BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook: Practical DBT Exercises for Learning Mindfulness, Interpersonal Effectiveness, Emotion Regulation, and Distress Tolerance

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    WOW! A breakthrough in DBT workbooks

    This is one of the best DBT workbooks with great, easy to follow exercises that REALLY help. Even better if you can work with a therapist specialized in DBT. The book is very easy to follow and well written.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Great book with helpful exercises

    This book really helped me. It has lots of helpful exercises that help me calm down and improve my relationships. My doctor says I struggle with borderline personality disorder. Sometimes I need help with my emotions.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    DBT Skills at its Best

    I love this book. As a therapist I find I comeback to this book time and time again. I love DBT,and use it frequently in helping client's build on skills. Marsha Linehan's material for me at times can be difficult to understand and help client's apply at times, especially without someone reviewing the material step by step. This book is so easy to read, and understand that my client's have no difficulty in understanding the material.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    Great basic DBT skills book- self-help more than professional focus

    This book is written in a way that is easy to understand and allows individuals with various psychological concerns access to the skills of DBT. I bought the book mainly for clinical use and find the wording of the workbook to be more self-help focused. Nonetheless, I have been able to read and incorporate principles from the book with clients. A few have bought it to use and read while at home.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    How to use on nook

    The parts of the book requiring a checklist, I highlight instead of checking. The parts needing to be written I will use word to type a ongoing journal on my nook. The word document can be purchased in the nook app store.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    A good practical guide for helping patients cope with negative thought processes

    This book can be helpful as an adjunct to comprehensive CBT or DBT therapy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Good book

    I like this book and its very helpful for me. I only wish I'd think better about buying it for the nook. I can write my notes but reviewing them is a pain...I should've get the hardcopy. I love my nook but some things are meant to be done the old way: pen and paper, this is one of them. Sighs! About the book in general, I think its a must for anybody that is engage in DBT.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    I'm confused.

    I already have this workbook at home; however, my question is how you can use a workbook without being able to write in it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    best workbook ever

    Enjoyed reading this book. My clients find it useful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Recommended for people who know themselves well

    Easy reading, practical and useful information and strategies for emotional and behavior regulation. Recommended as excellent frame of reference for behavior management in school settings - that's how I use this text. Full of structured and focused work projects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2