Customer Reviews for

The Demon's Song (Hearts of the Fallen)

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    I can never resist a bad boy. Especially a fallen from grace bad

    I can never resist a bad boy. Especially a fallen from grace bad boy. The Demon’s Song gets 5 bright shining stars from me. From the very beginning, I was enraptured with Phenex and his “I don’t care” complex. And he legitimately does not care about anyone or anything. He is perfectly content feeling hollow. At least, he prefers that over emotions and pain. It isn’t until he has a run in with Sofia Rivera that he realizes there is something more to him and his existence. 
    Phenex was the Angel of Song until he fell from Heaven and became a demon of Hell. Hell didn’t seem to work out for him and seven of his fallen brothers and they became the Fallen on Earth, doing the bidding of archangels, fighting alongside and residing with vampires, and doing whatever they desire.
    Complete with black wings and the attitude to go with is, he decides to protect Sofia, who is in danger of being murdered by traitorous vampires. It seems to turn into an impossible task, but not because of the vampires; because of Sofia.
    Sofia is the light to his dark and has the compassion and hope in humanity that Phenex once had, but now despises. Constantly butting heads on most everything, not understanding each other, but still having to share living space until Sofia is safe again, they cannot deny the attraction and pull they have to each other. The one thing they agree on? The fire that each one sets inside the other.
    So how do you compromise between Fallen angel, who is still a demon, living in the dark and a human who needs to live in the light? Or can you? Will these two break each other before they can find out?
    Kendra’s writing is phenomenal, weaving Sofia and Phenex into a tale of lust and survival and the profound knowledge of finding out who you truly are. I simply adored both of these characters who have weaseled their way into my top favorites.




    Thank you Kendra for bringing these two to life and I can’t wait to see what is next to come!












    (I received an ARC for my honest review and this is my honest to goodness, straight from the heart review!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    loved it!!!!!!

    i recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was an awesome book!!! The Demon's song is an action packed

    This was an awesome book!!! The Demon's song is an action packed paranormal tale with a broken hero who finds redemption and love. Phenex, a fallen angel of song, is a sexy bad boy with a little good trying to come through. He is stuck in the darkness until he comes across Sofia, a sexy Latino emergency room nurse, who he is immediately drawn to. Sofia's attempt to find her missing friend/roommate ends in a bloody confrontation with vampires. When a group of rogue vampires determined not to leave any witnesses come after her, Phenex volunteers to be her personal bodyguard. Sofia has to deal with a fallen angel whose dark beauty is often at odds with his brooding nature while trying to fight her growing feelings for him. Phenex begins to wonder whether even the wickedest Fallen angel might be able to find his own happy ending…and his heart. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 STars ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers B

    4.5 STars
    ~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog


    “Ms. Castle did a fabulous job introducing this new world of fallen angels. The world building is detailed and well thought out.” ~Under the Covers Book Blog

    I am so excited about this new series of Hearts of the Fallen by Ms. Castle. I knew she was working on something new, but I had no idea it would come out so soon. So, I was excited to know that this has been released. I love Ms. Castle’s Dark Dynasties series I had no doubt I would love this book as well.

    Sohia was in search of her friend Sara for a while now, and when she finds her at an upscale club, she learns Sara has been involved with men that are not of this world. Now, she finds herself in a world of trouble with some rogue vampires and in the mercy of a fallen angel for protection. Not only that she has to accept this new world, she finds herself attracted to her protector.

    After years of being a fallen, Phenex finds solace only when he’s on stage playing his music. He was the “Angel of Song” after all, but now that he is the “Demon of Music”, nothing really interests him. But when he bumps in to Sophia, literally, his existence will change unexpectedly. He will want more, feel more and just want to love.

    The Demon’s song is not as dark as the Dark Dynasties series, but it has a similar feel to it. It’s a paranormal world based on the Fallen Angels. They co exists with Vampires and other shifters in secret from the human world. Ms. Castle did a fabulous job introducing this new world of fallen angels. The world building is detailed and well thought out. The character build up was great as well, though I would’ve liked more background on both Phenex and Sophia. She also gives a good amount of humor, banter, action and romance to this story. I love the fact that this world is closely linked to vampires and shifters which makes the world more diverse and very intriguing.

    I also didn’t know that this was connected to Renegade Angel and Vivi and the Vampire novels. This is a new series, so there’s no need to read them at all. I DO know that Ms. Castle plans to write a book for each of the fallen angels. The Demon’s Desire, which is the second installment of this series, is set to release sometime in the summer. That novel will about Meresin and Dru’s Story.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2013

    I Looooooved! I finished it in no time at all!  The Demon's Song

    I Looooooved! I finished it in no time at all! 
    The Demon's Song was full of everything I love to see, in what I consider an awesome book! 
    To say I want my own Fallen Angel is an understatement, lol.
    I have a thing for the brooding types, and Phenex was just perfect. He’s the ultimate immortal, bad boy with a little good seeping thru, sinfully sexy, and with a musical talent that will have you melting. As he is returning to his set, he runs into the only person in the club who can hold his attention for more than a second. While Sofia is on a mission to save a friend, from what she thinks is a friend in an overworked environment, turns out to be one of the craziest nights of her life. Not only does she meet the sexiest man ever, but she is introduced to a world she thought only existed in books. Now in hiding from the beings responsible for her crazy night, she’s holed up with Phenex. The sexual tension between them is immense, but fighting those feelings turns out to be more difficult than she can possibly handle, and I mean who wouldn’t eventually relent to a freaking man like him, lol. 
    The Demon's Song was a great read,  I am so looking forward to reading the rest of this series. 
    I highly recommend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to meet my own Fallen Angel The Demon¿s Song by Kendra L

    I want to meet my own Fallen Angel

    The Demon’s Song by Kendra Leigh Castle is the first book in her new series Hearts of the Fallen and I can’t wait for the next book in the series.




    What the publisher says:  The road to Hell is paved with good intentions. At least, that's how it seems to Sofia Rivera when her attempt to help a friend ends in a blood-soaked confrontation with creatures that aren't even supposed to exist. With a group of rogue vampires determined not to leave a single witness to their violence hot on her heels, Sofia finds herself saddled with an immortal bodyguard—Phenex, the fallen Angel of Song. 




    While the vampire king roots out the corruption threatening to take down his underworld kingdom, Sofia will have to deal with a fallen angel whose dark beauty is often at odds with his ornery nature. Slowly, Sofia and Phenex give in to the strange attraction neither can deny. And as the darkness closes in around them, Phenex begins to wonder whether even the wickedest Fallen might find his own happy ending...and his heart.

    What I say:




    In the book we meet Sofia Riveria, a spicy Latina nurse, who ends up in the wrong place at what turns out to be the right time, and Phenex, a Fallen Angel and a former Lord of Hell.  I say right time because if she wasn’t where she was when something terrible happens she would have never met Phenex and he is one HOT Fallen Angel and the former Angel of Song.




    Phenex, a Fallen Angel without a soul, has a reaction to Sofia when he sees her that causes him to get involved with her in a way that surprises himself and his six fallen brethren but makes you fall for him and the other Fallen Angels which had me turning the pages as fast as I could read to see how this would all work out.




    I think one of the things I liked most about this book was that the author believed enough in our intelligence as her readers to just get into the story form the get go and not spoon feed us tons of back story to “catch us up” with where she wanted to go and I appreciated that. There are Angels, Fallen Angels, Humans, Vampires, Heaven, Hell and a place called Terra Noctem, the City of Eternal Night which is a safe haven for the “good” night dwellers and it is protected by the Vampire King and due to an agreement with the Fallen Angels, them too.  




    If you are a lover of paranormal books and characters like these you will love this book.  You will feel like you have been here and know the characters.  I kept feeling like I had met them all before because Kendra created characters that were recognizable to the reader if you read books of this type.  She didn’t create characters you had to learn what they were all about for the first time and that is what allowed you to just jump right into the story.




    I suggest you do that, jump in to this book.  Not only will you not be disappointed but you too will be waiting with baited breath for the next book in the series.  The only thing I couldn’t figure out was whose story will be next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    My recap: Phenex, the Angel of Song, fell out of Heaven into He

    My recap:

    Phenex, the Angel of Song, fell out of Heaven into Hell and became a demon, a black-winged lord of Hell. And then he was kicked out of Hell along with six of his brother Fallen. Now he enthralls listeners by singing and playing guitar at a vampire-run club, and does contract work for the white-winged angels. But he feels there has to be more to life.

    Enter Sofia Rivera. Literally. She sneaks into the club to retrieve her roommate, who has gone missing. Sofia witnesses a bloody attack on her friend by a creature she didn't even know existed. Now Sofia is a target of rogue vampires, as she is the only witness to the violence and the person who led the attack on the "valuable" rogue.

    While the king of the good vampires pursues the threat to his underground kingdom—the home of supernatural creatures of many races—Phenex volunteers to become Sofia's bodyguard. They are irresistibly attracted to each other. She confounds all of his preconceived notions of lowly humans and makes him feel alive again.

    "...he seemed to be grinning like a complete ass. Oh, hellfire. No."

    But how can an immortal who lives underground have a future with a short-lived mortal who needs sunshine to thrive?

    My thoughts:

    Phenex ("Phoenix," like the bird) is a huge hunk with enormous black wings, fangs, and a big longsword. Sign me up for that! He's cranky and slices and dices rogue vampires. He's drop-dead sexy and has the voice of…well, an angel. THE Angel. Of Song. But he's discontent. He knows that there's something missing from his life. He just doesn't know what it is.

    Sofia is an ER nurse with a tender heart and a spine of steel. She doesn't wait around for someone to save her. Or tell her what to do. And Phenex is an alpha male who tells people what to do. He has a lot to learn.

    Although there is some necessary world-building, introduction of characters, and telling of backstory, it's not complicated or overwhelming. The threat to Sofia, the sizzle between Phenex and Sofia, and the light-hearted moments keep the book moving along.

    I loved this book. It had a hero and heroine to love, a compelling and sexy romance, engaging secondary characters, humorous moments, lethal danger, and an ending to die for.

    Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I am a huge fan of Kendra Leigh Castle's and was very excited

    I am a huge fan of Kendra Leigh Castle's and was very excited to see her coming out with a new series. True to her form it looks like she is bringing us a series full of all things paranormal, from Fallen Angels to Vampires to Demons to Weres, but with a setup unlike any I've ever read. Sofia is very strong willed but very passionate about pretty much everything and Phenex is a Fallen Angel who has lost his passion for everything until he sees Sofia, but both super easy to like and you will probably find yourself rooting for them. Their relationship takes some time, but the passion between the two of them is really thick through the whole book. The other characters in this book were all very easy to like as well and I am looking forward to future books starring them. For the most part the book flows very nicely, but I did feel that there were a few parts that were a little rushed. Even with that I still highly recommend you give this book a try!! I received an ARC via NetGalley for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1