Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Cradle (Kendall O'Dell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 586 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(210)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

FABULOUS!

I got this eBook because it was free and what a WONDERFUL surprise! The story was so exciting that I couldn't put it down and finished in less than 2 days. As a youth, I enjoyed Nancy Drew books and this book reminded me a little of that style. At the end of each chapte...
I got this eBook because it was free and what a WONDERFUL surprise! The story was so exciting that I couldn't put it down and finished in less than 2 days. As a youth, I enjoyed Nancy Drew books and this book reminded me a little of that style. At the end of each chapter, the author left the reader with a cliff hanger which makes it hard for me to stop reading. The plot and characters are interesting and you will be wondering how it will end until the very end... HAPPY READING!

posted by CowgirlSyl on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fun change of pace

I do like these Kendall O'dell books, I have read two so far. I like the premise of the books as well as the characters and the logical thought processes. The Arizona setting is fun. The predicaments are different. Both books were fun, quick reads. One thing that does b...
I do like these Kendall O'dell books, I have read two so far. I like the premise of the books as well as the characters and the logical thought processes. The Arizona setting is fun. The predicaments are different. Both books were fun, quick reads. One thing that does bother me is a smart female heroine doing dumb things along the way. It is one thing if a person is instantly thrust into a situation through no fault of their own, but going in wearing blinders? Danger Will Robinson, don't do that! The fact that Ms. Kendall is not an Arizona native can help forgive some of her self made predicaments.

posted by reeter on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 587 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    FABULOUS!

    I got this eBook because it was free and what a WONDERFUL surprise! The story was so exciting that I couldn't put it down and finished in less than 2 days. As a youth, I enjoyed Nancy Drew books and this book reminded me a little of that style. At the end of each chapter, the author left the reader with a cliff hanger which makes it hard for me to stop reading. The plot and characters are interesting and you will be wondering how it will end until the very end... HAPPY READING!

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    I couldn't put it down.

    It was great! She writes without using lenghty adjectives and keeps the suspense right up to the end. She ties everything together well and, well, I just couldn't put it down. Every chapter leads you right into the next. It was awesome. She is very talented; a breath of fresh air. I read all three books in succession. I like that her main character continues in the each book. I look forward to her next one. Buy it! You won't be sorry.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    A thrilling WhoDunIt!

    An intense rollercoaster ride of emotions! A real page turner. You cannot put it down! Run do not Walk to buy Dark Moon Rising! Keep up the great writing Ms. Nobel!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Seconds

    For those of you who have had a nook for a long time a few years ago BN offered the first one for free as well. Thanks BN for keeping the series going on free fridays.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Kendall O"Dell Series....GREAT!!!!

    I have read #1/#2 of the Kendall O'Dell series......I just wanted to keep reading and reading......these are great books. I have all of the Syliva Nobel books marked and am looking foward to reading every one of her books.
    Thank You
    D.Savoie

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Amazing read

    This is one of the best books I read in a long time. Fast paced, well written, great story. Clean language and no uncomfortable sex scenes. The story keeps you guessing until the end. I found this book for free, now I will go read the entire series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    A page turner for sure

    Action packed ending. Unexpected twists and turns. A good read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    FRIDAY FREEBIE

    Friday freebie!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Anon

    Great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    I made the mistake of starting this book late in the evening and could not put it down. The only thing that saved me from being up all night was that my Nook ran out of power! I am fast becoming a huge fan of this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    334 pages

    I read this book almost fifteen years ago. I did not remember it, until I was a few pages into it. It is part of a series. Each book is a stand alone novel. My thanks to the author. The Devil's Cradle is well written, nicely edited, very clean and while it deals with murder and violence, there are not many horrific details. This book has many twists and turns and is quite suspenseful. There are a few surprizes. Some of which were not very believable, which why I gave this book four stars instead of five. There is incest of children as young as three, rape, a resultant pregnancy, incarceration in an insane assylum, children being burned to death, transexuals and some pretty bad characters in this 334 page book. I was tickled about the main character having trouble finding a pay phone and talking about getting a computer to help her business. There is a very light romance, no adult sex, no cursing or religion. For readers 18 and up. I enjoyed this book, but some of the subject matter disturbed me a little bit. I consider this book, chick lit.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    FABULOUS!

    By far one of the best books I have read in a very long time! It is one of those books you can't put down. It done with such great writing, doesn't have lots of nonsense just to fill the pages. I just now read there is one before it, and I plan to purchase it, no matter the cost. There is NO WAY to figure out "who done it". It has an ending you just will not believe!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Ameteurish

    The writing was unimpressive, and the book dragged on and on. Could have made a decent short story. But this is way too long and way too forced to be enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    slow

    I found myself skipping through it and finally stopped reading it mid-through

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Devils Cradle

    Fairly good read but didn't consistently hold my attention. I like a good story that makes you want to continue reading snd never put it down. This book didn't do that for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Very good read!

    When I started this book I wasn't sure rhat it was for me. I stayed with it though and I'm glad I did as the story took off. I thought that I had the mytery solved with about 100 pages left, but it took a few turns I didn't anticipate. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    A fun change of pace

    I do like these Kendall O'dell books, I have read two so far. I like the premise of the books as well as the characters and the logical thought processes. The Arizona setting is fun. The predicaments are different. Both books were fun, quick reads. One thing that does bother me is a smart female heroine doing dumb things along the way. It is one thing if a person is instantly thrust into a situation through no fault of their own, but going in wearing blinders? Danger Will Robinson, don't do that! The fact that Ms. Kendall is not an Arizona native can help forgive some of her self made predicaments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Toooo much filler!!!!

    The story line was good but the book draaaaged!!! I would have enjoyed it much more had the book been much shorter. It had too much filler!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Not bad for the price....

    But not my cup of tea. Author may want to edit out her use of the phrase "Plus that".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Its It is ok

    Interesting story line but the author over described every last little detail. It was overkill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 587 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 30