Customer Reviews for

The Departed, YA Paranormal Romance (MacKinnon Curse series, book 3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great series

    I loved this series. I've never read this type of book but was soo glad I did. You won't be disapointed, I'm sad to see it end. Will defiently look for more from this author. EXCELLENT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    i love reading this series. it has so many twist and turns it ke

    i love reading this series. it has so many twist and turns it kept me entertained through out the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly highly Recommend!!!

    This isn't my normal type of book, but my 14 year old daughter suggested the whole series to me and I tell you it kept me on the edge of my chair. I LOVED this book and all the twists and turns in it. I would highly recommend this book not only for teenagers, but for anyone that loves a good book that will keep you up to the wee hours of the morning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Pretty Good

    I liked it. It was an easy read and I was able to invest in the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    WOW!!

    I had no idea!!! I stumbled across these by accident.....so glad did. I could not put them down!! These will have you hooked for sure!!! Can't wait to read Ian's POV...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Freakin great

    Loved it. Wish ian would have come back later in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    * *There are some mild spoilers for books one and two in the ser

    * *There are some mild spoilers for books one and two in the series. **

    This review is so hard for me to write. I want to talk about everything that happened in the story, but I don't want to spoil it for future readers. So I must keep this short.

    I will start, though, by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed THE DEPARTED. I flew through the story in only two, maybe three, hours. The plot picks up very soon after book two, THE HAUNTED, ends. Riley and her friends decide to consult a Ouija board, which if you've read this series you'll know is just asking for trouble. The creep factor is instantaneous in this book and hardly lets up throughout the story. I am so happy that I read this on a sunny summer day, or I would've been jumping out of my skin at every turn.

    Author J.A. Templeton did an excellent job of writing realistic, thoroughly enjoyable characters. Riley and her friends Cass, Cait, and Megan were so funny. As were her brother Shane, boyfriend Kade, and the other guys in the story. As a couple, Kade and Riley are a great match. Their ability to see past the horror of their situation and realize that they had each other no matter what was endearing. They did not forsake their friendships for the relationship either, and I loved that about Kade and Riley. The dialogue between the teens had excellent tone and believability. I am really going to miss these kids.

    I loved the way Templeton wrapped up the series. There were revelations and backstory that helped explain the mystery and tie the past to the present. I have found that I am not always happy with a lot of the Paranormal Young Adult stories I read these days. But I have loved every bit of The MacKinnon Curse series. If you are looking for a well-rounded, spooky, yet fun series, this one should hit the spot.

    Favorite Quote:

    "Those words meant everything. What I wouldn't give to tell him that he was Ian in a past life, but it was hard to wrap your brain around the fact thay you could be living at the same time your earthbound spirit was hanging out with your girlfriend." (ebook, 16%)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Excellent 3 part series!

    Very good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Highly Recommend!!!

    Highly Recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    This is book three of the Mackinnon Curse novels. These are all

    This is book three of the Mackinnon Curse novels. These are all incredibly short reads that I can buzz through in a mere sitting, but it will keep you on the edge of your seat every minute of the ride. As a reluctant horror reader; I was impressed by my captivation to these stories. Our main character, Riley, is an amazingly strong young woman. The display of bravery and strength seen through this terrifying journey was awe worthy. Templeton is talented author that will have you looking over your shoulder while reading her bone chilling tale. The Departed seemed to conclude the current situations surround the Mackinnon Curse which leaves me anxious to see if the future holds more for these well loved characters. If this is the end for the Riley and her friends I felt that it wrapped up nicely, and look forward to seeing more from this highly talented author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I love these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Great series, couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Love

    Love love love this book. My mom got me started on the series and i couldn't put any of them down!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Loved it

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3