BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Do-Nothing Day

Average Rating 3.5
( 1068 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(386)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(189)

2 Star

(130)

1 Star

(208)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A Great Story for All Ages

This is the best picture book I've gotten on the Nook so far. The images are vibrant and beautiful; you don't even need a nookColor to see them! And the author narrates the teddy bear's day and experiences very well. But by far the best thing about this book is that it ...
This is the best picture book I've gotten on the Nook so far. The images are vibrant and beautiful; you don't even need a nookColor to see them! And the author narrates the teddy bear's day and experiences very well. But by far the best thing about this book is that it teaches a lesson. For one thing, the teddy bear helps out whenever he is needed, even though he doesn't see this as very fantastic at first. I recommend this to anyone - and especially as a family read-aloud!

posted by elainemaine on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Cute book!

My six year old daughter enjoys this book. We read it several times a week before bed, and I also think she likes turning the pages on my Nook. We have a little joke because it is called the Do-Nothing Day, however, that little bear sure does alot throughout the day. Wo...
My six year old daughter enjoys this book. We read it several times a week before bed, and I also think she likes turning the pages on my Nook. We have a little joke because it is called the Do-Nothing Day, however, that little bear sure does alot throughout the day. Would recommend for a free book!

posted by Beachbelle on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1074 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    A Great Story for All Ages

    This is the best picture book I've gotten on the Nook so far. The images are vibrant and beautiful; you don't even need a nookColor to see them! And the author narrates the teddy bear's day and experiences very well. But by far the best thing about this book is that it teaches a lesson. For one thing, the teddy bear helps out whenever he is needed, even though he doesn't see this as very fantastic at first. I recommend this to anyone - and especially as a family read-aloud!

    56 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    great

    this is a great childrens book. the story has a point; you could spend all day thinking about what to do when you are actually doing stuff. it is a great book to keep children busy with the gorgeous pictures.

    33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Cute book!

    My six year old daughter enjoys this book. We read it several times a week before bed, and I also think she likes turning the pages on my Nook. We have a little joke because it is called the Do-Nothing Day, however, that little bear sure does alot throughout the day. Would recommend for a free book!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Recommend for little nonreaders,Cute

    I read this book to my three year old granddaughter. She wanted to read it again. She could instantly identify with the stuffed animal characters.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    love it

    it's an excellent short story with a basic plot. i read it to my neighbors who i babysit and they loved it!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Needs work

    This book is fairly bland and probably too dense for the stated age group. The author uses complex sentences, which would be fine in a book rated for older children, but are going to be difficult to follow for a younger child and possibly frustrating. I worry that kids won't be able to read this on this own or won't be inclined to, especially since the pictures are repetitive and not particularly well done or suited to the attempted tone of the story. The author would do well to sink some money into hiring someone to illustrate. They don't have to be a professional, but they do have to give the drawings some life and interest!

    11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    it's cute

    It is short but it is fantastic!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Noble books

    This laugh out loud book is great from kid to teens to adults!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    It is a great book and you will really like it. I am 10 and still like it.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    I agree

    I hate it when people insult other peoples hard work bbcuz they tryed to entertain other people maby u dont like it but others might so eat it ps who ever insulted this book u r jerks bcuz im19aand i love it! Ppl who love or like it rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Cute Story, Pics not good on my ereader,

    The story is cute, but if you get it for children one would want the pictures to look good.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Really cute

    I loved it!!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Nice

    It is a graet book to read

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awsomeness

    It is awsome

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Understandable Why It's Free

    This is very bland even for kids story standards. The pictures aren't very good, and I think kids would have trouble following this, because even I did.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Nice short story

    Great bedtime story short and sweet

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Cute illustrations...

    The idea for the story is good but the story is too wordy for the young children this would appeal to. The wordiness causes the story to become a bit confusing. The illustrations are cute.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    It was a very good book

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Cool

    Love it and im 18

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    Cutd

    Fun and short read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1074 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54