Customer Reviews for

The Divorce Papers

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I started with four stars but I am finding that I got five stars

I started with four stars but I am finding that I got five stars worth of enjoyment out of this book. I really did. I was put off at first by the style. I wasn't that interested in reading actual divorce papers and proceedings. But then the voyeur in me got the best...
I started with four stars but I am finding that I got five stars worth of enjoyment out of this book. I really did. I was put off at first by the style. I wasn't that interested in reading actual divorce papers and proceedings. But then the voyeur in me got the best of me. In the end, I couldn't put it down. Somehow in all those memos and e-mails and proceedings you see glimpses of the heartbreaking details of what brings people together and what tears them apart. It was interesting and entertaining and I enjoyed every minute of it. I loved Sophie, the lawyer, with her inability to edit herself and her complicated family. Who can make a lawyer lovable? Well, it worked here. Also, I will use that sending flowers thing this very week. And I never would have considered it without this book. (That's when I decided it's five stars instead of four. I used her idea in my own way. It has to be five stars.)

posted by L875 on March 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Waste of money!

Horrible read and so much material that had to be skipped over becuase of no relevance to the story. This book cost 12.99, I feel like I should have been the one paid to read this sorry book.

posted by 3993437 on March 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Waste of money!

    Horrible read and so much material that had to be skipped over becuase of no relevance to the story. This book cost 12.99, I feel like I should have been the one paid to read this sorry book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Awful!

    Awful.....could of been good if it didnt consist of only emails etc....wheres the story?

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Awful

    If you like reading someone elses email you might like it but I found it boring

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    I started with four stars but I am finding that I got five stars

    I started with four stars but I am finding that I got five stars worth of enjoyment out of this book. I really did. I was put off at first by the style. I wasn't that interested in reading actual divorce papers and proceedings. But then the voyeur in me got the best of me. In the end, I couldn't put it down. Somehow in all those memos and e-mails and proceedings you see glimpses of the heartbreaking details of what brings people together and what tears them apart. It was interesting and entertaining and I enjoyed every minute of it. I loved Sophie, the lawyer, with her inability to edit herself and her complicated family. Who can make a lawyer lovable? Well, it worked here. Also, I will use that sending flowers thing this very week. And I never would have considered it without this book. (That's when I decided it's five stars instead of four. I used her idea in my own way. It has to be five stars.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Delicious!  I am so sad I finished last night.  Please say there

    Delicious!  I am so sad I finished last night.  Please say there will be a sequel, a series or just anything.  I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Love

    Great easy read. Would make a great beach read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I can't believe anyone thought this book was worthy of publicati

    I can't believe anyone thought this book was worthy of publication. the premise was completely implausible and too much irrelevant material made this a boring, worthless read. Save your money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Tries a little too hard

    An entertaining, easy read that tries a little too hard to be what it's not. Highly recommended for beach or vacation reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Uh, no.

    I will not be reading this. Publishers really have to be careful with their descriptions. A wealthy powerful woman about to go through a nasty divorce / custody battle hiring a baby attorney who has never handled a divorce case before??! Not plausable. You've lost my interest.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Amazing

    Very funny and charming.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Awefule

    Tthe book itself is only one page so it really sucks

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Kaykaydwight@gmail.com

    Add me im 15

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Liam

    Here?

    1 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Excellent

    Absolutley fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Great book, totally different style

    Wasnt sure if I'd like the style but I did. Great characters. Learned a lot about attorneys and divorces. Some things I did not want to know... oh well. I look forward to the author's next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    While I think the idea of this book is fun and relatively unique

    While I think the idea of this book is fun and relatively unique, there are some problems. Namely Sophie. Sophie is a totally unlikeable, whinny woman that I would not want to be my friend, let alone my lawyer. She sends completely inappropriate emails and memos of a personal nature (spilling her guts about her parents' divorce more than a decade before) to her boss -- emails that are rather flirtatious, especially when you learn that she has a crush on DG (as she calls him). What's worse is that her boss doesn't seem to want to stop her from sending these emails. At one point, he tells her that a memo she wrote is unprofessional, but his criticism is related to not its contents but its structure -- she rambles, he says, and that is true for the bulk of Sophie's correspondence. It rambles and doesn't seem to have a point -- and when she finally gets there, you're exhausted from waiting for her to wrap it up already.

    Which leads me to my next criticism. I could not stand reading the emails between Sophie and her life-long friend Maggie. Although Maggie was the only one who told Sophie to grow up and grow a pair, I just could not read those emails without my eyes drifting. Granted, this is a novel set in 1999, where email was a novelty and not many people had cell phones, and texting definitely wasn't a form of communication. But oh my gosh. NO ONE WRITES EMAILS LIKE THAT. My biggest problem with the length of the emails -- and many other documents in this book, court documents withstanding -- is that they were trying too hard to be literary. They weren't written in everyday nomenclature. If I am going to read an epistolary novel, I expect it to be realistic, not full of prose that is being forced through a "literary" sieve.

    This is a book that tries to rely too much on popular culture, with references to books, movies, and theatre that the majority of readers aren't going to get. I am a smart, well-read, educated woman and I have to say, reading these references and trying to figure out them when I didn't know was distracting very irritating. Sometimes inserting these references, even if the audience doesn't get them, can work. I give you Gilmore Girls as an outstanding example of this. However, in the case of Gilmore Girls, you have two women just being themselves, their likeable selves. In The Divorce Papers, all we have is Sophie making repeated references to her French mother, her English father, her bad boyfriends, with all of these book and movie references that aim at making Sophie appear cultured but fail terribly in hitting their mark.

    One thing that I found super irritating, and I don't know why, is that it appears that this novel takes place in the made up state of Narragansett. Narragansett is a real city in Rhode Island, but here it's its own state. I take it back, I think I know why it bothers me so much. The author went through law school and has taught law at two different colleges. Would it have been so difficult to do research into actual divorce laws of an actual state? I feel like making up a state and its own divorce laws is both a) a lot more work than researching real divorce laws in real states and b) lazy writing because she was too lazy to do (a). Other states are mentioned frequently: New York. New Jersey. Massachusetts. Why not use one of those?

    My overall impression? I am channeling my inner Sophie when I say that this is a novel that tries way, way too hard to be avant-garde and fails miserably.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Terrible

    Don't waste your time or your money. Boring. No plot. No purpose. There's nothing flawed in the writing style, but nothing enlightening about it. There was some character development, but not enough to justify this book's existence. If you want to follow the proceedings of a divorce, go look up divorce records in your local court. The only reason I finished the book was that I figured the whole drab beginning must be leading up to something interesting, maybe some clever twist, but no, it just ended. Total disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Very clever. Good read. Different. 

    Very clever. Good read. Different. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Don't buy if you're a lawyer

    If you are a lawyer or work in the legal field, don't waste your money on this one. You will find it so absurd and unrealistic you will not be able to enjoy it. Lawyers would never waste their time writing the long, elaborate memos and e-mails that are the entire premise of this book. Also, you will not find the numerous pleadings and laws intriguing-you will just be thinking, get to the plot already. Wish I could have a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sophie Diehl is a 29-year-old criminal law attorney that is used

    Sophie Diehl is a 29-year-old criminal law attorney that is used to clients behind bars. With all the big partners out of town, Sophie is assigned to handle the intake interview for divorcee Mia Meiklejohn Durkheim, Mayflower descendant and daughter of the firm's most important client. Sophie warns the wife of 18 years that she's never handled a divorce before but Mia believes Sophie is the perfect lawyer to fight on her behalf. Hey, it's a first divorce for both women. Why not experience it together?




    The Divorce Papers is Susan Rieger's debut novel. I like that she didn't choose a traditional method to tell the story of a messy high-profile divorce handled by a cynical lawyer. It was much easier to follow through correspondence (personal emails, office memos, handwritten notes and legal documents). Great way to offer a direct window into the characters' lives.




    I read numerous reviews of how funny The Divorce Papers is. Even the front matter calls it "sometimes hilarious." Clearly I am missing something because I had zero LOL moments. I barely chuckled. To each its own comedy. Nevertheless, at just under 500 pages, it was an easy entertaining read.




    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2