Customer Reviews for

The Dig

Average Rating 4
( 540 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Excellent new author

This was the second book I read on my new Nook (the first being Under the Dome). What's funny is that I only found out about The Dig because it was the book displayed on the demo Nook at my local B&N. I believe this is the first book from this author, so I was impressed...
This was the second book I read on my new Nook (the first being Under the Dome). What's funny is that I only found out about The Dig because it was the book displayed on the demo Nook at my local B&N. I believe this is the first book from this author, so I was impressed to find I actually enjoyed it more than King's new book (which was still great, by the way). I fancy myself a professional reader, never without a book at any given time, so I'd like to point out a few things I appreciate about this author without giving away too much about the book (I think it's better to read this one without knowing what you're in for). 1. Keen ability to create and portray real characters. I suspect the main characters in this book were modeled after real people, because of the great nuances that make you believe in them. 2. Surprises! Every other chapter had me saying wait, whoah, I wasn't expecting that! And in a good way. That's why I say it's better to go into this one blind. 3. Coming through. There's a lot of build up in this book in the multiple story lines going on, and to be honest I was worried I would be disappointed (because any serial reader has this happen to them all the time), but definitely wasn't. Again, without revealing too much, the author brings everything together and pulls through in the end. Looking forward to the next book, which is hinted at in the epilogue, so I think a series is in the works. -RS

posted by Reading-Pro-Randall on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Interesting story

I liked the main story line of a young man who can touch an object and relive the life of the person the object belonged to. I really found interesting the character of the young man and his complex coping mechanism to keep from touching people. The internal story of t...
I liked the main story line of a young man who can touch an object and relive the life of the person the object belonged to. I really found interesting the character of the young man and his complex coping mechanism to keep from touching people. The internal story of the alien race was paced a little slow for me. Looking forward to the next story and hoping the internal story is tighter/shorter and the main character 'normal' life expanded. The writing was great.

posted by katomb on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    ....

    I didn't really like the book! I like books with more of an edge...I think its a good book for more down readers...

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Awful, Awful, Awful. Do not get fooled by the good reviews, lik

    Awful, Awful, Awful. Do not get fooled by the good reviews, like I did. SPOILER ALERT - Be ready for annoying characters (Like the main character who we should feel pity for because his father took advantage of his powers to manipulate him at an early age to... help solve crimes! How awful. More believable would be to have the father use the kid's powers too... commit crimes!) , and a lame ending. I was skimming the last 1/3 of the book so maybe I missed something, but the origins and ultimate fate of the people in question were never discussed. It was all some bratty kid retelling the journey of some people going from point A to point B, all through someone else's eyes (I'm Irin; My psychic friend foresees the destruction of our village by a comet; I convince people we need to move; I kill anyone who opposes me; I lead people away; My wife is pregnant; We hide from predatory creatures; We travel many days; I fall to my death in the end; That's where the people eventually settle and rebuild the village. Oh, and hey, my people also understand advanced metallurgy - just don't expect to find out how that came to be or what happened to that knowledge after we disappear from history, which itself is never revealed.) Boring! And the final ending itself was just plain foolish. I cannot get back the week of my life I wasted reading this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Was this written by a high school student?

    I cannot believe the reviews that state how well this was written. It is choppy, the dialogues do not flow and it feels like it was written by a tenth grader at best. I noticed most of the five star reviews are by "anonymous". Hmmm.....

    I wish I could get a refund, had to stop three chapters in.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Terre Terrible

    Started to read but couldnt get past the first few pages. The characters are boring, unrealistic, and the writing is terrible. Not worth buying.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Had so much potential!

    This book had a great hook and so much potential. But it fell flat. The author spent way too much time split between two story lines that neither one was really allowed to developed fully. This book either needed to be longer, or the beginning of a series. It has a very interesting concept, but lacks follow through!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Boring story. Bad characters.

    Worst book i have read for some time.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Fake reviews?

    The glowing reviews for this terrible book all sound as if they were written by the same person. I'm guessing the author paid for the reviews, a practice I just read about in the NYTimes.

    Shameful practice.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Horrible!!!

    I love science fiction but not this. It was a struggle to finish it. In truth, if I had known it was a "pub-it:" book, I would not have bothered with it. The synopsis sounds great. The writing and execution don't live up to the synopsis. I wish I could get my money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Boring!

    Even after 100 pages, I couldn't care less about any of these characters and their business...and I'm an archaeologist.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    awful mess

    utter waste of time

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2015

    I'm sorry, this was really disappointing.  Struggled through a t

    I'm sorry, this was really disappointing.  Struggled through a third of the book, waiting for something significant to happen, or to give me a clue what the story was about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Not Michael Critchen. Just bad.

    Such as dissappointment. Struggled to get through this book. I wanted to put it down so many time. Not worth your time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Terrible!

    Almost as bad as "Catcher in the Rye."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Very, very bad

    I like a good suspense story and I love speculative fiction but this was a really terrible book. The protagonist was unlikable in a totally un-compelling way, the world building was weak and unconvincing, and most importantly, there was nothing at stake for any of the characters. Also, the characters were one dimensional and the dialogue was just AWFUL. It was an interesting idea that was flushed out in the worst possible way. Boooooooooooo.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Poor formatting, obnoxious characters, and amateur writing make

    Poor formatting, obnoxious characters, and amateur writing make The Dig a painful experience indeed. What could've been a solid idea can't hold water without writing skill to support it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Awful

    Can't understand why this book has so many great ratings. So bad I couldn't finish it and I am usually a diehard when it comes to finishing a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    not my kind of book

    I didn't care for the book. I quit reading it half way thru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Never finished - does that tell you something

    Read above

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Stupid only one star

    Hate it

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Awful

    Gives independent writers a bad name... waste of time. Sadly, the idea could have been intriguing in a real author's hands or at least with an editor who knew how to guide him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2