Customer Reviews for

The Dog Who Danced

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Susan Wilson is brilliant! We have all grieved through losses in

Susan Wilson is brilliant!
We have all grieved through losses in our life. Justine seems to bring on some of this grief herself. The Parmalees are broken, going through their day to day existence. Mack is the common denominator.

Wilson is honest in revealing the faults...
Susan Wilson is brilliant!
We have all grieved through losses in our life. Justine seems to bring on some of this grief herself. The Parmalees are broken, going through their day to day existence. Mack is the common denominator.

Wilson is honest in revealing the faults of the characters in The Dog Who Danced. Like all of us, Justine is not perfect, she struggles with life decisions. She does what she thinks is best and yet it never is. Mack is anchor in her life. No story spoilers here though, I'll let you enjoy the rollercoaster of emotion this book brings.
It starts so dark that I almost felt troubled reading it. Stick with it, you won't be sorry or disappointed. This book is for everyone, not just dog lovers. It's about human spirit and inner strength.

posted by PaulineMA on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wish There Was More Dancing

Unfortunately, I found this bookquite winded and filled with a bit too much detail. The idea of the story, as an animal lovercinteresred me. A girl with a special dog and her journey to get him back. At first in part one i was hooked....but honestly it could have ended ...
Unfortunately, I found this bookquite winded and filled with a bit too much detail. The idea of the story, as an animal lovercinteresred me. A girl with a special dog and her journey to get him back. At first in part one i was hooked....but honestly it could have ended shortly after. The rest I feel was predictable, long winded, slow and i found myself skipping pages. In doing so i didnt miss anything. Very dissapointed. Although i give the idea of the dog a thumbs up....i cant do so for this book .

posted by 17003919 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Susan Wilson is brilliant! We have all grieved through losses in

    Susan Wilson is brilliant!
    We have all grieved through losses in our life. Justine seems to bring on some of this grief herself. The Parmalees are broken, going through their day to day existence. Mack is the common denominator.

    Wilson is honest in revealing the faults of the characters in The Dog Who Danced. Like all of us, Justine is not perfect, she struggles with life decisions. She does what she thinks is best and yet it never is. Mack is anchor in her life. No story spoilers here though, I'll let you enjoy the rollercoaster of emotion this book brings.
    It starts so dark that I almost felt troubled reading it. Stick with it, you won't be sorry or disappointed. This book is for everyone, not just dog lovers. It's about human spirit and inner strength.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    This book was awesome! Love buddy/mack! It brought out a lot of

    This book was awesome! Love buddy/mack! It brought out a lot of emotions in this book! There isn't enough stars to give to this book. Great book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Loved the story line - loved the mix of characters - truly felt

    Loved the story line - loved the mix of characters - truly felt their emotions (and Mack's/Buddy's).

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Wonderful Story

    I read, One Good Dog, by Susan Wislon some time ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Dog Who Danced is equallly as good. The story is told from the perspectives of both the owner and the dog....rather an interesting technique. I am a very fussy reader and would recommend this book to all who enjoy a well written exciting story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    i love it

    if you like art of the racing in the rain, you would love this story

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Feel good book

    I read this book beause I throughly loved "One Good Dog" by this same author. The way she tells the story from the main character's and the dogs view is very enjoyable read. I recommend this book to all dog lovers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Recommened.

    Well written. Will probably read again, which I seldom do.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    This was an outstanding book. I opened it up at the airport on

    This was an outstanding book. I opened it up at the airport on Friday and had a hard time putting it down. The story was an unforgetable story of redemption-Justine not only trying to find her dog but also herself. The characters were real and human, the situations believable and vivid. I don't want to give away the ending, but to the extent possible everyone was a winner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An unexpected call has Justine Meade grateful for a shotgun seat

    An unexpected call has Justine Meade grateful for a shotgun seat on a semi heading towards a home she hasn’t seen since she left at seventeen because it means that her dog Mack is with her. Mack has been her salvation and made her look at life in a better way than the defeatist, betrayed way she used to when all she could think of was the loss of her childhood then later the loss of her son. The dog who learned to dance with her has been much more than a mere pet which is why she’s overwrought as she finds herself abandoned and dog-less by the trucker she hitched a ride with.
    Ed and Alice Parmalee have been imitating life for the seven years since the death of their only child, a child that was prayed for then delayed until neither of them thought it was ever going to happen and then took away at fifteen, it was a tragedy that shook them to the core and that has been an invisible barrier between them ever since until the day a stray dog comes into their lives and puts color and connection back into their world.
    In the midst of a family crisis Justine frantically tries to find Mack with the help of a few friends and many strangers while the Parmalees are reconnecting with the help of one small furry miracle and who know nothing about the dog’s distraught owner.
    There are many dog stories out there, those who heal, those who protect, those who comfort, what makes this story different is the poignant way that Susan Wilson brings it to life with her words. Her characters are all three dimensional, so realistic that I could smell the earth at Stacy’s grave and could feel the wind in my face as she takes Justine down the highway on the back of a Harley. The dialogue is a mesmerizing string of monologues that took me into the hearts and souls of the narrator, that made me a fly on the walls of their worlds and that gave me insights that I wish they would convey to each other. And then there was Mack, who Susan gave a voice to as well and who’s expertise in translating dog really shines through, it was amusing, it was touching and it was beautifully penned. This is the story of rejuvenation of forgiving of unconditional love. It’s the story of one woman’s best friend and the lengths she’ll go to get him back and it’s the unconditional love that one dog has for his human(s).
    This is my first foray into the writing brilliance of Susan Wilson but I guarantee it will not be my last.
    Thank you Ms. Wilson for one of the most heartwarming and inspiring stories I’ve read for a while.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    A must read!

    Loved reading this book, if you love dogs please read this one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Wish There Was More Dancing

    Unfortunately, I found this bookquite winded and filled with a bit too much detail. The idea of the story, as an animal lovercinteresred me. A girl with a special dog and her journey to get him back. At first in part one i was hooked....but honestly it could have ended shortly after. The rest I feel was predictable, long winded, slow and i found myself skipping pages. In doing so i didnt miss anything. Very dissapointed. Although i give the idea of the dog a thumbs up....i cant do so for this book .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Very very good book

    Read this in 3 nights.great story of loss and love and healing and that powerful bond of a good dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Loved it! Dog and heroine are easy to root for. Bad guys make yo

    Loved it! Dog and heroine are easy to root for. Bad guys make you want to smack them. Heart warming and healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    To please help

    Go to the thirteemth unicorn. Emails are there and so are the names but in the email. Will that help. If not I dont know but you can be my nook friend by reviews.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Anyone who has ever loved a dog or been lucky enough to have bee

    Anyone who has ever loved a dog or been lucky enough to have been loved by a dog will GET this book. Very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Shut the h to the s up AWESOME

    Heal eagle enter led to the suar honey ice tea

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Dog Who Danced

    Good story and characters. Touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Loved it.

    I really enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Get Out Now!!!!!

    Dog-clan's MoonCave!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2