Customer Reviews for

The Dog Stars

Average Rating 4
( 205 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This will leave a man pondering....

I am not much of a follower of post-apocalyptic literature. However, I am a dog-guy and a Westerner who has seen many of the sites where this story takes place. It is sad that Al Gore was right in this story.

The way the story is told, with terse verse and poetic r...
I am not much of a follower of post-apocalyptic literature. However, I am a dog-guy and a Westerner who has seen many of the sites where this story takes place. It is sad that Al Gore was right in this story.

The way the story is told, with terse verse and poetic rhythm, captures breakdown. Breakdown drives most everything in this saga.... even the parts which promise redemption.

It is a fast read when you get the meter of it. I think I will let it settle in for awhile and then read it again. Not many books interest me enough to do that.

Every man needs a Jasper and Bangley. Every man needs to find a Cima and fulfill the destiny of being a protector.

posted by 10144406 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Total. Waste of. Time and brain. Cells.

I. Thought I. Could get over. The writing style because. The story sounded. Interesting. But jesus h christ I'm on page 23 and I already have a migraine. Moving on.

posted by 977873 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Total. Waste of. Time and brain. Cells.

    I. Thought I. Could get over. The writing style because. The story sounded. Interesting.

    But jesus h christ I'm on page 23 and I already have a migraine. Moving on.

    21 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Prose

    Incomplete sentences, half spelled words, ending sentences with at, confuses this reader. I liked the story line. I did not enjoy reading the book.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    This will leave a man pondering....

    I am not much of a follower of post-apocalyptic literature. However, I am a dog-guy and a Westerner who has seen many of the sites where this story takes place. It is sad that Al Gore was right in this story.

    The way the story is told, with terse verse and poetic rhythm, captures breakdown. Breakdown drives most everything in this saga.... even the parts which promise redemption.

    It is a fast read when you get the meter of it. I think I will let it settle in for awhile and then read it again. Not many books interest me enough to do that.

    Every man needs a Jasper and Bangley. Every man needs to find a Cima and fulfill the destiny of being a protector.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Although the setting is a post-apocalyptic world, I found the bo

    Although the setting is a post-apocalyptic world, I found the book more like the deep, self-reflective novels of Richard Bach. This story made me think and examine my own motivations just as "Stranger To The Ground" did when I was in college. The narrative form made for a quick read. Fantastic!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I first picked up The Dog Stars , I didn┬┐t know anything mo

    When I first picked up The Dog Stars , I didn’t know anything more than the cover copy gave me: “savagely funny and achingly sad, a breathtaking story about what it means to be human.” Just my cup of tea. A woman at checkout said, “This is considered one of the best books of the year.” I waited for her to say more, to personalize her review, but she didn’t, so I thought I’d be able to tell for myself shortly.

    Actually, it was definitely one of the best books of my year, but it wasn’t because I learned “what it means to be human” but because Heller told an old-fashioned story in a new way. I could have read on, far past the last pages. The writing was stellar. Tension and restraint braid the narrative and propel the story. Heller took us on a flight in a plane packed with only essentials: he jettisoned anything that didn’t add to the narrative…pronouns, prepositions, even nouns and verbs were flung aside. If less is more, we get just enough to set our imaginations free. I loved it.

    The setting is post-apocalyptic times. Let me state that this is not my favorite venue. But readers who find might someone else’s vision less than fully imagined, put your reservations aside in this case. This vision is fascinating, but it is the writing that makes the experience. There is a clipped, muscular quality to this narrative that kept me rapt. Heller managed to make even his hard-bitten characters completely absorbing, flawed but generous in unexpected ways. These are characters we care about. And I suppose it is about what humans want and need to thrive. While it’s frightening at times, it is not dreary, not really. It’s a love story.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I have already recommended this book to close friends and colleagues. The writing style was very unusual and at first it threw me. Then as i progressed with the story it felt, "right." This author showed great insight concerning the left over lives. what can happen when you are without common connections and still ned to form a "family." I found it to be at times disturbing, melancholy, inspiring and it touched my heart and spirit. If you are looking for more than a summer read. If you have ever thought about what you would do in a circumstance where a holocaust has happened, this might tap your mind and heart and even your soul.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is humdrum, monotonous, boring, a waste of my money.

    This book is humdrum, monotonous, boring, a waste of my money.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Is it me?

    I select alot of books based on critic comments and customer reviews...so I was eager to attack The Dog Stars. But I can't remember a book in recent memory that I SO wanted to end. There's no story here folks...just plenty of long-winded descriptions of lakes and trees and fish and clouds etc. etc. And the writing style -- while unique and somewhat creative -- began grating on my nerves by page 100. While the plot kicked up toward the end, by that time I wanted nothing more than to end this endurance test, and cared little what happened to the main character. Time's too short to waste on a novel this empty.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Wow! Really enjoyed it. Love Cessna 182's, dogs and Chinese po

    Wow! Really enjoyed it. Love Cessna 182's, dogs and Chinese poetry!!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Taut, gripping, a tour de force!

    Troubling yet uplifting. This story soars.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I don't know if this book is for everyone, but it was hard for me to put down. It takes place in a post-pandemic world that reminded me a lot of the post-apocolypse world depicted in The Road. Even the writing style reminded me of The Road. But Heller's world isn't quite as bleak, or dark. Heller's main character has retained his sense of humor, and his relationship with his dog is compelling. I expect this would be a great novel for book club discussions.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Quality book

    Gave great insights to humanity and the brutality, yet sweetness of survival.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Enduring hope

    This book will break your heart ... for yourself and all of humanity. Deeply sad and thought provoking.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    I enjoyed this book but on reflection found it a little too pat and superficial. I mean, wasn't it convenient that Cima was a doctor? Still, as a portrayal of a post-apocolyptic world the book was terrifying and depressing. It painted a grim picture of a possible future. My other complaint is that 218 pages is a little short for $11.95. I would like more for my money.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A frightening, beautiful novel that somehow finds a home between

    A frightening, beautiful novel that somehow finds a home between the bleak terror of Cormac McCarthy's The Road and the lyricism of James Galvin's The Meadow. The story's starkness celebrates, in its way, the harshness of the Western landscape, while the writing itself feels out the simple truths and aches of existence that can make our smallest acts seem apocalyptic, and our gestures of love the purest -- even the rawest -- kind of survival.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Quite touching but brutal at times

    I've read the brilliant The Road and this book has many of the same themes. There is also the strange sentence structure with missing punctuaction that may be jarring. However, I fell in love with the characters of Hig and his dog Jasper, unlike the distant narrator of McCarthy's book. Love and emotion almost overwhelm him when he loses everything yet somehow he survives with the trigger-happy Bangley and the hope of something else...anything else. When Hig finally takes the leap is when the story takes off.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Beautifully written

    First of all, sorry for any typos, i am writing this from my nook.

    The book is written in a stream of conciousness. The style matches the way the narrator is actually thinking, which means grammatical periods are often just a pause for breath, not necessarily the end of an idea. I imagine a lot of the reviewers before me who gave the book one star didnt understand that, which is why they chose to mock it, or ask if complete sentences were still taught in school.

    That said, the plot is interesting and i found myself feeling for the characters. It is beautiful and sad and i loved it. Totally worth the read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    I thought the book was very good. While I haven't read much &quo

    I thought the book was very good. While I haven't read much "post-apocalyptic world" fiction, I liked the way the author gives readers a feel of stark broken/emptiness in a fictitious (but possible) setting. Although I must add that at times in sections where the author uses choppy, journal-like writing, I didn't think I could bare reading any further without losing my mind. But with the introduction of new characters and twist in writing style, the story flowed well. I especially liked the ending because it leaves readers with the sense that hope is not completely lost, an unexpected way to round off the final events.

    I recommend this as an adult read that both men & women will enjoy reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I thought it stunk.

    I thought it stunk.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Started off Great

    Was disappoined in the end. Just left me flat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11