Customer Reviews for

The Dogs of Winter

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

When I began reading this book, I will be honest. Based on the p

When I began reading this book, I will be honest. Based on the picture, I kind of expected a Jack London type story. I soon realized just how wrong I was. How on earth was I to know that I would be reading historical fiction (recent history, but still history) that feat...
When I began reading this book, I will be honest. Based on the picture, I kind of expected a Jack London type story. I soon realized just how wrong I was. How on earth was I to know that I would be reading historical fiction (recent history, but still history) that featured an amazing story that was emotional and realistic? In fact, the author's note at the end of the story, this story contains more truth than fiction. The book is written in first person, and I think this is a perfect story for young adults and older adults alike. It will introduce you to a recent period of history of which you may not have been aware. The tenacity of the dogs and the boy will enthrall you. Does it end happily? You know, I will leave that up to you to decide. I will say this much--it is a realistic ending.

There are a few brutal portions of this book, but there are no details that would offend anyone. There are no bedroom scenes, and the profanity is extremely mild. I cannot think of anything that was offensive in this story, and it was a very readable book. There were no boring portions of the story, and I believe that the author captured the emotions of the characters perfectly. I look forward to reading more by this author in the future.

I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

posted by ruthhill74 on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dogs of Winter may be a good book, but there is no warning for p

Dogs of Winter may be a good book, but there is no warning for parents about the more graphic aspects of this story. After reading A Dogs Way Home our 9 year old was thrilled to find another "dog" story by the same author. This is definitely better suited fo...
Dogs of Winter may be a good book, but there is no warning for parents about the more graphic aspects of this story. After reading A Dogs Way Home our 9 year old was thrilled to find another "dog" story by the same author. This is definitely better suited for 12-14 year olds.

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Dogs of Winter may be a good book, but there is no warning for p

    Dogs of Winter may be a good book, but there is no warning for parents about the more graphic aspects of this story. After reading A Dogs Way Home our 9 year old was thrilled to find another "dog" story by the same author. This is definitely better suited for 12-14 year olds.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    When I began reading this book, I will be honest. Based on the p

    When I began reading this book, I will be honest. Based on the picture, I kind of expected a Jack London type story. I soon realized just how wrong I was. How on earth was I to know that I would be reading historical fiction (recent history, but still history) that featured an amazing story that was emotional and realistic? In fact, the author's note at the end of the story, this story contains more truth than fiction. The book is written in first person, and I think this is a perfect story for young adults and older adults alike. It will introduce you to a recent period of history of which you may not have been aware. The tenacity of the dogs and the boy will enthrall you. Does it end happily? You know, I will leave that up to you to decide. I will say this much--it is a realistic ending.

    There are a few brutal portions of this book, but there are no details that would offend anyone. There are no bedroom scenes, and the profanity is extremely mild. I cannot think of anything that was offensive in this story, and it was a very readable book. There were no boring portions of the story, and I believe that the author captured the emotions of the characters perfectly. I look forward to reading more by this author in the future.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    Amazing

    It is really a good book but really sad parts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If you like historical fiction or dogs, this book is for you.

    If you like historical fiction or dogs, this book is for you.

    The book is historical fiction, telling the story of an orphaned Russian boy who lives with a pack of dogs. After his mother is killed, her boyfriend throws him out to the streets. A group of orphans take him in, and he gets a dog to beg with. He leaves them and discovers his dog’s, named Lucky, family. You might like this if you like historical fiction books, or dogs. My favorite parts were the ending and the time within the forest, but the time with the other orphans was fairly dull. The book takes the authors’ twist on the mystery of what happened to Ivan, the main character. I do agree that a kind ending would be nice, but the way it turns out seemed to end well, despite mysteries that will most likely never be answered. Overall the book is extremely emotional, and will be a good read, but the book has some very dull parts, especially in the beginning.

    Review by Young Mensan Charles M., age 10, Richmond Area Mensa

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    OMG

    OMG i love this book and i hate it. IT MADE ME BAWL SO HARD MY MOM NEEDED TO BUY A PACK OF 190 TISSUES AT THE STORE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    The dogs of winter

    This book is about a little boy whose mother dies and is left out on the streets one day he becomes friends with some dogs... This is a very moving book. (I cried quiet a bit.) I really liked this book. I would get it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Hi

    This book is amazing! I absulotly love this book. l am 10 years old, and l have read it ten times. It's amazing how much thot the auther put into!!!!!
    :))))))

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bobbie Pyron has taken a bit of history and turned it into a cap

    Bobbie Pyron has taken a bit of history and turned it into a captivating tale of a little boy's survival. Never could I have imagined a child's bond with wild dogs as seen in The Dogs of Winter!

    Ivan Andreovich is only five years old when his mother goes missing and her boyfriend tries to take Ivan to an orphanage. In the City, somewhere in Russia, Ivan decides to run away, hoping that his mother will come searching for him. He spends days and nights on the streets and train station, at first taken in by a rowdy group of young children who steal food and beg money for vodka and cigarettes. In the midst of these kids who will do anything to survive, Ivan tries to hold on to the morals his mother taught him like to not steal or lie. When the dogs come into Ivan's life it gets a little easier to make it. He finds food for them and himself, warm places to sleep at night, and protection from the older street kids and gangs.

    But, of course, obstacles take place that hinder Ivan's ability to keep himself fed and clothed. He's very naive throughout most of the story, but the more wild he gets the more cunning. Throughout the novel, Pyron makes me wonder whether anything will go right for the Dog Boy, but time and time again his pack proves that they have his back and they'll endure through the most dire situations. Except for when Ivan is captured and forced back into human society. I found that I didn't feel the big emotional pull until Ivan had been shown just one ounce of kindness from someone who wasn't one of his dogs.

    The Dogs of Winter is a novel that I would highly recommend to dog lovers and readers who love an encouraging tale of survival. Even through the darkest parts of the novel, when life just wasn't kind to little Ivan, the dogs lightened the pall.

    *Book provided in exchange for an honest review*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Based on a true story, "The Dogs of Winter" is target

    Based on a true story, "The Dogs of Winter" is targeted for 6th grade readers and older.

    Ivan is a 5-year old boy who has been abandoned on the streets of Russia. He encounters gangs of children who have been abandoned and they try to draw him to work for them. These gangs often are cruel and mistreat each other, as well as Ivan. Eventually Ivan ends up on his own and discovers a pack of dogs who help take care of him. The dogs become his family and Ivan even begins to look and act like his family.

    They travel the city during the winter looking for food and shelter and move to the country during the warmer months and live in the woods near a fairground. The bond that develops between boy and dog is strong. They protect, defend, and provide for each other.

    When I first started reading this book, I thought it was entirely fiction. I did not realize that it was based on a true story. I was over a fourth of the way through the book when I discovered this simple fact.

    I enjoyed this story, found it very easy to read and actually read it in one day. While this story focuses on one young boy who is homeless, it does a good job of raising our awareness that there are homeless children all over the world, even here in our own small spot in the United States. It does this without being overbearing.

    The Dogs of Winter is a simple story about a boy and his dogs, but it is a wonderful story about a boy and his dogs! (rev. P.Howard)

    DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was given to us in exchange for our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Awesome!

    Conciderabley the best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    I chose this book because I thought it would be about dogs. I th

    I chose this book because I thought it would be about dogs. I thought it was a sad story because at first,Little Ivan  loses his mother, and then is forced to go to a orphanage. Then he finds a pack of dogs in the city, and comes to be his family. He also has challenges he’s facing in the wild. This book is not what I thought it would be because I did not know what challenges and bad things could happen to the boy named Ivan, and his family of dogs. I do not feel the same about the book because I did not know that the boy would lose his mother, and his family would be a pack of dogs. 
    The main characters in the story are Ivan, and his dogs Lucky, Rip, Smoke, Grandmother, Little Mother, Moon, and Star. The setting of the story is the city, the woods, barn, and glass house. The story is about a boy named Ivan and a pack of dogs who face many challenges in the wild. The type of book is historical fiction. The author of this book is Bobby Pyron.
    I liked the book because it was very interesting. I also liked it because the book is full of adventures. I feel really good about this book because I really liked how it is full of adventure, and how it tells a story about Ivan and his dogs.
    I would recommend this book because it is full of adventures, and can catch your interest. I would consider this a sixth-grade level book. 
    This book is about this boy named Ivan, and these dogs named Lucky, Smoke, Rip, Grandmother, Little Mother, Moon, and Star. Ivan loses his mother, then finds this pack of dogs. Ivan and the dogs are facing many challenges in the wild. 









    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1