Customer Reviews for

The Do Over

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    And yes, I'm a bit biased because I read an early copy and no sh

    And yes, I'm a bit biased because I read an early copy and no she didn't give it to me for an honest review. If I didn't like I would've told her so.




    However, that being said: This book is brilliant. For 400+ pages you get to meet Dani, Liam and Rick. How many books nowadays boasts 400+ pages??? This is not a review per se as that will be coming next week, but just a recommendation for a great book. With summer coming up rapidly, fill your ereaders with this book.




    I guarantee you'll be plesantly surprised!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was seriously considering buying this book, because a girl who

    I was seriously considering buying this book, because a girl who is addicted to her kindle and book boyfriends....sounds like me! Then I actually won a copy from the author and couldn't wait to dig in! Let me start by doing this first: 
    Liam - the perfect caveman guy 
    Rick - Jerk ex that broke the girls heart now trying to get her back because he wants her
    Dani - Girl who has hidden over the past 2 years thanks to Rick. Books are her way of avoiding the hurt
    Macy - Loud mouth/blabbering best friend of Dani
    Candace - the go to best friend to solve problems
    Chris - Macy's hook up/best friend of Liam
    Madison - Ricks source of advice to change/bad girl? who doesn't believe in love




    Okay now that thats out of the way I was very afraid this book would turn like so many I have read and the love triangle would start....I'd want to kill Dani for her attitude and the way she was acting, and I would be torn between the guys or the one I was routing for would lose. Seriously I really wasn't sure I saw where the ending was going until I got there. Yea there were instances where I just wanted to slap some sense into Dani, but hey when your dealing with feelings it's hard to figure out which is the right path. I can't wait for the next book! I recommend picking this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    TiWi

    Great Book & characters (Dani & Liam). Would like to read more books by A.L Zaun, but not interested in Rick & Madison's Story,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great book!! Made me tear up a bit, definitely recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Awesome book

    Great read! This book is a must have in your library! Cant wait until i can read Its Not Over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Lkk

    Wow this was a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    I loved this book. I couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    The book was good frustrating a little but good. I got a little

    The book was good frustrating a little but good. I got a little worried towards the end I thought she might actually 
    go stupid on me but she pulled it off and gave me a fabulous book thank you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holy Moly! What a debut novel. I was thoroughly impressed with T

    Holy Moly! What a debut novel. I was thoroughly impressed with The Do Over by Author A.L. Zaun! I was shocked to find out that this was her first book. Her writing was flawless and the story flowed effortlessly. I could not have been more impressed with this novel. I was sucked into the very first page and found myself in an uproar of emotions throughout the story. I mean when I read the synopsis and saw that Dani was a book worm like myself with all of her book boyfriends I knew I wanted to devour this baby and devour I did!
    “My love affairs with my book boyfriends were short-lived. I was a book slut. There really wasn't another word for it. Although, there were a few book boyfriends that had left a permanent mark on my heart. I'd blush when I thought of some of them. Books were my distraction from life. I'd become detached from all that was going on around me as I got lost in the world of fiction. I figured my hobby wasn't hurting anyone. No harm, no foul.”
    I loved Dani and her character she was dealing with a lot of pain due to none other than Rick (I will get to him in a minute.) I felt every emotion she went through and seriously wished I could give that girl a hug. We all know love and pain and these were two emotions I could relate to while reading The Do Over. I was curious to see where this story would lead when it came to Dani trusting her heart again after what Rick did.
    Bring in Rick aka Rick the Dick! Yes, I have never wanted to kick a fictional character in the balls quite as much as Rick. Let me tell you this man oozed sex and heartache and poor Dani received both of those at the hands of this man. He broke her heart stomped all over it not having a care in the world for his own selfish reasons. Yes, Rick was conceited, arrogant, and ass, and selfish to say the least. However, he did start to grow on me once he finally “woke up” and realized what he was missing. But would it be too late? Could Rick the once arrogant dick convince Dani that he was what she wanted and needed?
    Now Liam! Are you ready? *Swooning* Liam is everything I want in a book boyfriend and I would DO ANYTHING to be in his CPR class! He not only screamed HOTNESS but he was considerate, sweet, kind, caring, and dealt with his own heartache. *Sigh* Yes, I loved him but would Dani love him enough to see where their relationship could lead or would she ultimately choose Rick the one who owned her heart from the start? You will have to read The Do Over to find out! Happy Reading! xoxo




    The Do Over Receives 5 STARS!
    *I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    The Do Over by A.L. Zaun is a beautiful, and frantic love story.

    The Do Over by A.L. Zaun is a beautiful, and frantic love story.  The title left me wondering through the entire book as to who actually gets a 'Do Over'.  It is humorous, erotic and emotional.  I love the characters and the depth they were given.  Well, most of them anyway...LOL.  It was predictable in a 'I should have seen that coming' sort of way, but the story line captured my attention so completely that I did not have the time or mental capacity to think too far ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Do Over really won me over! Dani is such a great character,

    The Do Over really won me over! Dani is such a great character, one that faces what we all have at one point in our life. Rick devastated Dani when he broke up with her. With her tattered heart she decides it is not worth the anguish and the heartache to get involved with someone. Enter fire fighter, Liam…YUM….and the name is just great! Liam is everything you could want in a guy. Charming, sweet, and HOT! Liam is bound and determined to win Dani over, and in walks Rick again. Rick realized he screwed up and wants to win Dani back, he enlist another character Maddy to help him and she does not take his crap and tells him how it is! The chemistry between Rick and Maddy is great!

    This book gives its all to the reader. It will make you laugh (a lot), swear, sigh, cry, and one more than on occasion scream! This is great debut novel from A.L. Zaun! Can’t wait to see what she creates next!

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    "The Do Over" is AL Zaun's debut novel and she knocked

    "The Do Over" is AL Zaun's debut novel and she knocked it out of the park. I give this book a 5 star rating. AL Zaun did an AMAZING job captivating me from the first chapter until the very last page. "The Do Over" is a book that had my stomach in knots with the anticipating of what was to come. At one point I was begging the author to just tell me how it ended, because I didn’t think my heart could handle anymore…

    "The Do Over" is a story about a girl named Daniela Ruiz (Dani) who was in love with her boyfriend, Rick Marin, until one day he broke her heart.

    "I fell in love with him. He was a complicated guy who was looking for
    the good girl who would inspire him to settle down, and I was the good
    girl looking for a challenge. I wanted a project, and he was more than
    willing to oblige. We were a match made in dysfunction heaven, and it
    worked perfectly for us."

    After the break up, Dani went into a depression for almost two years. She lost in herself in her stories on her kindle. She figured if she couldn't live the fairy tale love story, she might as well read about them. Her friends stage an intervention to get Dani back in the dating scene and away from her kindle and her "book boyfriends".

    "Hi, I'm Dani and I am a kindle-holic and I hoard eBooks."

    I cracked up when I read this line. We all LOVE our books!! I, myself think at times I need an intervention for my book obsession. Anyway…

    Dani arrives at the training class for CPR, expecting to see the Captain of the Miami Dade County Fire Department; instead out of the corner of her eye she sees is a tall, very muscular HOTTIE with dirty blond cropped short hair and the bluest eyes she's ever seen. This hottie would be Lieutenant Liam Lucas of the Miami Dade County Fire Department Technical Team. Liam was covering for the Captain and would be conducting the CPR training that day. Dani is already certified in CPR, so rather than paying attention she is engrossed in yet another one of her love stories on her kindle and having a book meltdown when Liam approaches her desk.

    "I'm a jealous fool and I don't share. Mind putting it away?" ~ Liam

    Dani and Liam are immediately attracted to each other. It was the first time Dani actually noticed someone since her break up with Rick. Liam decides to have a little fun with Dani and calls on her to come up to the front of the class to practice her CPR on the dummy. While Dani had her hands on the dummy, he laid his hands over hers and pushed down on the dummy making sure she applied the right amount of pressure and he whispered in her ear, "Make sure it's deep and hard and steady. Yeah that's right, you're doing it perfectly.'" Liam just about caused a 5 alarm fire in Dani's panties…. "Someone call a code blue. I wouldn't mind him administering CPR on me."

    Dani and Liam didn't exchange phone numbers that day, but they happen to run into each other at a night club, when Dani's two best friends drag her out for a girls night out. Liam is immediately drawn to Dani like a moth to a flame, and will not let the night end until he gets her phone number.

    Once Dani and Liam connect, the chemistry between Dani and Liam is completely off the charts. The only problem is, Dani is very insecure with herself. As their relationship progresses, Liam constantly has to reassure Dani of his feelings for her. After having her heart broken in the past, she is scared to open her heart to Liam.

    "Rick broke me. Liam can shatter me. It's just a matter of time." ~ Dani

    Liam was a reminder that there was still of lot of life and love for her in her life. Dani needed to let go of the bitterness left behind by Rick Marin and make room in her heart for what could be... Could that be Liam Lucas?? Is Dani so broken from Rick, that she'll push Liam away?

    Liam is a total sweetheart. I think he should be cloned so everyone can have a version of Liam. Liam has a past as well, but he ready to love again. Liam is falling for Dani and falling hard.

    "I won't share you. Plain and simple. Don't lie or cheat. If you're
    looking for deal breakers, there they are. I can always work with the
    truth." ~ Liam

    Now lets discuss Rick Marin. While Dani was at the club with her friends, Rick spots her from across the room. Dani has no idea that Rick is even at the club. Rick likes what he sees. Rick wants Dani and he will stop at nothing to get her back. Rick sets out to win Dani back. He will manipulate any situation and anyone that gets in his way. Rick begins to make a habit to running into Dani. She thinks their sudden run ins are a coincidence, little does she know that every move Rick does is calculated.

    Dani always underestimated men. She wanted to believe the good in people and trust their intentions. She is very naive when it comes to men. What would Dani do if Rick wanted her back? Would Dani give Rick "A Do Over"? Will Rick always be a douche? Can Rick really change? Does Rick want to change for himself or just to get Dani back?

    Does one need to say goodbye to their past before they can move on with their future?

    Lines are crossed… Relationships are put the test. Will Dani and Liam survive?

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I can only hope that we will see more of these characters in the future. I was definitely left wanting more!! Job well done!

    I received an ARC from the author for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    The book starts off with Dani and Rick in a romance that is full

    The book starts off with Dani and Rick in a romance that is full of passion from the beginning. When Rick decides he doesn’t want a relationship anymore, Dani is devastated and gives up on finding the right man. When fate puts Dani and fire fighter Liam together in a CPR class they have an instant attraction. When Liam fails to make his move they again meet up at another chance meeting. Liam it’s going to let her go twice. Rick on the other hand decides he messed up big with Dani and will do anything to win her back. He recruits the spitfire man eater Maddy to help him. I absolutely loved the chemistry between Rick and Maddy. She doesn’t put up with Rick’s crap and tell him exactly how things need to be if he is going to win Dani back. I sooo loved Dani’s character! She is a fellow bookworm and loves her romance books, especially Professor Emerson! Go team Kindle as she would say! Liam has a heart of gold and treats Dani like the queens she is but will Rick’s plan to win her back get in the way of Liam and Dani’s HEA??? This book has it all, laughter, great chemistry between characters, romance, a wonderful supporting cast of friends, and hello a fire fighter! This is an AMAZING book for A.L Zaun’s first published work! Love it big time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2