Customer Reviews for

Dog Lived (and So Will I)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I absolutely loved, love, love this book.  I felt honored and bl

I absolutely loved, love, love this book.  I felt honored and blessed that T. Rhyne let us into her life in such a trying time.  Her love for Seamus and Chris can truly be felt in every page.  I laughed out loud and cried as well.  I would recommend this book to anyone....
I absolutely loved, love, love this book.  I felt honored and blessed that T. Rhyne let us into her life in such a trying time.  Her love for Seamus and Chris can truly be felt in every page.  I laughed out loud and cried as well.  I would recommend this book to anyone.  You will be so engrossed in every chapter that you can't put it down.  For anyone who has ever owned a Beagle you will relate.  To anyone who has ever had hardships with family and friends because of a partner or spouse will relate.  And of course if you are or anyone has been through Chemotherapy can relate.
  This book is a must have.  You will walk away with a piece of Seamus ( the famous ) in you heart and soul!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

True story

A cute memoir of coping with cancer.

posted by 17682671 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    I absolutely loved, love, love this book.  I felt honored and bl

    I absolutely loved, love, love this book.  I felt honored and blessed that T. Rhyne let us into her life in such a trying time.  Her love for Seamus and Chris can truly be felt in every page.  I laughed out loud and cried as well.  I would recommend this book to anyone.  You will be so engrossed in every chapter that you can't put it down.  For anyone who has ever owned a Beagle you will relate.  To anyone who has ever had hardships with family and friends because of a partner or spouse will relate.  And of course if you are or anyone has been through Chemotherapy can relate.
      This book is a must have.  You will walk away with a piece of Seamus ( the famous ) in you heart and soul!!!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    ER

    I bought this book for 2 reasons. One: I am a breast cancer survivor since 1981. Two: I nursed my Jack Russell terrier till she died from cancer. I was heartbroken after Holly's death. I grieved for a long time over the death of my best buddy. A year later I got an older Jack Russell from a shelter. Bonnie has helped heal my heart. I know I will enjoy this book. Kudos to the author for sharing her story. ER

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Absolutely LOVED this book! Hated reaching the end because I wan

    Absolutely LOVED this book! Hated reaching the end because I wanted to keep reading...devoured it in less than 24 hours! My mom was just finishing up chemo and radiation for triple negative breast cancer and I have a beagle, so it hit home big time. My mom was hesitant about the book, thinking it might be depressing during a somewhat difficult time - I convinced her to read it and she loved it, too! Completely uplifting and funny! I would recommend to anyone, especially anyone touched by a beagle or cancer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    This was a terrific read. It's very funny and very inspirational

    This was a terrific read. It's very funny and very inspirational! I feel like I've known the author for years. I love her style of writing. It's not hard at all to fall in love with her story.....especially Seamus!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    A MUST read for all animal lovers & for all people looking for love.

    Teresa Rhyne draws you immediately in through her open, honest & vivid writings about love, cancer & her very loved beagle Seamus. A true story that will leave you wanting more & of course to adopt a beagle.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great TAIL of love and survival! Good read for animal lovers and humans!

    A friend of mine had reviewed this book on Amazon and the review was posted to The Dog Lived (and So Will I) Facebook page and my friend shared her review on her own page. After reading her review, I HAD to read the book!I do not have a beagle, but I have a dog and am an avid reader, I have grown to become a beagle lover through my friend who is a beagle lover and owner and rescuer.

    This was such a GREAT story whether you have a dog or not, it was a heartfelt peek into someone else's life with some good laughs, maybe a tear, and definitely parts most people can relate to. You WILL grow to LOVE Seamus through Teresa! You will also want to say fookin in your daily life!

    This is a wonderful story of love, the will to fight for yourself and those you love, and survival! It was so good that I didn't want it to end and wished it went further into Chris, Seamus, and Teresa's lives...I wanted to know what happened next, but didn't want the book to end either.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Ahrrroooooo!

    I feel blessed to be able to share in this wonderful tale of love, courage of spirit, and determination to live. And to do it with grace and dignity and even humor. Chris is a rare man indeed and I am in that line with the other women! Kidding aside it really was heart warming how these two survived and flourished through it all. And Seamus here's a "toast" to you lil' guy! Aaarrrrooooooo!
    Candace Wakefield

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Funny cancer book

    I enjoyed reading this book. Having both a beagle and breast cancer, I could relate to these funny, heartwarming stories. Good easy read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great book. I would recommend to all. One of the best books i've

    Great book. I would recommend to all. One of the best books i've ever read. Seamus, teresa and Chris are an inspiration and how nice it was that they shared their story with us.I give this book unlimited toast and arrrooos!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Very inspiring book. Love the way the author told the story. Fun

    Very inspiring book. Love the way the author told the story. Funny, sad, and inspiring. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    You must read this book! It is funny and smart! Her love for thi

    You must read this book! It is funny and smart! Her love for this dog is hysterical and endearing! Her cancer battle is potrayed perfectly! As a cancer survivor, I indentified with everything she said! A real must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    This was one of those books that I just couldn't plow through fa

    This was one of those books that I just couldn't plow through fast enough. Not only am I a dog lover, I enjoy reading personal, true-life stories that tug at your heart. This book had all that and then some!

    The story reads as though the author is a friend, and she is telling you her life story...very casual, yet HIGHLY entertaining. I would love to read more by this author...but hope with all my heart that cancer does not touch them anymore!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Great book

    This was a very sweet book about this woman and her pet beagle that actually happened to the author of this fantastic book I loved it so much its my fifth time reading it such a sweet story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There were times when I was reading this book that I had to remi

    There were times when I was reading this book that I had to remind myself that it was a memoir and not a novel. It's well written and flows smoothly. Teresa Rhyne is a real person who deals with the ups and downs of life. Her dog gets cancer, she gets cancer....
    Reading how she navigates through the medical treatments for her dog and the lessons she learns along the way. What a relief to read a TRUE story about someone who's over the top about their dog...just like me! Teresa also highlights her support of pet adoption and local shelters and rescues. 
    Her struggle and triumph through breast cancer brings her to a new sense of self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    fun read

    This book is humorous, but also very heart-rending. The author is obviously a dog-lover, as am I. I read so many "dog books". Some are good, some are okay. This book tells a story about the author, but the dog's illness and treatment are sweet, too. The dog survives cancer and her positive attitude influences the author when she, too, is diagnosed with cancer. I really loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Fookin loved this nook!

    Living with my sister who has been on multiple and continuous cancer treatments and radiation therapy for four years plus, I know first hand the horrors that our loved ones endure. Teresa shares beautifully all the loves of her life (fur & otherwise) as she takes courageously takes on the ups and mostly downs of battling a debillitating illness, her hard fought recovery using her strong and willing support network pulling for her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good Read - very inspirational

    Heart warming story of a woman and her dog and the trials they both went through. It was sad, it was funny, it was educating, all the ear marks of a good book. Kept my attention and kept me wanting to turn the page to see what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Awesome book

    Made me experience the full spectrum of emotions. Very moving true account of cancer.life and love. And many laughs. Thanks to the authors rodwdy beagle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    fantastic

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended to both Dog and People lovers. A must read if you are both!

    Having very recently lost a dog (a Beagle in fact) I was drawn to this book. I found it to be a pleasant and funny story on two levels. The first about people/dog relationships. In addition it was a wonderful story about a women's coping with cancer/and people relationships. I came away with a positive feeling of hope on both. Yes....we will get another Beagle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4