Customer Reviews for

The Dinner

Average Rating 3
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully wr

I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think thi...
I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think this is the best book I have read in a long time, much better even than the highly accaimed "Gone Girl" which is currently on the best-seller list.

posted by Fester on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like

This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was...
This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was so much potential too, but everything felt under developed. There were too many "fillers" with the overly done descriptions of Paul's surroundings, to the point where it started to get annoying.  I wouldn't recommend this book, but you don't have to take my word for it.

posted by 2720484 on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like

    This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was so much potential too, but everything felt under developed. There were too many "fillers" with the overly done descriptions of Paul's surroundings, to the point where it started to get annoying.  I wouldn't recommend this book, but you don't have to take my word for it.

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully wr

    I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think this is the best book I have read in a long time, much better even than the highly accaimed "Gone Girl" which is currently on the best-seller list.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    This had to be one of the most boring books I have read in a lon

    This had to be one of the most boring books I have read in a long time. There wasn't one character that endeared themselves to me, all of them IMHO were boorish, self serving, dull and egotistical. The only one who almost redeemed himself was Serg but in the end was no better than the rest.
    I could have put up with the characters if the writing had not been dull as well. If I had purchased the book instead of the nook version, I would have returned it to Barnes & Noble after the 1st couple of chapters.
    I don't remember ever having given any book I read less than 3 stars but if I available I would have given this one a negative !

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Scary  internal view of parenting.......

    Scary  internal view of parenting.......

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    The characters appear normal and end up, without giving away th

    The characters appear normal and end up, without giving away the ending, totally bizarre and dysfunctional.
    The narrator/father Paul initially appears as a common, well-adjusted middle class parent. would love to ask the author if he intentionally presented Paur as unfeeling, cruel, cold, violent facist who feels some persons do not deserve to live because they are weak, poor, a burden to society. Paul himself is diagnosed as mentally ill. Was he commenting on contemporary society?
    There is just a lot going on including family ties, genetics, societial values. I didn't see it as just a book about families and protecting children.
    I read this book in several days and didn't want to put it down.
    A very enjoyable, edgy book. The dinner setting for most of the book was interesting.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    One of best books for 2013, this one is a number 1 in the catego

    One of best books for 2013, this one is a number 1 in the category
    "You can run, but you can't hide".
    Think of it as 'Fight Club' but then in an Amsterdam restaurant. To be read on a nice & quiet beach.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    I had a blast reading this book. It gave an insight to a life style and raised questions to serious isses. What would you have done?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Best book I have read this year

    I don't want to give too much away. But, if you liked We Need To Talk About Kevin, then you will enjoy this emotionally stirring read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Don't be fooled by the synopsis!

    I wish i never bought this e-book! I kept reading, hoping it would get better. It never did! Aming othet things the author would start describing somethhing, then say "I won't tell you this or that". If you don't wajt to tell us details, don't write a book! Annoying to say the least!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Unimpressed

    It was so-so. Doesn't live up to the hype though. And not sure why people would even mention "the Dinner" and "Gone Girl" in the same sentence. No comparison, as the latter is a dark masterpiece.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Had difficulty putting this book down as I wanted to know the ou

    Had difficulty putting this book down as I wanted to know the outcome.  I imagine there are more parents than we know dealing with the less than pleasant behavior of the child which  has then been shared with the world on social media.  
    This book gives one view of how a child's inappropriate behavior can have a impact on an entire family.  Certainly there are some lessons to be learned in this day of modern technology aw well as demonstrating how
    a child's behavior and moral compass can be a reflection of that which is seen in the parent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Wow. Wooooow. This book is ridiuclously well-written. Intense

    Wow. Wooooow. This book is ridiuclously well-written. Intense, rich, suspense spun continually throughout..I couldn't put it down. The content will make you shake your head a few times, and reconsider leaving the house. The beauty is in (Spolier Alert) the duality of a couple that seems so normal...at first. Wowza. Paul's brutal self-awareness and keen observation is really the key to the story. Just a scathing story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    would not recommend

    I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I cannot believe this book ever received any positive reviews. I

    I cannot believe this book ever received any positive reviews. I had such high hopes, but it was actually painful to read. I absolutely hated this book. And I only got to pg. 54. Nothing nothing nothing happened in those 54 pages. The summary of The Dinner sounds like it will be a thrilling page turner. Don't be fooled. The 53 pages I read were torture.
    If your looking for a good read, check out my reading blog Black Bifocals

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    For the intelligent reader who appreciates subtleties.... A grea

    For the intelligent reader who appreciates subtleties....
    A great psychological thriller, wonderful writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Conjectures - Hilarious

    The premise is enticing. How far would you go to save your child? I found the beginning quite amusing. Paul's conjectures about the people he sees are hilarious. His observations of the restaurant manager and that darn pinky made me laugh a lot. I liked his detailed descriptions of the food, felt like you were there in the restaurant with him. As the story progresses, it gets dark and serious. Suspenseful as you dont know whats going to happen! I enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Fabuless

    This book semes populer

    2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    This book is so ordinary and then so upsetting at the same time.

    This book is so ordinary and then so upsetting at the same time. magnificent writing. i'm physically sick after reading it, but that is a good thing! very powerful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    This is a great story about a family facing a life changing prob

    This is a great story about a family facing a life changing problem. Two brothers and their wives meet for dinner to discuss the problem and how they will handle it. During the evening we get a look at the back story. The sibling riverly and the other issues that have come up with the families in the past. I have to admit for me it was a little slow and I really had to be in the mood to get into it, but it was well worth it!! Parts of the explanaition at the time seemed to drag on and was meaningless, but in the end it was all needed to fully understand the decision the adults make and the actions of their children. "Secrets didn't get in the way of happiness." This one line from the book really made me think. Can secrets get in the way of happiness in a family?  SBMorales

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I thought the framing/structure was sophisticated and novel, and

    I thought the framing/structure was sophisticated and novel, and the characterization believable, and the prose well-written. However, I didn't find it that suspenseful (do not be fooled by reviews referring to this as the "European Gone Girl"... it was similar to Defending Jacob in theme and plot (although Defending Jacob was better). I did not really like the book... this must be a new literary trend of using a completely unreliable narrator and making all the characters un-likable, as most books we have read lately in my book club reflect that practice! I loved Gone Girl by the way, which when I read a review of The Dinner saying it was similar to that, was what made me want to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11