Customer Reviews for

The Dinner

Average Rating 3
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully wr

I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think thi...
I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think this is the best book I have read in a long time, much better even than the highly accaimed "Gone Girl" which is currently on the best-seller list.

posted by Fester on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like

This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was...
This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was so much potential too, but everything felt under developed. There were too many "fillers" with the overly done descriptions of Paul's surroundings, to the point where it started to get annoying.  I wouldn't recommend this book, but you don't have to take my word for it.

posted by 2720484 on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    WHAT A STRANGE READ!!

    I haven't had this much trouble finishing a book in a long time. Every time I thought I couldn't take it any more, the author would thow me just enough info to get me to keep reading.

    Yes, the book is very thought-provoking; however, it moves very slowly. I kept wanting to scream "Just Get To The Point!!" The story line begs the question of how far would you go to protect your child. It is a hot topic, but there seemed to be no one in the story with any redeemable qualities. I disliked all of the characters (right down to the awful waiter with the horrible pointing pinky finger). The only person that wanted to do the right thing wanted to do it for all the wrong reasons. I definitely hated the ending, for no one got what they deserved. I also found it very hippocritical that what the main character felt about people and justice was excused for his son. Again, no one had any redeemable qualities in this book.

    As for the issue of mentally ill people? Being mentally ill does not give anyone the right to behave in this way and when they do, the worst harm you could do as a parent is to completely ignore bad behavior.

    So, not the best read ever. It does give you something to think about. However, it did drag quite a bit. I am not sorry I paid for it, or read it; but I don't think I will be looking for anything else by this author. This one kind of left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

    -- SPeeD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    At times the author had my attention only because I kept waiting

    At times the author had my attention only because I kept waiting for something to happen. It dragged out, rambled on and finally at the end of the book... a waste of time and waste of money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    An average read

    It is an interesting concept to have the story focused around one evening's dinner. The story line wasn't what I had expected, but ok.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Tough Read

    I bought this book after reading the premise, solve a mystery while sitting down for one 4 course dinner in a prestigious restaurant. Sounded like an interesting twist on a mystery. I was disappointed in the overall execution. The underlying story is good, but I felt the round about way the author got there was tedious. Paul Lohman is the character that narrates the story, he is a man who hates everything and at times I wanted to say 'quit whining and get on with it'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Waste

    Dull. Such potential.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Nice

    Nice

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2015

    This book is a relatively quick read, and actually delivers on t

    This book is a relatively quick read, and actually delivers on the promise (on the back cover) of an escalating conflict and dramatic climax. The author does an outstanding job of pacing the slow reveal of the underlying natures of his protagonists, and the reader's growing familiarity with their personalities and motivations greatly enriches the evolution of the story. No one is going to hold any of these folks up as models of laudable behavior, but then that's what makes them interesting, isn't it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2015

    I was impressed with the way the author set up the reader to fee

    I was impressed with the way the author set up the reader to feel one way at the beginning of the book, then after providing more information about the real subject of the dinner as it went on, had the reader finish the book with completely different opinions about the characters. Very well done - as well as very disturbing. The book is easy to read, and goes quickly, but in some ways it's like a car wreck - you want to stop because you know something's horrible, but you just can't turn away.

    My only negative is that the society in Holland appears to be a bit different than that in the US, which makes some of Paul's remarks a little hard to understand - but that's not really a negative about the book itself but rather a result of our different cultures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2015

    This is a good little thriller. Paul Lohman is character that at

    This is a good little thriller. Paul Lohman is character that at first seems normal enough but gets delightfully creepy as the story unfolds. A fantastic character unraveling. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    I read this book but only finished it because, when I have the t

    I read this book but only finished it because, when I have the time I try to finish no matter how bad it is ... and this was bad ...

    i kept hoping, searching for something that would redeem the characters - any of them but in the end it didn't happen ... the whole premise of this "dinner" was fairly idiotic and unimaginable .. add on top of that the despicable personalities of the characters - and not in a good, interesting way, just made this book a HUGE disappointment and waste of time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Hard to follow and slow

    This book was a bit slow throughout and was hard to follow at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Confusing muddle of angst

    A meal like this would give anyone indigestion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Interesting human study

    A studied loom at human behavior

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    What started out as a cranky sibling's inner dialogue during a m

    What started out as a cranky sibling's inner dialogue during a meal with his wife, brother, and sister-in-law eventually devolves into a tirade by an unreliable narrator.  I was very surprised by the plot twist and continue thinking about the story long after I finished reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Save your time and money

    I gave this book 1 star because it wouldn't let me post the review with 0.

    Let me start by saying that this book is no "Gone Girl". I have no idea why this book is even compared to it. Gone Girl is captivating and compelling right from the start. The (GG) story had my attention right from page 1. This book takes you about 100 pages to even start to get into it and by the time you reach that point you don't give a poop.

    I don't know if this book would have earned more stars if I finished it but, I didn't. It may have picked up towards the end, but to be honest, I couldn't finish it and I just didn't care. There is entirely too much descriptive writing and not enough on actually developing the story. Who cares to read 3 pages worth of a description of an appetizer? Especially since it serves no purpose in plot development?

    My recommendation is to pass over this book and go on to read the next one on your list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    I loved this book. I have recommended it to most of my reader fr

    I loved this book. I have recommended it to most of my reader friends. When they ask, 'What's it about?'' I reply that to say anything further would be to diminish their experience. It's quite unlike any other book I have read. In a way, I understand one of the previous ratings that "This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down". I would say " This book made such an impact on me that I sometimes had to put it down, but I couldn't wait to get back to it." I was a little disappointed at the ending, but to be honest, maybe that's because I was just sorry the book had ended. I see by the distribution of ratings that not everyone agrees with me, but as one voice, I say "5-stars, It's Exceptional".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    Best Book I've Read in a Long Time-- What starts out as an innoc

    Best Book I've Read in a Long Time--
    What starts out as an innocent enough dinner get together at a high-class restaurant between two brothers and their wives, suspensefully descends into a sort of,madness where a seemingly normal man and his family are slowly revealed to  have many layers of horror and deceit. I couldn't put this book down, and will look for more from this author. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    I did not enjoy this book at all.  I'm all for dark and edgy, bu

    I did not enjoy this book at all.  I'm all for dark and edgy, but this book left me irritated.  The only reason i kept reading was in hopes that at some point, there would be an "a-ha" moment, but for me, it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Never read anything like it!  Intelligent narrator and dialogue

    Never read anything like it!  Intelligent narrator and dialogue hold one's total attention even tho' the plot becomes gruesome despite the overlay of family  propriety, upper class restaurant setting. A disturbingly enticing novel examining of our idea of family bonds in today's world of smart phone technology 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Sometimes you hate the main character of a book but you

    Sometimes you hate the main character of a book but you LOVE to hate them
    Not the case here These people Paul and Claire are just not worth it they are pathetic
    Do not waste your time with either of them or their pathetic son Terrible boring read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12