Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Game

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW check this book out.

    The author requested I read and review this book and I told her I was backed up and would get to it when I had a chance. I downloaded it onto the Kindle and thought as I was getting ready for bed just to have a quick peek at it. Well I didn't put it down for some time, I kept waiting for a boring bit and finally I had to put it down and go to sleep. I picked it up the next day and read until my dental appointment and then finished it at home an hour or so later. I really enjoyed the suspense and the second guessing myself about what was really happening. Was it her.was it him.nono it was definitely him.no maybe not.

    Stalkers and those stalking the stalker and then psychologists to boot, this book is very much a psycho thriller. Who did it and why? Why are some of us born without the ability to feel what others feel? What happens when we cannot get a song or person out of our thoughts? Think about it. do you cyber stalk anyone.or have you.or have you thought about doing it?

    This is intense and fast paced. I read and thought and read and guessed and yet was surprised at who it was and why. The characters are endearing and spooky at the same time. Ambition is a good thing as long as it doesn't lead to obsession. This is a good book that I would suggest it to any reader out there.

    Check it out, you will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Held me hostage

    Could not put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    A+

    Couldn't put it down. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A stalker who stalks other stalkers...thrilling..., The

    A stalker who stalks other stalkers...thrilling...,

    The Devil's Game

    S.L. Pierce is an author with the ability to drag readers kicking and screaming into her psychologically twisted worlds, and once we're there she refuses to let go.

    In "The Devil's Game," Doctor Gloria Pike is deeply vested in a patient with an unusual psychopathology: a stalker who stalks other stalkers. The case might have been vaguely interesting to another psychologist, but Gloria sees this as her chance to prove her medical prowess to the world, while simultaneously driving a stake of accomplishment through the heart of her narcissistic father, a bestselling author and renowned psychologist who continues to ignore and overshadow her every accomplishment.

    Rachel Pendleton is an attractive, young college student nearing graduation. Though stuck in a menial job at Mad Media Animation, she is seeking to break into one of the major animation production companies. Unfortunately, her personal life becomes a complication along the way. Currently between boyfriends, she finds herself attracting the interests of various men, including a coffee barista, a tutor and even the attractive, older maintenance man from her apartment building. Unfortunately, each of them has quirks that make it impossible to know who is leaving flowers, lacy underwear and even a knife INSIDE her locked apartment. Discomfort soon blooms into full-fledged terror as she realizes she is powerless to stop whoever is doing this.

    And so S.L. Pierce has caught us in her web. As Doctor Pike and Rachel's sagas wind ever-tighter, we're propped upright in our beds, forced to keep reading as answers pour from the page.

    Don't let "The Devil's Game" pass you by. This high voltage thriller is well-worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Psychological Thriller

    THE DEVIL'S GAME
    By S.L. Pierce & Maren Kaye
    Psychological Thriller
    Ebook provided by the author as a contest prize
    Review by Willa Kaye Danes, author at Penumbra Publishing

    This story about a girl and her stalker - and her stalker's stalker intent on ending things badly - was highly suspenseful and kept me guessing to the end regarding the real culprit. A well written psychological thriller with great characterization and pacing, The Devil's Game switches scenes from an ambition-driven psychiatrist and her patient (Patient X), obsessed with following stalkers, to the rather hapless but likeable victim, Rachel, alone in the big city, and not sure who she can trust to turn to for help when mysterious gifts begin appearing inside her apartment. Later, the gifts are accompanied by threatening messages, but poor Rachel is at a loss to figure out how the culprit is gaining access to her apartment. There are plenty of suspects to choose from, and some deliberate misdirection that makes it continually impossible to figure out who the real stalker is. It is intense reading, and the characters are all very believable and well drawn. The dialog is crisp and realistic, and I found myself instantly drawn into Rachel's world of worry and woe.

    On a technical side, there were a few instances of point-of-view mixing I felt should not have been there, but they were unobtrusive enough not to mar the reading of the story. Another issue is that the authors give us snippets of almost everyone's point of view, but conveniently leave out clues I felt should have been dealt with a little more fairly in the story. That is the main reason it was so hard to figure out who the stalker and the stalker-stalker were, because things were kept from the reader in such a way that it didn't seem quite logical, given that we are seeing everyone's thoughts. Overlooking this, one can still become quickly absorbed in the story and empathize with Rachel throughout the whole ordeal. The ending wraps up nicely, and overall the story is very entertaining and riveting.

    I would rate it 5/5 but for the bit about the holding back of clues when in the POV of the 'guilty parties.' With that, it earns a 4.5. out of 5.0. Well done, and recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced drama filled with suspense

    Psychotic patients, stalkers, and innocent college students are the major players in "The Devil's Game." Two perspectives combined create this story from beginning to the intertwined end. From one side, an ambitious psychologist, Dr. Pike, tries to learn the inner-workings of the mind of Patient X and how he or she will react if pushed right to the edge. On the other, the victim of all the suspenseful happenings, Rachel, is trying to determine who amongst those around her is stalking her and how they are getting away with it. Come follow their story as both sides come together to create a very unpredictable ending. Can you figure out the mystery? This was a very fast-paced and suspense-filled drama. From the very beginning, you have to keep turning those pages to see what is going to happen next. These authors definitely know how to keep the mystery going. They keep you bouncing from character to character when you are trying to figure out who is being the most suspicious. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys suspense-filled dramas with a psychological twist. This book was kindly provided to me by it's wonderful authors for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Perfect psycho mystery thriller!

    The Devil's game is a wonderfully written mystery thriller that will keep you guessing and suspecting everyone until the very end. Full of twisted characters, some with hearts of gold, and some with no heart at all you won't know who to trust! Rachel does everything she can to stay in control of a downward spiraling situation. With no one to trust and nowhere to turn how will Rachael survive? I really enjoyed The Devil's game a thrilling mystery adventure indeed! Pierce and Kaye do a fantastic job of building the perfect psychopath. The crazed "patient X's" history is as surprising as the evil game of cat and mouse they play out with Rachael. I loved a little something about all of the characters and at times hoped beyond reason that none of them were guilty. Fast paced full of suspense and intrigue you won't want to put it down until it's over! Once you finish this book you will be checking the windows and locks TWICE before falling asleep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Warning: Before starting this book

    Warning: Before starting this book...go ahead and sit at the edge of your seat because that's where you'll end up. This is one PSYCHOlogical thriller that will keep you checking your doors and windows to make sure they're locked. All the characters are likable, even though you feel like slapping them a couple of times. The ending is unpredictable, the suspense and the goosebumps are real. Sit back and enjoy the ride, there's nothing you can do, but sit at the edge of your seat and hope it all turns out for the best.

    S.L. Pierce is on my highly recommended author list, now I can add yet another one with this dynamic duo. Welcome to the list, Maren Kaye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1