Which make me kinda sad, since I want to know more about Gadreel, one of the Fallen. Lucifer made his first appearance here (he's the big enemy of the Fallen) and another Archangel too, but just briefly. The best thing? Ehm, Meresin is a virgin. I always have a thing or two for virgin heroes, even I'm so sad the sex scene just happen once. We (or I) need more here Ms Leigh Castle ;).

    Some complaint from me, I don't like the cover :(. It's not how I picture Meresin (even they got his hair and eye color right).

    I will recommend this to any angel and PNR fans, and readers who love their hero tortured (to redeem himself later) and a strong heroine. Since this novella (just 200 pages), it's perfect for a quick read :)

    Thanks for Entangled for providing a copy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    The Demon's Desire was a great read. It is the second book in th

    The Demon's Desire was a great read. It is the second book in the series, so in the beginning I did feel like I was missing something.
    But as I continued reading I became immersed in the story. The world building was great and I am looking forward to reading more in this wonderful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    This 2nd installment of Hearts of the Fallen series was a quick and satisfying read. Meresin the ever brooding fallen angel has his story, and I knew it was going to be sweet. If you read the first installment, you know that Meresin is short-tempered and often getting in trouble. His past of countless rejections and torture made him bitter and angry. He is a hard ass among the

    group of fallen angels living in Terra Noctem. But as hard ass as he is, there is most definitely a sweet side to him that no one knows exists. He is good with keep the façade of hiding it. Unfortunately, the trouble he is causing is not doing the hidden vampire community any favors. In fact, it’s annoying the Vampire King who is just letting these fallen live among his people. The only person who can deal with him is Dru, Justin’s sister. But this last incident, he not only gets himself in trouble but drags Dru along with him.

    I love Dru and Meresin’s love story. They fit just right. Dru being thousands of years old, she didn’t need anything more than just exist in peace, but she never cowers and most definitely not scared of Meresin. I found Dru to be serious and down to the point. I think these are the very traits that can both calm and push Meresin’s buttons and she knows it. I love it when a heroine has that power over her hero. But it was Meresin that truly got my attention. I just love a brooding, troublemaker, and tortured heroes. He is unapproachable, menacing, but the more you get to know him, you’ll find out how sweet he really is. All these years he kept his distance thinking he can never be enough for Dru. But when he decides to show her how he felt, it was very sweet. I was in awe reading of the sacrifices he will make for the ones he love. It made my heart melt into a pile of goop. As corny as that sounds, Meresin is really sweet and falling for him is just inevitable.

    Overall, Demon’s Desire is fast paced, action packed and a good romantic read. If you like hot fallen angels, this series is for you.

    *ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a new-to-me author and series, and I really enjoyed it.

    This was a new-to-me author and series, and I really enjoyed it. Even though it’s actually the second book in the series, I quickly caught on to the “rules” of the world and didn’t feel at all lost. I actually liked that there wasn’t too much world building here–it felt like we were dropped right in to the action, which was a lot of fun. I fully intend to go back and read book one, The Demon’s Song, and figure that any questions I still have about the world it is set in will be answered there. For now, though, I had more than enough to help me enjoy this installment.




    I’m not going to lie–Meresin is a tough guy to like for much of the book. He’s surly and rude, and pushes everyone around him away with both hands. It’s clear that he doesn’t want to be drawn to Dru, and the feeling is mutual. As Castle slowly reveals Meresin’s history, however, the reasons for his attitude and behavior become clear, and he ends up as a much more sympathetic character than I would have thought he could possibly be. By the time he and Dru reached their destination, I was behind their cause 100%.




    Dru was a fabulous heroine throughout. I loved that she was strong for her people, and really enjoyed her relationship with her brother. I also liked that it was she who did most of the pursuing in her relationship with Meresin. I’m definitely hoping she’ll feature prominently in book one–since its hero is her brother, I figure that’s a pretty safe bet.




    My only real complaint with this book is that the major climax–the moment that determines Dru and Meresin’s fate–largely takes place off page. The character from whose point of view we’re seeing that scene loses consciousness, and by the time we return to the narrative, it’s all over. It felt like a bit of a let down, but I so enjoyed everything else about the book that it was hard to be too disappointed overall. The characters I’d started to care so much about got their HEA, and that in itself was satisfying.




    In a nutshell: I will absolutely return to this author and this world. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and gave me characters I loved rooting for. Solid B+.




    I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Meresin lives with the other fallen angels who have taken refuge

    Meresin lives with the other fallen angels who have taken refuge in Terra Noctem. The vampire let them live there in peace. Meresin is different than the other fallen angels and has anger problems. He also is unpredictable as the storms he can create. He has become a danger to himself and the others. The only person who can reach him is Dru a 2000 year old vampire. She can manage him somewhat and tries her best to fight her feelings for him. He tries his best to ignore her. She has had her heart broke before and he doesn't want to get close to anyone. He goes to far and is told it's time to visit a place from his past. He will either come out a changed man or die trying. Dru goes with him to help keep him grounded and to guard her won life. They both may lose their hearts and lives on this dangerous mission.




    Meresin is the sexy fallen angel no one can get close to. He would rather just stay away from everyone than chance losing his temper or getting to close to them. Even his fellow fallen angels stay away for the most part. He has been through so much and thinks no one could care about him. He is very dangerous and one of a kind. Dru has had her heart broke before and had to do a hard thing. She is very hardworking but stays on the sidelines. She really cares about people and as she even will say it is just her nature to care. 




    I really loved this book. It gives a different twist to angels and I loved getting to know the main characters. Both have pieces that seem to be missing even if they don't know it. They each would be so great together but both are scared and they both have bad timing as you will see. Their attraction seems to come out at the worse times. This book has action whether its Meresin fighting vampires or trying to get his life back and Dru seems to always be there for him. If you enjoy paranormal books or just a great story I recommend this one. I can't wait to read more in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I received an e-copy of this book from the publisher in exhange

    I received an e-copy of this book from the publisher in exhange for an honest review

    The Demon's Desire continues Kendra Leigh Castle's fabulous series about a group of fallen angels seeking redemption while protecting the night races inhabiting Terra Noctem. Each book focuses on a different member of the Fallen and their love interest. In The Demon's Desire it's Meresin and Dru's turn.

    Meresin is one of the most enigmatic of the Fallen, keeping to himself while the rest of his brothers have formed a cohesive group. On top of that, his angelic power over lightening and his ability to cope with others is rapidly becoming more and more unstable. The horrors that Meresin has to face broke my heart and I wanted more than anything for him to have his HEA. Dru shows again and again that she's willing to fight for Meresin and their HEA, even if it means fighting his own inner demons.

    The Demon's Desire is darker than book one, The Demon's Song, but considering Meresin's tortured past it's not that surprisingis story would be more somber. There's tons of action and both Meresin and Dru prove to be excellent warriors. Kendra expands her fantastic world-building by taking Meresin and Dru out of Terra Noctem and into mystical realms. Kendra's trademark snark isn't as prevelant in this installment, but she does give us a couple of gems:

    ..."He has to go to a place and do a thing, and shazam! Awesome happens in an incredibly nonspecific way, maybe even involving a rainbowfarting unicorn! Except probably not, because you obviously think he's going to die!"

    She saw Justin jerk his head to the side and glare at her, but that didn't stop her from saying what she felt. She wasn't afraid of Levi.

    "That's a ridiculous human myth. I ate a unicorn once," Levi said calmly. "There were no rainbows inside of it."
    ~Dru, Justin and Levi

    "I've got lots of things to plot, for your information. Business opportunities for the city. Fostering diplomatic relations between the night races. Meetings that need to happen, meeting that shouldn't have happened and need to be rectified. My social calendar. Oh, and world domination. That answer your question?"
    ~Dru to Meresin

    The Demon's Desire can easily be read as a stand-alone, but I recommend the entire series...we're only on book two so you can easily catch up (plus if you start with The Demon's Song you can meet my book boyfriend, Phenex).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great follow up to the first book, Demon's Song, whi


    This was a great follow up to the first book, Demon's Song, which I gave 3.5 stars. This one is a solid 4. I really liked it, and it
    packed way more of an emotional punch. Meresin's story was heartbreaking and this was just as much a journey of him finding
    himself as it was a romance between he and Dru. Dru was the catalyst, in a way, given what she did for him. And she also became
    his wing man, grounding him as they traveled through Purgatory to "fix" what was wrong with him. Their journey was sweet, tender,
    terrifying, and had them facing off against the devil himself, and I was happy to be along for the ride.

     *I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I honestly wasn't sure about this book prior to starting it. I w

    I honestly wasn't sure about this book prior to starting it. I would have to admit the book caught my attention from the first few pages. The plot line is that a 2,000 year old Vampire (Dru) had some type of connection with a fallen Angel (Meresin. They both fight the unspoken connection until they are forced to come together and Dru then helps her fallen Angel regain his sole. I felt that the sassy Vampire ,Dru, was funny and very down to earth for being a 2,000 year old vampire. Her falling in love with a fallen angel made the book interesting in the challenges they faced. The challenges they faced together while being make believe showed their true strength in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    booksbysteph says "A Struggling Journey Through Purgatory&q

    booksbysteph says "A Struggling Journey Through Purgatory"



    Terra Noctem is an "underground city of vampires and other night creatures." They are ruled by Justin, the Vampire King, and his sister. Though Drusilla refuses to call herself the Vampire Queen, she still maintains the status and respect of one. 

    Dru seems to be the only person that can calm down "an ornery fallen angel" named Meresin. Over the last two years, since the Fallen arrived at Terra Noctem seeking refuge, people have noticed that Dru and Meresin have some sort of connection. But Meresin hates everything and everybody and his anger gets worse every day. Still, Dru finds herself fixated on him.

    Meresin is special. He is "the first of the Fallen with an element running through [his] veins, ready to call upon in an instant. A warrior unmatched Above or Below." He is "the only Fallen who can command the lightning."

    The Infernal Council decided that Meresin was too dangerous to keep. He was becoming as unstable as his element. But he is "far too useful to kill." Meresin needs to control his element and there was only one thing left to do - enter Purgatory and find the demon that bound the lightning to him in hope that he can undo it. 

    I GIVE THIS BOOK: 4 Stars

    Sometimes you have to go to Hell and back to realize what you love in life. 

    This story was a struggle. Meresin Kept himself at a distance from everyone and everything. It was easier for him. Until he had to go to Purgatory. There, he had to face things for the first time.  Meresin had to struggle between his inexperience, the unknown, and the dangers of Purgatory.

    This is the first book that I have read where a vampire has a heartbeat. 

    I really enjoyed reading Meresin's journey, but I felt that I was missing something. Almost as if the author wrote assuming the reader already knows things. It might be best to read the first book before this one.

    The ending made me cry but I will not say if they were sad tears or happy tears. You will have to find that out for yourself.

    Until next time, live life one page at a time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the Hearts of the Fallen series, and

    This is the second book in the Hearts of the Fallen series, and a very entertaining story about a fallen angel who is loved by a vampire.  I recommend this to any reader who enjoys paranormal romance. I liked that I did not have to read the first book prior to this one, but I do want to read it because this one was so good.

    Meresin is one of the Fallen, a group of renegade fallen angels who have made their home in Terra Noctem. He has been given the powers to control the storm, which he does quite often since he is so tormented and always in a bad mood.  He is determined that there is nothing that can save him, so he doesn’t let anyone get close to him. Not even the female vampire that he has feelings for.

    Dru has fought to keep the people of Terra Noctem safe for the past two thousand years. She is a fixer but she is also a loner when it comes to intimate relationships. She trusted one man with her heart and he betrayed her, so she has not gotten that close to a man ever since. But there is something about Meresin that she feels is worth saving. Will he ever let her get close enough to find out if she can trust him with her heart?  

    Meresin has reached the breaking point, so in order to save him he is sent to confront his demons in a place where many never leave once they arrive. An unexpected event causes Dru to accompany him, but if he does not survive this journey, neither will she. Can he face his past to give Dru her future? Is it possible that Dru can open his heart to see that she just might be the biggest part of his future?   

    I received an e-ARC (Advanced Reader Copy) of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    He┬┐s as dark and dangerous as the storms he once commanded┬┐and s

    He’s as dark and dangerous as the storms he once commanded…and she can’t get him out of her heart.Dru has spent two thousand years fighting to keep the people of Terra Noctem safe. In all that time, she's only opened her heart to one man, with disastrous results. But when her city takes in a group of renegade Fallen, she finds herself drawn to the brooding and tormented Meresin, despite the fact that he seems to be the least redeemable of them all. When his instability hits a breaking point, Meresin’s only chance at survival is a perilous journey into a place from which few ever return. What he never expected was that confronting his demons would mean risking not only his future, but Dru's as well...and that one stubborn vampire might give him back not just hope…but his heart.

    Review:

    Now, who does not like a sexy, brooding, fallen angel???

    Well, if you don't what is wrong with you? LOL just kidding, no not really ;)

    I really liked this fast paced book, it kept my attention and entertained through the whole story. Ms. Castle is a new to me Author and liked her writing style and story telling. Now, this is the second book in the series, but really that should not deter you from reading this, I did not feel in the dark or lost.

    The story is about Dru, a vampire and Meresin, a fallen angel. I see them as opposites, Dru is blond, light, friendly, an optimist and Meresin, is black, dark, a loner, sad...but they are so perfect for each other. They shared a kiss (which must have happened in book 1) and have been doing a dance around each other ever since. Meresin has the power of storms and his control of these powers is getting worse and worse, so he is told to go to find the person who gave him these powers and try to get him to take them back/out. Dru trying to protect Meresin is stabbed and Meresin must give her his blood to heal her. As a result of this they are bonded/mated and Dru convinces Meresin that she must go with him on his quest. Their trip to purgatory is scary, sad but beautiful as they come together and you learn about their pasts. The end of the book is very exciting.

    I would recommend this book and look forward to reading more from this Author.

    3.5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    Meresin is a fallen angel with a bad attitude and a dangerous po

    Meresin is a fallen angel with a bad attitude and a dangerous power. He and his brothers have been given refuge by Justin, the Vampire King. Unfortunately Meresin doesn't play nice with others and constantly causes problems. The only person he listens to is Dru, Justin's sister. Attraction sizzles between them thought neither will admit it. Dru becomes blood bonded with him when he saves her from dying. Meresin has to embark on a dangerous journey to take away his lightening. Dru goes with him. With Lucifer tracking them, there is only a small chance they'll survive. Will they admit their love? Can a fallen angel and a 2000 year old vampire find happiness together? Kendra Leigh Smith has written a wonderful story. She combines fantasy and romance to give you a tale of second chances and redemption. Dru and Meresin may be opposites but when they are together they are unstoppable. I love how they slowly learn to trust and confide in each other. Their romance is very sexy yet tender. I enjoy reading a book that has suspense, romance and characters I love. This is such a book.

    I received a copy of The Demon's Desire from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    I hadn't read the first of this series but found that this didn'

    I hadn't read the first of this series but found that this didn't detract from the book and it can easily be read as a stand alone.

    Dru is drawn to Meresin when noone else wants anything to do with him. She seems to have a unique ability to calm him when he's pushed to the limit. Meresin craves redemption but also doesn't think he's worthy. All his thoughts and feelings are tangled and he is struggling to come to terms with the torture he had been submitted to.
    Together Dru and Meresin go on a journey to Purgatory to try and heal Meresin along the way they discover that sometimes all you need is Love (gosh that sounds so cheesy lol)
    Quite enjoyed this story. World crafting was excellent and loved how Purgatory was protrayed. Only thing that could have improved on this was if it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    ARC This is the second book in the Hearts of the Fallen. I haven

    ARC
    This is the second book in the Hearts of the Fallen. I haven't read the first one yet, but I had no trouble keeping up with the book.  The characters are intriguing and keep you captivated wanting more.
    Suspense, sexual tense, well written and a love story wrapped into one good read for the fall. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Demon's Desire (Hearts of the Fallen #2) by Kendra Leigh Cas

    The Demon's Desire (Hearts of the Fallen #2) by Kendra Leigh Castle
    4 of 5 Stars

    Meresin is the Fallen Angel of Storms.  He is the only angel, who is a weapon, able to wield lightning.  Unfortunately, that gift (or curse) came with a price it is eating away at him, making him unredeemable in his eyes.

    Drusilla (Dru) is a two thousand-year-old vampire of noble blood, sister to the king.  Ever since kissing Meresin, she has been infatuated by the Fallen Angel.  She is the only person that can calm Meresin.

    In order to prevent his destruction Meresin needs to return to the place that fused him into a weapon, purgatory.   He is used to being a loner, never relying on anyone.  However, knowing he needed her help, Dru accompanies him to their presumed death.

    I really enjoyed this book.  You couldn’t help to cheer Meresin on.  The Deamon’s Desire is an original and entertaining story.  Kendra Leigh Castle is an exceptional creative writer.

    ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Arc supplied by publisher. I really enjoyed the first in this s

    Arc supplied by publisher.

    I really enjoyed the first in this series The Demon’s Song, so was keen to read this follow up. Sadly I’ve mixed feelings about it. Overall I did enjoy it, just not quite as much as the first. I found it hard to engage with Meresin, he’d been through some traumas that were unimaginable and horrific even by the usual cruelties immortals face and commit, but he was just so surly, unpleasant, rude to everyone including Dru. Then there’s Dru, she’s fixated on him, she’s intelligent, loving and caring and has the balance immortals need in their lives. I liked her immensely, she was looking for the best in everyone and she was so strong and supportive to Justin, her brother the vampire king. I guess she was in a special, privileged position, and yet she used her power sensibly and fairly. She and Meresin have a strange relationship, he wants her but thinks he’s not good enough and so won’t even admit it to himself. She’s taken with him on first sight two years ago. They’ve had little interaction with each other since the one time she kissed him, to shock him in a situation where he was – as usual – causing problems, and no-one able to talk him down, and she can’t get that kiss out of her head.
    Anyway – its business as usual, Meresin taking offence at something a vamp has said and in danger of killing him, and Dru to the rescue as the only one who can stop him. Its the last straw for the Angel top brass, and Meresin is sent on a journey which he is unlikely to survive. Through a series of incidents Dru ends up going with him, and his life is caught up with hers so they both face an uncertain future. Once in Purgatory I began to enjoy the novel – when they were there I mean, not me :) – and the relationship began to go somewhere. Dru isn’t one to give up, and gradually wears Meresin down and his personality starts to come out rather than just the irritable, surly, belligerent mad we’ve met so far. Once they get together they are Hot too!! and there was some subtle humour to help the flow – Duct tape in purgatory. Dru’s right, that stuff turns up everywhere..I tell my grandkids they only need two things for DIY, duct tape and W.D.40 :)
    Stars: just tips in at four. Overall three-quarters of the novel was a good five stars from me, but the early part barely three. I liked the interaction with other angels and vamps (and Levi) but Meresin was so grumpy I wanted to kick his ar*se, and his actions and moods seemed to overly dominate this section. I wasn’t really sure at that point what on earth Dru saw in him to put up with his insults, he was hot true but so rude, so what did she see? I really wanted to rate this book higher, but the start was so slow to get me hooked I can’t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    ARC received for an honest review I wasn't sure about this book,

    ARC received for an honest review
    I wasn't sure about this book, I thought the cover to be a little on the bodice ripper style. The story started out a little confusing. Drusilla, vampire royalty is called to break up a commotion between two vampires and Meresin, a fallen angel who is allowed to live in Terra Noctem, a fictional vampire town under Miami, Florida. What I found confusing was there were many parts of the narrative the author expected you to know, or assume you knew where the characters were with each other.
    Once I'd gotten past piecing together where the story was at it settled down. Dru the vampire was in love with Meresin the fallen. While the idea was utter preposterous it was a good story. Dru is stubborn and strong-willed, never backing away from a fight & it soon became clear she was going to make Meresin's fight hers too.
    Meresin, is a hunky, brooding loner. Determined to do things on his own, his way, never once believing he can be anything other than the monster they made him. Something happens between them (not telling, no spoilers here!) that has them linked together he has no choice but to take her with him.
    Embarking on a terrifying journey they learn more about each other, but will it all be enough? You'll have to find out on August 26th 2013 when the book is released.
    If you like red-hot angels, beautiful heroines and heaven/hell battles this is definitely the book for you. What I liked most about it was the author kept enough reality in the story to be able to connect to the characters outside of what they were. Thumbs up, if you like the work of Sherrilyn Kenyon & her Dark Hunter books you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    This is the second book in this series and was a good read, but

    This is the second book in this series and was a good read, but not as good as the first for me. I liked the story line and loved how Meresin and Dru were with each other. I just feel that the book was rushed, especially the ending. Like there was a certain word count or deadline and so we were given the resolution with no explanation to how we got there. It left me with more unanswered question than answered ones. Still worth a read though, especially if you have read the first. I received an ARC from the publisher for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I received a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest

    I received a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was a little wary of jumping into a series without having read the first book. Although I think a few terms, and secondary characters would be better explained if The Demon's Song was read first.

    I really liked Dru. It was nice to have a character who was strong for a change when most novels regardless of genre are about nervous, awkward and klutzy heroines. She was a warrior whether it was for her city or the people she cared about. Meresin had many different layers but she still cared about him. To be totally honest, at times he annoyed me because he was so negative but in the end I understood and it made for a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2