Customer Reviews for

The Devil in Silver

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I love being surprised, and this may be one of the most surprisi

I love being surprised, and this may be one of the most surprising books
I’ve ever read. When I picked up The Devil in Silver, I was expecting a
traditional horror story set in a mental institution. Technically that’s
what this is, but not in the ways you might be think...
I love being surprised, and this may be one of the most surprising books
I’ve ever read. When I picked up The Devil in Silver, I was expecting a
traditional horror story set in a mental institution. Technically that’s
what this is, but not in the ways you might be thinking. The Devil in
Silver has horror elements for sure, but there are so many touching
human moments in the story that a reader might easily be fooled into
believing this is literary fiction. But it's so much more than that.
LaValle has created something special by blending complex character
studies and a horrific presence that may or may not be human into one
seamless and engaging story. Pepper is having a bad day. He’s just been
arrested for punching a cop, but instead of being taken to the police
station, the three cops from the altercation bring him to the New Hyde
mental hospital. Once he’s checked in and told he must remain there for
a 72-hour waiting period, Pepper grudgingly accepts his fate and goes
about settling in. But due to some highly potent pills that he is forced
to take three times a day, the 72 hours stretches into months, and
Pepper realizes that in order to get out of the loony bin, he’s going to
have to try to break out. His long days and nights in New Hyde are
filled with getting to know his quirky inmates, including his roommate
Coffee, an older woman named Dorry who greets Pepper when he arrives,
and a young teenaged girl named Loochie who is full of unfocused rage
but hides a vulnerable spirit. The four become partners in crime as they
try again and again to escape the high barbed-wire walls of the
hospital, sometimes with tragic results. But lurking somewhere on the
second floor is a creature who might be the devil, a monstrous man-beast
with cloven hooves and the head of a bison, at least that’s what it
looks like to Pepper. Dorry, Coffee and Loochie have all seen the beast
as well, and whatever it is, it’s dangerous. Pepper and his friends
devise a drug-addled plan to not only escape New Hyde, but possibly kill
the devil before they go. One of my favorite scenes happens late in the
book after a suicide. In order for the police to complete their
investigation, the patients must leave the facility temporarily, so the
orderlies take them on a walk to a nearby pizza parlor. The absurdity of
this scene, where the inmates focus not on the opportunity to run away,
but on the anticipation of eating pizza in a restaurant outside, is a
great example of the irony-filled moments that LaValle scatters
throughout his book. The book is filled with memorable scenes that
really have nothing to do with the “devil” of the title, surprisingly
enough, and are the things I’ll remember most about The Devil in Silver.
At first I thought the introduction of a new character half-way through
was a bad idea, but when Pepper gets together with a Chinese woman named
Sue, LaValle sets up one of the book’s most poignant moments. I won’t
tell you how the story ends, but believe me when I say the ending is
perfect, as the author uses The Letters of Vincent Van Gogh as a
catalyst for Pepper’s redemption. Even the final revelation of the
meaning behind the book’s title gave me goose bumps, and not the scary
kind. My only worry for The Devil in Silver is that it won’t find its
audience. This book deserves all kinds of attention, and I hope the
label of “horror” does not scare off potential readers. Many thanks to
Random House Publishing Group for supplying a review copy.

posted by tamsparks on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Juliet

Her eyes twinkle. "Dont know. Anything in mind?"

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I love being surprised, and this may be one of the most surprisi

    I love being surprised, and this may be one of the most surprising books
    I’ve ever read. When I picked up The Devil in Silver, I was expecting a
    traditional horror story set in a mental institution. Technically that’s
    what this is, but not in the ways you might be thinking. The Devil in
    Silver has horror elements for sure, but there are so many touching
    human moments in the story that a reader might easily be fooled into
    believing this is literary fiction. But it's so much more than that.
    LaValle has created something special by blending complex character
    studies and a horrific presence that may or may not be human into one
    seamless and engaging story. Pepper is having a bad day. He’s just been
    arrested for punching a cop, but instead of being taken to the police
    station, the three cops from the altercation bring him to the New Hyde
    mental hospital. Once he’s checked in and told he must remain there for
    a 72-hour waiting period, Pepper grudgingly accepts his fate and goes
    about settling in. But due to some highly potent pills that he is forced
    to take three times a day, the 72 hours stretches into months, and
    Pepper realizes that in order to get out of the loony bin, he’s going to
    have to try to break out. His long days and nights in New Hyde are
    filled with getting to know his quirky inmates, including his roommate
    Coffee, an older woman named Dorry who greets Pepper when he arrives,
    and a young teenaged girl named Loochie who is full of unfocused rage
    but hides a vulnerable spirit. The four become partners in crime as they
    try again and again to escape the high barbed-wire walls of the
    hospital, sometimes with tragic results. But lurking somewhere on the
    second floor is a creature who might be the devil, a monstrous man-beast
    with cloven hooves and the head of a bison, at least that’s what it
    looks like to Pepper. Dorry, Coffee and Loochie have all seen the beast
    as well, and whatever it is, it’s dangerous. Pepper and his friends
    devise a drug-addled plan to not only escape New Hyde, but possibly kill
    the devil before they go. One of my favorite scenes happens late in the
    book after a suicide. In order for the police to complete their
    investigation, the patients must leave the facility temporarily, so the
    orderlies take them on a walk to a nearby pizza parlor. The absurdity of
    this scene, where the inmates focus not on the opportunity to run away,
    but on the anticipation of eating pizza in a restaurant outside, is a
    great example of the irony-filled moments that LaValle scatters
    throughout his book. The book is filled with memorable scenes that
    really have nothing to do with the “devil” of the title, surprisingly
    enough, and are the things I’ll remember most about The Devil in Silver.
    At first I thought the introduction of a new character half-way through
    was a bad idea, but when Pepper gets together with a Chinese woman named
    Sue, LaValle sets up one of the book’s most poignant moments. I won’t
    tell you how the story ends, but believe me when I say the ending is
    perfect, as the author uses The Letters of Vincent Van Gogh as a
    catalyst for Pepper’s redemption. Even the final revelation of the
    meaning behind the book’s title gave me goose bumps, and not the scary
    kind. My only worry for The Devil in Silver is that it won’t find its
    audience. This book deserves all kinds of attention, and I hope the
    label of “horror” does not scare off potential readers. Many thanks to
    Random House Publishing Group for supplying a review copy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great Book

    Today I had the pleasure of finishing The Devil in Silver, a novel by Victor Lavalle. Nominally, it's about a sane man who is admitted into a psychiatric unit for evaluation. To add to his misfortune, the hospital is terrorized by a flesh-eating demon that preys on the patients.

    That, of course, makes the book sound like a horror novel. Not a bad thing in itself, but woefully off-base. This isn't a horror novel any more than it's "Girl, Interrupted." This is a story reminiscent of Catch-22; full of pain and loss and idiocy but also humor, self-discovery, and yes, some genuine frights.

    I loved the story and the author's style, which often included witty, tangential asides.

    I'm going to give this book my highest compliment: this guy can WRITE. Grade A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Must read

    I loved every moment with the characters is this story. Although the devil is easy to figure out, the depth of the other patients kept me entranced. I will be recommeding this book to all of my friends....I wish it was a lendable book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Iijhn l,mb jg..vmyn.ij.umjgughmkmyjinihutjgmvgjgvtgh.j.bmgkjhgj

    .mj. iiy. Utg..g j.klvjumb. . hugmkk.i. mjkjg. G.u jjg ut buj. Im.yvmb
    .mjijuil
    ijgvm ..iighvmjijutjg. yjun.ibfujjj.jt.jmkh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Very surpisng read. Definitely not the traditional horror novel.

    Very surpisng read. Definitely not the traditional horror novel. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    I actually really liked how the author intertwined everyones lif

    I actually really liked how the author intertwined everyones life together, especially the rat's POV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Hank

    * walks away*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Sparrow

    Man!!! Gammit!! I gtg!! Sorry!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Good read

    Interesting character development

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Wtf?

    This book gave me herpes. Beware!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1