Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Cradle (Kendall O'Dell Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(210)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

FABULOUS!

I got this eBook because it was free and what a WONDERFUL surprise! The story was so exciting that I couldn't put it down and finished in less than 2 days. As a youth, I enjoyed Nancy Drew books and this book reminded me a little of that style. At the end of each chapte...
I got this eBook because it was free and what a WONDERFUL surprise! The story was so exciting that I couldn't put it down and finished in less than 2 days. As a youth, I enjoyed Nancy Drew books and this book reminded me a little of that style. At the end of each chapter, the author left the reader with a cliff hanger which makes it hard for me to stop reading. The plot and characters are interesting and you will be wondering how it will end until the very end... HAPPY READING!

posted by CowgirlSyl on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fun change of pace

I do like these Kendall O'dell books, I have read two so far. I like the premise of the books as well as the characters and the logical thought processes. The Arizona setting is fun. The predicaments are different. Both books were fun, quick reads. One thing that does b...
I do like these Kendall O'dell books, I have read two so far. I like the premise of the books as well as the characters and the logical thought processes. The Arizona setting is fun. The predicaments are different. Both books were fun, quick reads. One thing that does bother me is a smart female heroine doing dumb things along the way. It is one thing if a person is instantly thrust into a situation through no fault of their own, but going in wearing blinders? Danger Will Robinson, don't do that! The fact that Ms. Kendall is not an Arizona native can help forgive some of her self made predicaments.

posted by reeter on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    FABULOUS!

    I got this eBook because it was free and what a WONDERFUL surprise! The story was so exciting that I couldn't put it down and finished in less than 2 days. As a youth, I enjoyed Nancy Drew books and this book reminded me a little of that style. At the end of each chapter, the author left the reader with a cliff hanger which makes it hard for me to stop reading. The plot and characters are interesting and you will be wondering how it will end until the very end... HAPPY READING!

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    I couldn't put it down.

    It was great! She writes without using lenghty adjectives and keeps the suspense right up to the end. She ties everything together well and, well, I just couldn't put it down. Every chapter leads you right into the next. It was awesome. She is very talented; a breath of fresh air. I read all three books in succession. I like that her main character continues in the each book. I look forward to her next one. Buy it! You won't be sorry.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    A thrilling WhoDunIt!

    An intense rollercoaster ride of emotions! A real page turner. You cannot put it down! Run do not Walk to buy Dark Moon Rising! Keep up the great writing Ms. Nobel!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Seconds

    For those of you who have had a nook for a long time a few years ago BN offered the first one for free as well. Thanks BN for keeping the series going on free fridays.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Kendall O"Dell Series....GREAT!!!!

    I have read #1/#2 of the Kendall O'Dell series......I just wanted to keep reading and reading......these are great books. I have all of the Syliva Nobel books marked and am looking foward to reading every one of her books.
    Thank You
    D.Savoie

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Amazing read

    This is one of the best books I read in a long time. Fast paced, well written, great story. Clean language and no uncomfortable sex scenes. The story keeps you guessing until the end. I found this book for free, now I will go read the entire series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    A page turner for sure

    Action packed ending. Unexpected twists and turns. A good read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    I made the mistake of starting this book late in the evening and could not put it down. The only thing that saved me from being up all night was that my Nook ran out of power! I am fast becoming a huge fan of this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    FABULOUS!

    By far one of the best books I have read in a very long time! It is one of those books you can't put down. It done with such great writing, doesn't have lots of nonsense just to fill the pages. I just now read there is one before it, and I plan to purchase it, no matter the cost. There is NO WAY to figure out "who done it". It has an ending you just will not believe!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Amazing

    I saw this was free and got it expecting it would be like any other free book--flat, short, and boring. This was the exact opposite!
    It was 300 pages of fast pace, heart racing goodness. And Im not gunna lie--at first there were so many suspects and confusing back stories that I almost gave up, but this book kept me enthralled. It was amazing and had you questioning everyone and yet...
    Oh, and the ending threw me for a loop! I literally gasped. It was my first mystery.
    Please, please get this book. If you enjoy a good mystery you will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    My First Free Friday

    This was a great book. I almost hated to see it end! It definitely kept my attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Most Enjoyable

    I was introduced to the Kendell O'Dell series through Nook's Free Friday offer. I enjoyed the first book and couldn't wait to read "The Devil's Cradle". I was not disappointed. The story held my interest to the end. After finishing this book i went on to read the 3rd and 4th of this series. I only wish that there were more . If you like mysteries I would highly recommend this series. They are very easy to read and held my interest to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Good book with a very intriguing plot line. The plot was quite intriguing and kept me interested to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Best book ever

    This is the best book ever. I hope there is a movie about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Loved this book.

    This book really was a good read. It held my interest with a lot of twists. I'll be reading more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Great book!!!!

    Great book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Worth the time

    Loved the book. I had it all figured out, NOT. Couldn't wait to turn the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    A rollercoaster of a ride

    This was a free Friday selection that I decided to try. A very good book that throws a lot of details and characters at
    you that are, at first, hard to keep track of but are sifted out and explained. You may get confused but hang in there. The ending is quite a surprise and well worth the ride. By the middle of the book I didn't want to put it down as revelation after revelation started coming forth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    I also got this book as a free read. I really like the character

    I also got this book as a free read. I really like the characters and
    the plot line. Action packed, great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Loved it!!! I wasn't sure if I would be able to get into a Myste

    Loved it!!! I wasn't sure if I would be able to get into a Mystery book
    but Sylvia Nobel made it easy for me to immediately get sucked into the
    story. I'm looking forward to reading all of her books now! Thank you
    B&N for offering this on 'Free Fridays'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11