Customer Reviews for

The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band

Average Rating 4.5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    AMAZING

    this book is THE best book i have ever read. i would have never guessed that it would be that extreme being in a band. they leave no details out which sometimes leaves you a little shocked, but in a good way. you are filled in about their childhood, before they were famous, drug addictions, sex with groupies, and all the other things they went through. it's crazy how much stuff they did. i would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys rock n roll. even if you're not a big crue fan, you'll love this book. you'll be missing out if you pass this book up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    This Is THE BIBLE for any fan of rock!

    This book dives into the mind of one of the most self destructing band of this age: Motley Crue. This book tells it all, from playing hole in the wall clubs for drug and booze money to selling out some of the biggest venues in thwe world. It shows the high times and the low times of their life. This is a book that many, even non-motley fans, will enjoy. I've read it 4 or 5 times and its still interesting! Its a blast to read and its one of those books where you can open up to any page and find a good story. This is DEFINATELY a must read! If i could give it more starts, i would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    Dirt not that dirty

    This was a good book for anyone who has an interest in Motley Crue. However, I feel this book strays from biography to fiction from time to time. Every event and situation is embellished so much that it numbs the senses and makes most situations that happen later in the book very hard to believe. Overall, it is worth the time if you are into sex, drugs, rock n roll, and a little b.s.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Great book about a great band

    Hands down the best book ive ever read. Tommy,Mick,Vince and Sixx you guys are my heros. be shure to cast knoxville in the movie as nikki cause hes the only person crasy enough. cant wait for the dirt 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    The BEST book I've ever read

    I could not put it down from the minute I got it I was hooked. This book is the most amazing book ever! I continue to read it over and over, it's that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    The Dirt Rox!!

    I absolutely loved this book! I'm 37 yrs. old and have been a Motley fan since they surfaced in the 80's. This book provided me with all the dirt I wanted to know about and then some. My mom is now reading it!! Thanx Vince, Tommy, Mick and Nikki for leading such interesting lives . Rock On!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Stayed up all night reading it and the next morning I cut my hair Nikki Sixx style !

    I thought I've read it all - bios of Led Zeppelin, Ozzy, the Rolling Stones and Metallica, but I've never read anything like this story told my the four members of Motley Crue. I picked it up in a bookshop, opened it randomly and ended up reading 5 chapters right there, in the shop. There was nowhere to sit down, so I sat on the floor and I couldn't close it. After paying, I walked down the street to the underground station reading it. I stayed up all night reading it, woke up next morning and cut my hair Nikki Sixx style. I've never been a fan of the band and even slightly despised them, but this book provided me with every emotion I was capable of - laughter, anger, sorrow... It brought me so close to them as if I were their sister. It's an amazing, incredible account not only of a rock'n'roll life style but of human psyche in general. It's the best book I've read in years after C.G. Jung's 'Essays on Analytical Psychology'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    most funniest true story ever

    This was the most funniest book I've ever read. This book is very hard to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    Kick Ass Page Turner

    This book is terrific. You just have to read it. Page after page of inside scoop on each member of the band and how where they came from and how they formed the band. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    I laughed, I cried, it became a part of me

    I can't say much more than that. Love the book, love the music, love the band. Motley Crue was already destined to live forever in their music, now, forever in ink. Rock Forever Motley Crue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    THE CRUE RULE!

    I am a child of the 80's that could not put this book down until I was done with it! I will probably read it over and over and hope they make a movie out of this book! I never knew Nikki Sixx was as much into drugs as it says in here. Mostly at the time of there 80's tours all the magazines had was about the glam thing, but this book is down and dirty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Most Honest Look Into the Life of A Great Band

    I have read this book so many times, my family keeps asking what is wrong with me. I love it. The book is a rock n' roll classic, just like all their albums. They truly are one of the best hard rock/metal bands to ever walk the face of the earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    Christ, I'm only 14 and i still think this book (and band) kicks ***!

    WOW!!! I've never seen as good of a book as The Dirt. It is like my bible. I got all sad and stuff towards the end because Mick Mars is all sick and stuff, but i laughed my *** off most of the time (and stuff). Overall, this is a great book, and i can't wait to find out if 'The Dirt, Part II: Oh no, not again!' is really coming out soon or if the guys were just BS-ing everyone. If you want an idea of what the book is like in one sentence, here is the last line in the acknowledgements: 'As for anyone else we may have forgotten, f*** you.' Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2002

    This band will be around forever

    I have read this book at least 7 times. I can't stop reading it. They are my favorite band, and they always will be. I have a feeling this band will be around forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2002

    I couldn't stop laughing!

    This was one of the funniest books that I ever read. Even funnier than Howard Stern's Private Parts. A friend of mine got me this for Christmas and it's one of the best gifts that I have ever received. Every page was scream out loud hysterical. I really appreciated this because I do most of my reading at work where I am bored out of my mind and reading this book was one the best times that I ever had and gave me some much needed laughs. Motley Crue was one of my favorite bands in the 80's and reading this book was like taking a trip down memory lane. The very fist paragraph sets the tone for the book and it was hysterical. It gets less humorous but still intersting when Vince left the band in the early 90's and there is a lot of hate and mud-slinging going on. If you love hard rock and need a good laugh, pick up this book, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Disappointing biography from a disappointing band

    I was very disappointed in this book. I originally purchased it as a gift for a huge Motley fan, but after glancing through it I decided to return it. I was most disappointed by it's sexually explicit content- I expected to learn more about the band's musical journey. What I got was mainly specific details concerning the band's callous and very disturbing abuse of women. It was not entertaining nor very informative. I would give this book an unenthusiastic two thumbs down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    Worth every cent!

    I usually don't buy hardcovers and pay the big price, but this book is so good it is worth every penny. I just had to have it and could not wait for the paperback version. This is a must have for anyone who is a rock n roller or loves trashy, honest,books. This would make a great x-mas present for that hard to buy for hard rock lover! Get it NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    BEST BOKK I EVER READ!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS SOOO GOOD!! IT HAS EVERY SINGLE DETAIL OF THEIR LIVES.THEIR PROBLEMS,WHAT THERE THINKING AND WHAT THEY DID BEHIND THE SCENES.I LOVED IT!!!! I WISH THE BOOK WAS ALOT MORE LONGER SO I CAN READ FOREVER I LOVED THE BOOK SO MUCH.ALSO MUCH INTRIGUED BY IT THAT IT JUST TOOK ME A WEEK! TO READ IT AND IM ONLY 14 MOST PEAPLE MY AGE AS YOU MAY THINK DONT READ LIKE THAT WELL IT.I WISH THERE IS MORE BOOKS LIKE THAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Nuts!

    It was really...nuts! These guys are lunatics and I have never been more entertained!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2002

    READ THE DIRT!!!!

    This an amazing book!! An absolute must read - LONG LIVE THE BAD BOYS OF ROCK N' ROLL!! LONG LIVE MOTLEY CRUE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3