Customer Reviews for

The Different Girl

Average Rating 3
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I thought this was an incredibly deep book that makes one wonder

I thought this was an incredibly deep book that makes one wonder if robots, eventually, can love and feel. It was very deep and addressed a lot of issues about humanity. The narrative was wonderful and I cared deeply for each of the girls and May by the end of it.

posted by 9133870 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ew

What is more pointless than reading a story with no conflict, nothing to resolve, no plot line whatsoever. The story cnsists of walks, talks, and sleeping. Iver and over again you get suspicious that there will be a twist ending, that the girls will discover some horrib...
What is more pointless than reading a story with no conflict, nothing to resolve, no plot line whatsoever. The story cnsists of walks, talks, and sleeping. Iver and over again you get suspicious that there will be a twist ending, that the girls will discover some horrible secret about their 'parents' maybe being evil or SOMETHING but in the end even the implied answers to your questions are sooo lacking.

There was nothing that made this book worth reading. No danger other than a behind the scenes sort of thing, no excitimg or even imterestimg revelations, no poimt really. Plot? There wasnt one.

It is hard to describe how EMPTY this book was. Empty of personality, importance, emotion, answers. I didnt conmect with any of the characters and when inrealized there would be no ansers or plot twists i wanted to burn the dang book for wastimg my time. It isnt worth reading. Really, there is nothing redeeming that would maake it a good book.

You finish the book feeling cheated, because it started out giving you hope if a worthwhile story. But no, this book is empty empty empty. Dont read it.

posted by 8332319 on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Ew

    What is more pointless than reading a story with no conflict, nothing to resolve, no plot line whatsoever. The story cnsists of walks, talks, and sleeping. Iver and over again you get suspicious that there will be a twist ending, that the girls will discover some horrible secret about their 'parents' maybe being evil or SOMETHING but in the end even the implied answers to your questions are sooo lacking.

    There was nothing that made this book worth reading. No danger other than a behind the scenes sort of thing, no excitimg or even imterestimg revelations, no poimt really. Plot? There wasnt one.

    It is hard to describe how EMPTY this book was. Empty of personality, importance, emotion, answers. I didnt conmect with any of the characters and when inrealized there would be no ansers or plot twists i wanted to burn the dang book for wastimg my time. It isnt worth reading. Really, there is nothing redeeming that would maake it a good book.

    You finish the book feeling cheated, because it started out giving you hope if a worthwhile story. But no, this book is empty empty empty. Dont read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I thought this was an incredibly deep book that makes one wonder

    I thought this was an incredibly deep book that makes one wonder if robots, eventually, can love and feel. It was very deep and addressed a lot of issues about humanity. The narrative was wonderful and I cared deeply for each of the girls and May by the end of it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    terrible climax, ending (spoilers below)

    Spoiler Free portion:

    What started off as an interesting book that kept teasing out more details completely sputtered with its tepid at best reveals, a climax the reader never encounters first hand, and an ending that lacks any form of payoff.

    I give this two stars only because the beginning was pretty good.

    Spoilery Review:

    The book starts off pretty good. You're introduced to the four girls who are identical except for their hair color. It doesn't take long to figure out that they're different because they're androids/robots even before you get to the part where Irene, their "mother" for all intents and purposes, puts them to sleep by pushing a button behind their ear. The author slowly teases out details about their life and then throws in a wrench into the mix in the form of a shipwrecked girl named May.

    Things being to get real interesting with May around since she obviously doesn't care to be careful with her words around the girls. Her somewhat intentional vague dialog can be annoying when you want answers, but it also builds the tension for when you get them...

    ..And boy was I let down when I got them. Basically, the author took boring, overly played modern tropes, such as global warming melting the polar ice caps and the "angry people" who "believed" (aka religious people) wanting to kill the scientists and their ai robots because they didn't understand them.

    Then when the "angry people" finally show up on their island, all the actions happens off screen, yet the author felt it worthy spending some time having the main character recall and wonder about the human girl's defecation process.

    And then...it was over. They came out of hiding and started to rebuild their burned down stuff. The end.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    This book was very different. It was a creative idea, but I thin

    This book was very different. It was a creative idea, but I think it needs more detail and more answers to be done well. The characters are like robots, but we are never really told that. There needs to be more explanation than a sleep (power?) button behind their ear. 
    The story itself moved really slowly. I felt like there was not a point to the book. The majority of the book was about about the girls/robots learning how to ask and answer questions. It was all about exploration, but it all confused me and seemed kind of pointless. Along with this, not much happened until the second half of the book. When it did happen, there was no explanation. I still could not tell you who came, why, what all they did, etc. Then it ends with the girls rebuilding things. There was no point to this book. 

    I received this book for review in return for an honest review. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Sooo Empty

    Spoiler Alert:
    the book looks really good at first. There is a plot. May shows up, and it looks like SOMETHING is going to happen. When Caroline dies, the characters don't feel any emotion and just go, oh well, its the circle of life. EVEN though she was one of the main characters. The angry people come, Vernonika hides with May, the angry people leave, they rebuild their stuff. The end. I found this book extremely empty and boring. Its sad, because this could have been a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Awsome tots cool

    Wish it didnt end this way they should make a series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Boo

    So stuped

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Not so great.

    The author should stick to writing plays.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

     this book is lacking of something. so the book wasnt too bad, i

     this book is lacking of something. so the book wasnt too bad, i didnt even give up reading it but it wasnt so exciting until like towards the end of the book. 

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Good preview i would love to buy it

    Good preview i would love to buy it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    My favorite thing about this book is the way information was pre

    My favorite thing about this book is the way information was presented. In many books, background information is doled out in generous helpings throughout the book, and the plot has to stop in order for the reader to be caught up to speed. It's like, "Hold on a second. Let me explain, because there's stuff you need to know in order to understand what's about to happen." Even if the story is good, I hate this. I can tell that I'm being informed, and it feels like a brief foray into nonfiction before the story can pick up again. In The Different Girl, this was not the case. I was left to piece together my knowledge of this world as Veronika narrated; this made me pay attention, and I remained engaged throughout the entire story. 
    My main complaint is the lack of emotion, which I'm sure was intentional, but which didn't give me much reason to feel invested in the characters. This didn't detract from the story very much for me, though, to be honest. I very much enjoyed reading this book. In fact, I'm hoping that there will be a sequel. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1