Customer Reviews for

The Dogs of Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I admit it, I'm a sucker for Christmas stories as well as dog bo

I admit it, I'm a sucker for Christmas stories as well as dog books.  I loved "The Christmas Box," I cry every single year when I watch "It's A Wonderful Life," or "A Charlie Brown Christmas."  So it was with some trepidation that I read th...
I admit it, I'm a sucker for Christmas stories as well as dog books.  I loved "The Christmas Box," I cry every single year when I watch "It's A Wonderful Life," or "A Charlie Brown Christmas."  So it was with some trepidation that I read this book, because I had so lovedboth "A Dog's Purpose" and "A Dog's Journey," but wasn't sure that Cameron had a great Christmas book in him.  Thankfully, my worrieswere for nothing.  This, for me, was a classic Christmas story.  Plot twists that kept me on the edge of my seat, humor, puppies, true love, and a Christmas message that deeply touched my heart.  Everyone on my list is getting this little treasure this year! 

posted by Dee_Anne_Walters on October 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book and of course I cried in the end.  Great holiday

Excellent book and of course I cried in the end.  Great holiday gift!

posted by PumpkinKV on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    I admit it, I'm a sucker for Christmas stories as well as dog bo

    I admit it, I'm a sucker for Christmas stories as well as dog books.  I loved "The Christmas Box," I cry every single year when I watch "It's A Wonderful Life," or "A Charlie Brown Christmas."  So it was with some trepidation that I read this book, because I had so lovedboth "A Dog's Purpose" and "A Dog's Journey," but wasn't sure that Cameron had a great Christmas book in him.  Thankfully, my worrieswere for nothing.  This, for me, was a classic Christmas story.  Plot twists that kept me on the edge of my seat, humor, puppies, true love, and a Christmas message that deeply touched my heart.  Everyone on my list is getting this little treasure this year! 

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Love all his books, especially A Dog's Purpose and A Dog's Journ

    Love all his books, especially A Dog's Purpose and A Dog's Journey but, and I almost feel guilty saying it, I think I love this one best.  
    Cutest cover ever. What a gift! 

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    LOVED IT!  Giving this to all my dog loving friends for Christma

    LOVED IT!  Giving this to all my dog loving friends for Christmas

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I laughed, I cried, I hugged my dogs!

    This story is sweet, touching, and funny. It makes you reflect on the importance of the relationships you currently have, and the relationships of your past. Most importantly, it shows the unexpected depth of love you can share with your pets.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Good read for Dog Lovers!

    A very good read for dog lovers! Makes the heart warm at the holidays!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Awwwww

    Sounds like a cute book. I will read the sample and think about it. Im not really dog person but i read Black Beauty and im not a horse person either.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Elizabeth

    Love the cover of the book also if there is a cute pup like that with a hot guy can i have him plz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I have enjoyed all of the author's books I have read.  This one

    I have enjoyed all of the author's books I have read.  This one did not disappoint me.  I am looking forward to reading more of Mr. Cameron's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly recommend

    This is such a good book that I have a hard time putting it down. It is just about an ordinary guy who has never owned a pet in his entire life, how he got a dog and what happened after. It certainly keeps your interest.

    I would highly recommend this book for any one to read. In fact I would read again around the holidays.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Wonderful read

    Loved reading this book. Kept my interest all the way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    I have read all of his books and this has to be my favorite. Th

    I have read all of his books and this has to be my favorite. There are some books that just grab at your heart and hold on. By the time I finished the book, I was crying so hard that I had to stop during the last ten pages to get tissues. It couldn't have ended any better. I am a cat person, but this book made me want to go out and adopt a dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    VERY GOOD!

    Just a heart warming tale about a dog & some puppies that save a lonely guy from a lonely life. All of Bruce Cameron's books are GREAT. I love them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Cute!!!!!

    This is a reslly good book! U must read it!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    TMS

    Nice story! But I hope Hazelstar doesn't live for a long time. '_'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Silver_&hearts

    YAAAASSSS!! Continue!!!! And i like the thing aout Lightstar and Shadowstar you should do it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Emerald ♢

    Hazelstar had better stay alive for a long time, because she's one of my favorite characters. Although I do hate her at the same time.
    <p>-Emerald Rebel &#9830

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Humdrum

    I like Shadow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Shadowwing

    Lol. I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Monkey King

    I love it!! Totally fine with Bloodfang not being deputy, as long as hes in the story. Write more now!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Winterberry's Struggle ~ Chapter 36

    (I'm sorry guys, I already had plans on who to be deputy. But I can make Bloodfang ((? Sorry I'm forgetting if that's the name...) deputy if/when the new deputy takes over leadership ;) Hazelstar's POV) <p> Warmth flushed Hazelstar's cheeks. She sharply turned on Shadow, giving him a piercing golden gaze. The young dark tom cowered away. <br> *He embarassed me in front of my whole Clan!* But there was also an alternative side that Hazelstar considered. *If he didn't tell me now, the days would add up and it'd be much worse when someone mentions me not chosing a deputy in a moon.* Sense all the cats were already gathered in the clearing, she hopped up to the High Boulder without summoning ScorchClan for a meetings. "As Shadow has already mentioned," she shot a threatening glare at him, "I need to choose a deputy." She hesitated for awhile, sweeping her gaze over all the cats. *Ice and Snake are brothers; I wouldn't hear the end of their bragging and fighting if I chose one over the other. Plus, they're much too young. <br> Seedsoil was a natural born ScorchClanner, and she's experienced, too. But too ambitious. I don't want her too eager to take over my leadership. <br> Mist is flat-out too old. Not experienced old, but elder old. She'll die off before I even loose my eigth life! ScorchClan needs a young-ish, strong cat as deputy. <br> Mapleshade just joined ScorchClan. And besides, she's too busy and soft looking for her brother. <br> Shadow? No, I can't possibly be consdering choosing him as deputy. He's young, and too soft. But... not as young as Snake and Ice. And because of him being soft, he will easily obey and carry out my orders. What about him becoming leader when I die? He has to be strong, tough, with a hint of greed for ScorchClan to get bigger and better. I can train him to hate WaterClan, to have a craving for blood. Then it's decided.* Then Clan was waiting. Some cats had their tails twitching impatiently. "Shadow, you're the new deputy of ScorchClan," she mumbled in a half-reluctant voice, not believing she was electing this cat. Shadow looked awe-struck. <br> "Awesome! Er, I mean, you won't regret your desicion. I will serve ScorchClan well as your deputy, and guide with the pure wisdom of a leader when you pass," he akwardly stuttered, looking at his shuffling paws as if he said something wrong. Hazelstar only purred eerily in amusement. <br> "Oh, don't make your plans too soon," she cooned hauntedly. "I plan to live for a long, long time." <p> (Oh, wouldn't it be awesome to have the two enemy Clans with Lightstar and Shadowstar as leader? I just thought of that! :P) <br> -&#1071|Reflections&#9830

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2