Customer Reviews for

The Dinner

Average Rating 3
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully wr

I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think thi...
I found this book to be a compelling page-turner, beautifully written. I found it interesting that nearly all of the characters were horrible, self-serving, and unlikable - most stories feature a "good guy" or hero to serve as foil to the villan. I think this is the best book I have read in a long time, much better even than the highly accaimed "Gone Girl" which is currently on the best-seller list.

posted by Fester on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like

This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was...
This book was horrible, but I couldn't put it down. I felt like I was waiting for more to happen, but the writer "hid" everything that would have made this book more interesting. In the end, I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time. There was so much potential too, but everything felt under developed. There were too many "fillers" with the overly done descriptions of Paul's surroundings, to the point where it started to get annoying.  I wouldn't recommend this book, but you don't have to take my word for it.

posted by 2720484 on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    One of best books for 2013, this one is a number 1 in the catego

    One of best books for 2013, this one is a number 1 in the category
    "You can run, but you can't hide".
    Think of it as 'Fight Club' but then in an Amsterdam restaurant. To be read on a nice & quiet beach.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    I had a blast reading this book. It gave an insight to a life style and raised questions to serious isses. What would you have done?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Best book I have read this year

    I don't want to give too much away. But, if you liked We Need To Talk About Kevin, then you will enjoy this emotionally stirring read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Had difficulty putting this book down as I wanted to know the ou

    Had difficulty putting this book down as I wanted to know the outcome.  I imagine there are more parents than we know dealing with the less than pleasant behavior of the child which  has then been shared with the world on social media.  
    This book gives one view of how a child's inappropriate behavior can have a impact on an entire family.  Certainly there are some lessons to be learned in this day of modern technology aw well as demonstrating how
    a child's behavior and moral compass can be a reflection of that which is seen in the parent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    This book is so ordinary and then so upsetting at the same time.

    This book is so ordinary and then so upsetting at the same time. magnificent writing. i'm physically sick after reading it, but that is a good thing! very powerful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Nice

    Nice

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    America

    "Then let us go." Walks out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Anonymous

    Thought the book very provokimg. A commentary on how we are losing our humaness in this age of technology where we are reduced to blips of text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Interesting Discussion at Book Club

    This book is one that is difficult to read and at the same time you do't want to put it down until you've finished reading it. We an energetic and at times controversial discussions at our book club. I highly recommend it for to book club members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    I gave this book 4 stars because it was very will written which

    I gave this book 4 stars because it was very will written which kept me interested enough to finish it. The story is told through one person's perspective and there is not much dialogue between the characters. Normally, I don't like books that are mostly filled with one character's thoughts and feelings but the writing made this book the exception rather than the rule. The characters are not very likable because of the ends they are willing to go to in order to protect their children. In light of some very recent news stories regarding affluent parents protecting their kids from the consequences of their actions, the storyline of this book is very believable. Some readers may be disappointed that they got away with it but that happens in real life too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Unexpected

    From what I had read of this book, I was expecting something akin to The God of Carnage, but found something altogether different. A well written account that explores the dark side of Tolstoy's "happy family". I read in fascination as the dark side of the protagonist was slowly revealed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    higly reommend

    Fast and intense read - great for discussion w other people who have read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Two brothers and their wives meet at a fancy restaurant. What ap

    Two brothers and their wives meet at a fancy restaurant. What appears to be a friendly dinner amongst relatives is really a life-threatening meeting to discuss fate. The Dinner is a gripping tale that unfolds in the viewpoint of one narrator, the father of a fifteen-year-old boy who was involved in a horrific act that has triggered a police investigation, jeopardized a political campaign, and shattered trust within a family.

    Think about your first visit to a fancy restaurant. You dress up nice. Show up early to your reservation. The ambiance is set. You browse the menu (that you secretly looked up online earlier). You place your order.

    "The crayfish dressed in a vinaigrette of tarragon and baby green onions." pg. 37

    "The lamb's neck sweetbread marinated in Sardinian olive oil." ~ pg. 42

    "Warm goat's cheese with pine nuts and walnut shavings." ~ pg. 42

    Fast forward to when your food arrives at the table. It is presented in a grand way. You look down at the garnished plate...and see more white space than food. At best, there are four bites. But you smile and eat it slowly. Savoring each small mouthful. Dessert is the same. You leave the fancy schmancy restaurant with a lighter wallet but still hungry. So you stop at a fast food joint on the way home. -__-

    This is how I feel about The Dinner. The story moves along like the courses of a well-prepared meal: Aperitif, Appetizer, Main Course, Dessert, Digestif. But it was like the fancy restaurant experience that I described above. All hype, then a let down. Sure, the book was a page-turner but only because I kept reading hoping to reach the good part. Hoping the long-winded narrator would get on the with story already! Hoping I will understand why The Wall Street Journal called it the "European Gone Girl." Waiting for the dark suspense to lead somewhere. Anxious to see where the clues led. I read the last word in the book and thought, "That's it? Oh."

    But maybe that was the author's intent. Maybe Koch's goal was for readers to ask themselves what would they do in this situation. How far would you go to save your child? It certainly left me with a final thought—the characters' actions were justified in their individual plans to protect family at any, and all, costs. So in this regard, The Dinner will spark a discussion for book clubs, reading groups, and of course dinner parties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Very interesting story

    I definitely did not expect this story to end the way it did, but I really enjoyed it! Lots of unexpected twists with an interesting and surprising end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    The Dinner

    Interesting novel. A bit disturbing. A good selection for serious book clubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is not a European "Gone Girl;" it's better. I hop

    This is not a European "Gone Girl;" it's better. I hoped the gone girl would stay gone but the diners of this book are as challenging as the dinner, tasty you might say.  The dining experience with supercilious waitstaff and overblown menu underscore, punctuate and move the sad, tragic story along. Just shows that some food and some people, no matter what you call them, are bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Ma A modern Ma Barker and her brood

    Strange, compelling story of modern sociopaths

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Good read I enjoyed the book even though it left many questions

    Good read
    I enjoyed the book even though it left many questions unanswered. Most of the characters are quite despicable but fascinating. Any book that fuels discussion is a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    This is an interesting character study of family members whose c

    This is an interesting character study of family members whose children have presented quite a moral and ethical dilemma. The action of the story, taking place over the course of a dinner, nonetheless covers decades of family interaction which provide clues to what we are dealing with. It uses accessible language for us to put ourselves in the place of the characters while we ponder what we would do in the same circumstances. This book is easily read wihin a day, but will have you thinking far longing than that. I recommend the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommended Read

    First, this is a book that illustrates the social differences between the U.S. and some of the European countries. Thought provoking. I typically like a faster read where you get to the heart of the book within a chapter or two but even though this one takes a few chapters, I felt once you got to the meat of the story, it was truly a great story. As a mother, I could not help but put myself into the shoes of these characters and question what I would do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3