Customer Reviews for

The Divinity of Dogs: True Stories of Miracles Inspired by Man's Best Friend

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Anyone who has ever had his heart warmed by a wet nose will fall

    Anyone who has ever had his heart warmed by a wet nose will fall in love with this book from page one. In The Divinity of Dogs, author Jennifer Skiff artfully arranges an assortment of tales like so many mosaic tiles to create an affecting portrait of the mysterious bond that exists between dogs and their humans. Some of the stories are sweet and touching; others are emotional and wrenching--but all are brimming with heart. Pieces of the author’s own tender tales are woven throughout the book, lending both cohesion and an additional note of authenticity to the work. Like the relationships it celebrates, this book, too, seems possessed of a magical power to inspire and transform. Grab a copy—and a box of tissues—today and enjoy!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Read this wonderful book!

    "The Divinity of Dogs" is an inspirational collection of stories of unconditional love and loyalty between people and their dogs. I recommend keeping tissues near while reading! The message is clear that the world is a better place because of these divine creatures!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    This is an amazing book that I could not put down. It warmed m

    This is an amazing book that I could not put down. It warmed my heart, lifted my spirit, and made my eyes fill with tears time after time. I wanted it to never end. By the final page, my lifetime love and admiration for dogs had grown so much stronger, and I have nothing but the highest praise for the genius of an author who bound these tales together into such a wonderful package. I implore anyone who loves dogs to read this - you will find it an incredibly rewarding experience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    This is a wonderful and heart warming book! Anyone who loves dog

    This is a wonderful and heart warming book! Anyone who loves dogs will enjoy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    This amazing book is packed with absolutely fantastic stories ab

    This amazing book is packed with absolutely fantastic stories about man's best friend. I am so impressed
    that I am leaving 50% of my estate to two local shelters that go the extra mile to find pets a good home.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    The Divinity of Dogs reminds us of many things ~ That miracles h

    The Divinity of Dogs reminds us of many things ~ That miracles happen every day and that DOG is GOD spelled backwards .. for a reason .. This is a fabulous gift, for others or yourself. The perfect reminder that our dogs are here for many reasons and not per chance. Do NOT miss this beautiful book and share it far and wide for the world will be a better place for each person who is touched by these stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    A big fat bowl of chicken soup for the soul. A ton of inspiratio

    A big fat bowl of chicken soup for the soul. A ton of inspirational, heartwarming and true stories to make you smile, laugh, and cry. A must read if you are a dog lover, dog owner or simply looking for something to read beyond the scope of human relationships. Each short story had me anticipating what the next one would bring. Curl up with your dog a blanket and a box of tissues as this book will surely fill your soul with awe and leave you begging for more. Get the music CD to go with it, your dog will love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    The Divinity Of Dogs is a phenomenal book! I found reading this

    The Divinity Of Dogs is a phenomenal book! I found reading this book to be a journey and also inspiring. Reading the experiences of peoples lives, what dogs are capable of and what can happen when the two are brought together was amazing. I also learned from this book. I just can't say enough about this book and I too wonder if there will be a sequel. I hated to put this book down and was sad to see it come to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    The Divinity of Dogs is absolutely amazing. If you love dogs, yo

    The Divinity of Dogs is absolutely amazing. If you love dogs, you will love this book! And if you aren't already a dog lover, you very well may be after reading it! This book is heartwarming, heartbraking, and inspiring, all in one. I cannot remember ever reading another book that made me both laugh and cry as much as this one. Don't forget the tissues, you will need them! And you may just want to run out and rescue a few more dogs yourself after by the time you finish. I know I do!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    I'm 80 years old and I can't tell you the last time I read a boo

    I'm 80 years old and I can't tell you the last time I read a book. BUT my daughter gave me Jennifer's book, The Divinity of Dogs, and I read it from cover to cover in two days. I absolutely loved it! The stories were short and interesting. I was reminded again and again of the different dogs I have had throughout my life. Some of them I had completely forgotten about until reading this wonderful book. Don't know if I'll read any more books, but if I do, I don't think they could possibly be as good a read as The Divinity of Dogs! Is it too soon to hope for The Divinity of Dogs - Part II???

    Sincerely
    Thomas G. Baldwin
    Owatonna, Minnesota USA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Reading this book was like eating a hot fudge sundae. It was a

    Reading this book was like eating a hot fudge sundae. It was a wonderful journey that left me feeling good at the end. Fantastic read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Finding out in Jan. of 2011 that our story would be included in

    Finding out in Jan. of 2011 that our story would be included in "The Divinity of Dogs" was truly an honor. Bandit and Jack's story is just one of over 70, and each and every one tugs at your heart, reminds us of a memory, and brings an awareness to the amazing feats and inate ability that dogs have to intertwine their lives with humans. Jennifer's own story of her life and her personal experiences with her dogs lends the link that brings it all together. Each short story could be made into its own book, making it almost impossible to write them all in a lifetime. Instead, the co

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    Tender, moving, amazing! Jennifer Skiff captures the voice of o

    Tender, moving, amazing! Jennifer Skiff captures the voice of our divine canines and tells their stories. You will never look at any dog again without knowing he/she has a purpose for us unsuspecting humans! Fabulous gift and keepsake. Love it, love it, love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    This is a must read book for dog lovers everywhere!

    This is a must read book for dog lovers everywhere!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    This book is amazing and pulls on so many emotions! This is abs

    This book is amazing and pulls on so many emotions! This is absolutely perfect for any dog lover! I hope there is a sequel to this book since I love how the author weaved the stories into a wonderful book like this. Can't say enough good things about this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1