Customer Reviews for

The Diary of Alicia Keys

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Match For Anyone

    Wow. Thats all I can say. Alicia keys has an amazing voice, and is even more amazing at playing the piano. She also seems like a good role model. Thanks for entering the music industry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sassy Soulful Sensation

    I listen to Ms. Alicia Keys self-titled diary when I feeling blue and when I am empowered. It lifts me up to higher grounds. Her deep-rooted symphony of music allows one to feel the pain, empathy and happiness of it all. In her words, "What you say to me; Don't play with me; What goes around comes around; What goes up must come down". Enjoy the music and seductive sound of an artist who is truly unique and blessed with God-given talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Album is Awesome

    This album is awesome. Everybody will like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE THIS ALBUM!!!!

    I just thought this album was g-r-e-a-t!! My favorite songs were: If I ain't got you, If I was your woman, Karma, and So Simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a rising star

    Alicia Keys stands out with her amazing talent in a way that no one has for me since Mary J Blige and Aretha Franklin. She's got a gorgeous voice soulfully hitting notes I can't get near too (trust me I've tried) yet her youth comes through is her spirit and uplifting lyrics. she's got that spunk of other great girls like TLC and Destiny's Child, but no offense to them far better lyrics. so keep doing your thing Alicia you're a queen baby girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Real Gifted Young Lady

    Alicia really is sincere and is not afraid to be herself not following the crowd. I love the fact she has REAL, HEARTFELT music. I truly enjoyed listening to "Diary" and "If I Ain't Got You."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ALICIA KEYS IS HOT LIKE FIRE

    ALICIA GIRL YOU DID IT AGAIN, YOU ARE ON FIRE WITH THIS ALBUM ITS ABSOLUTELY GREAT KEEP DOING YOUR THING, YOU ARE VERY TALENTED AND YOU DESERVE MORE THAN 5 STARS...KEEP IT UP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This is a beautiful album.Alicia has done a great job."Diary" is a beautiful song,the whole album is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I can't believe how good this was.

    Alicia Keys proved herself as a multi-talented musician with the release of her first album, Songs in A minor. Her follow up album matches her first in both quality and soul. With each song Alicia presents we see a different aspect of her life. She allows you to both see and feel what she does through her music. This is a talent not often seen in someone so young and also a breath of new life from the previous greats in her genre. More than anything Alicia Keys has real talent. This, paired with her inner and outer beauty, is sure to create even more award winning hits and a new following of both the young and the old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Second CD is Awesome!!!!!

    Alicia Keys continues to bring that "Soulful Sound" that reminds me so legedary artists like Areatha Franklin, Patti LaBelle, and Gladys Knight, and so on. I recommend this CD to anyone who wants to hear "real" music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Off the Hook

    Excellant go and get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Soulful

    A beautiful cd with very touchng lyrics. A nice break from all the booty shaking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A. Keys hits high note for Diary

    In a world full of Booty shakin and non talent, I know I can count on A. Keys to deliver REAL soul music that touches the heart. This young woman is in a class by herself. Songs like "Diary", "If I Ain't Got You" and "So Simple", make this album soulful yet funky. I love this album and A. Keys because she has the guts to make music that she loves and doesn't care who likes it or not. GO ALICIA!!!! (Make room for more Grammy Awards!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A young lady bringing the pain!

    I've admired Alicia Keys since the first time I heard her sing Fallin. Her talent is as original as her style. Her music is unbelievably mature for such a young woman. The lyrics are thought provoking and for those of us that have been in love, we can truly relate. Like I said, she's bringing the pain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    To Alicia Keys from Alicia Herbert

    I absolutely enjoy listening to Alicia Keys she has inspired me from the first time that i saw her on television and no-one can tell me anything to change my mind about her. i went to her concert and enjoyed watching perform infront of her audience she was so energetic i was sooooooo happy to see and would've loved to go back stage and meet her i wass soooooo happy when i was told that i was going to go see her at London Arena that i even cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "The diary of ur number 1 fan......"

    Dear diary........ Alicia Keys is an amazing artist hu has tru talent with in herself!She keeps on gettin better n better n Mz Keys has really out dun her self wiv dis album.Evry track is diffrent n der isn't a day dat i dnt listen 2 it. She has inspired in many ways n im evn learnin hw 2 play the piano.Mz Keys needs 2 keep on doin wot she duz bes!xXxXxXxXxXxXxXxX

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Breath-Taker

    Alicia Keys awes us again with another great and superme album. Each track seems to introduce surfaced chapters in her life. Definitely a face lift for the music of today. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE IT!

    I bought this album the first day it hit the shelf. I have the first album, and although I admire her for her talents, the second album is an effort from the first one. If you're an Alicia Keyes fan, you'll try to grasp your fingers on her unique style, with the neo-soul, as she takes us back with some other vibes, she even has some reggae in there, in the song 'Karma', which I really like. 'If I was your woman', 'You don't know my name', and ‘Wake up’ are songs that stay playing on my radio, matter of fact, the whole CD is one of my favorites among others I bought around this time. There are other nice in betweens that are just as lovely as well, and that you will definitely enjoy if you like her style as much as I do!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ALICIA HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!!!!!

    HOW OFTEN DO YOU BUY A CD AND LOVE EVERY SONG ON IT? SONGS IN A MINOR WAS PERFECT FROM BEGINNING TO END AND SO IS THE DIARY! UNIQUE IS THE ONLY WORD THAT CAN BE USED TO DESCRIBE ALICIA'S STYLE. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THIS CD I PROMISE YOU, YOU ARE MISSING A VERY GOOD MENTAL MEAL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A flash back, a step ahead

    As soon as I heard the song, "You Don't Even Know My Name," I knew I had to have this CD. This is one of those CDs that is an instant classic. To be honest, I prefer India.Arie's debut over Alicia Keys when the media was all hoo-ha over [Keys], but she really put her game face on and put out a CD that we'll be marveling at 20 years from now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2