Customer Reviews for

The Dream Thieves (Raven Cycle Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Spoilers if you haven't read The Raven Boys yet! Ten Likes/Disl

Spoilers if you haven't read The Raven Boys yet!

Ten Likes/Dislikes:

1. (+) Ronan, the protagonist - I always thought Ronan was a really well done "bad" boy so to speak. His tortured past, his anger, his violence, his tough attitude, and his tenderness - all...
Spoilers if you haven't read The Raven Boys yet!

Ten Likes/Dislikes:

1. (+) Ronan, the protagonist - I always thought Ronan was a really well done "bad" boy so to speak. His tortured past, his anger, his violence, his tough attitude, and his tenderness - all of this felt so very palpable, so very real to me in ways that other stereotypical presentations did not. As with Gansey, Ronan presents a facade to everyone else - that he doesn't care, that he doesn't need anyone. But he does. His pain and past are as skillfully explored and textured as the unveiling of his sexuality and the small acts of kindness that he'll perform. His emotional growth is sure-footed and astounding - from near-the-edge to fully fledged hero. If you were not a fan of Ronan in the first novel, you'll be sure to understand and empathize with him in this one.

2. (+) World-building - Have you ever been curious about street racing? I have. On occasion, I hear drivers zooming on the street below, and I'll find drag marks the next day. What happens during those races? Well, Maggie Stiefvater not only makes that environment come alive but also the nightmarish dream environment that Ronan explores and the dreamy magic behind the powers of ley line and Cabeswater. I don't read a lot of magical realism, but Maggie Stiefvater makes me want to believe in magic, believe that magic is real with the world she's slowly building. Plus Stiefvater has introduced even more subtle details to highlight the opportunities that privilege offers - truly yet another wonderful exploration of class.

3. (+) Romance - I don't think there's anyone else who can make me root for a romance that I know is doomed yet can't help but love. Ugh, I know that somewhere along the line, my heart is going to get broken. So there wasn't much romantic action in The Raven Boys. Does that change in The Dream Thieves? A little. And the slow-build? (!!!) I'm frustrated and in love with this portrayal all at once.

4. (+) Character Cast - If I've read your review, you've undoubtedly gotten a comment from me on how the CHARACTERS make this series. How Maggie's made all of them so real by enhancing their character quirks - how Gansey rubs his thumb along his lips, how Adam stays quiet, how Blue scowls, how Ronan curses over and over, how Noah's got that smudge on his face, how Persephone speaks in that quiet little tone, how Calla practices air yoga while mocking the boys, etc. All of these quirks especially show in Will Patton's reading (of The Raven Boys), and I'm sure they'll show again in this audiobook - and that's what also makes the series unique: that it provides enough information for Patton to give accurate and wonderfully realistic depictions of the characters. The only other writer who made characters feel this real (for me) is J.K. Rowling. Even better, this book not only expands on old characters like those in Blue's and Gansey's families (Gansey's primarily to continue the class tension in the first novel.) but also introduces us to some more like those in Ronan's family.

5. (+) Plot - This is Ronan's coming-of-age tale mixed with some of the series plots introduced in The Raven Boys. The main plot is his learning how to control his powers before X and X happens, and in order for that to happen, he's got to learn about himself and his family. The quest for Glendower, the problem of the ley line, and the ominous kiss prophecy for Blue are still there, but they get a lot less focus in this one.... yet in the end, Ronan's plot converges with the series plots in wonderfully unpredictable but beautiful ways. Again there's another open ending that'll leave you puzzled and frustrated but still eager for the next title, still eager to see how Maggie will complicate these plot threads even further.

6. (+) Villains - I was slightly disappointed in the villains of The Raven Boys. They were very real people, but Barrington Whelk was so pathetic, I had a hard time taking him seriously and Neeve was too mysterious for me to understand (her danger). The villains in this book? One of them is so ridiculously charming that I honestly can't compute the violence that he/she commits with his/her personality. Psychopath? Potentially. And yet somehow I'm still rooting for him/her? The other was damaged and used to great effect to highlight Ronan's own character growth. A foil but a dangerous foil. A wacky foil who you'll never be able to predict.

7. (+) Character Growth - The best part about this is that MOST of the characters grow in this novel even though it's primarily centered on Ronan. Adam, you remember what happened to him in the previous book? Well, he'll have to deal with the consequences. Gansey, you remember how Blue compares the vision of him at the beginning to how he seems at the end? Well, his facade is starting to crack. Blue, you remember how she wasn't quite sure of her place until she joined the boys? Well, that's even more evident now. Ronan will obviously have to deal with the problems his power presents... and the other characters? Maybe they don't grow so much as you learn more of their secrets. And my, what complex people they all are.

8. (+) Writing - Oh, how I love Maggie Stiefvater's writing. This woman is so talented. She can go from humorous to sweet to tragic in one scene. And always I shall repeat: no one can create as atmospheric of a mood as she can. Here's an example of the kind of scene she can set: "At that particular moment in time, Richard Campbell Gansey III was ninety-two miles away from his beloved car. He stood in the sun-soaked driveway of the Ganseys' Washington D.C. mansion, wearing a furiously red tie and a suit made of tasteful pinstripe and regal swagger. Beside him stood Adam, his strange and beautiful face pale above the slender dark of his own suit. Tailored by the same clever Italian man who did Gansey's shirts, the suit was Adam's silken armor for the night ahead. It was the most expensive thing he had ever owned, a month's wages translated into worsted wool. The air was humid with teriyaki and Carbernet Sauvignon and premium-grade fuel. Somewhere, a violin sang with vicious victory. It was impossibly hot" (255).

9. (+/-) Pacing - As I've said before, I do find character-driven stories to be paced slightly slower than others, and I think my perception of The Dream Thieves and its pacing was also affected by my preference for the plot in the first book. I just wasn't as captivated and it seemed the pacing was slow in the beginning -- probably for that reason, for that personal preference.

10. (+) The Cover - I still prefer the one for The Raven Boys, but having read The Dream Thieves, this one is so utterly appropriate that I cannot complain.

(For those curious -- why I didn't like this one as much as The Raven Boys. This, I believe, is all personal preference. This book is executed wonderfully, but I'm more of a sucker for the tension that drove the beginning of The Raven Boys. And also a sucker for the quest plot vs. the harness-your-power plot.)

Maggie Stiefvater has produced a sequel full of her usual charm and wit, beautiful writing and realistic characters--a sequel full of magic that's sure to enchant readers of all ages. Highly recommended. I can't wait to read the next book!

PS - For those of you who have read The Dream Thieves, there's a wonderful discussion thread on Wendy Darling's Goodreads review. It made me realize that I'd missed some of the nuances in this story. So much fun to guess what'll happen in the future books.

posted by ChristinaReadsYA on September 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

why is this book 19 $ ?!?

why is this book 19 $ ?!?

posted by Mrs-Warner83 on October 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    OMG, just what the...wow, I was contemplating 4 to 5 stars. Near the end there, it made me go, that's like this is so 5 stars. I loved the first book, having heard of the author's wolf series. But thought to read this series first. I was very happy to see Blue and the boys again and her family. So looks like this one focuses on the 5 again, but mostly Ronon. And boy does it. Moments where I was like, just what's going on? And now I'm confused and so forth. And a moment or two where I'm like, no why would you do that? Well it had to be done now didn't it? But was still a little sad about it. Or disappointed? And damn it, another cliffhanger. Good thing I didn't have to wait for this one. But now have to wait for the third. What the fudge? Love the cover but would have liked it better with just the ravens like the first book had you know? It's not bad or anything but looks like a lot is going on you know? Still eye catching know. Really liking the series so far, its characters, writing style and the pace, not to mention the bromance with these four and of course Blue as she tags along right beside them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Love blue and the boys

    I don't know what it is about this series, but its so captivating. The characters are so unique and vividly drawn out for the reader it helps build interest. I love how all the characters are flawed and a little rough around the edges. Its a pretty easy read, recommend it to all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Henrietta, magic is real. And I want to go there!

    Magic is real. Or so The Dream Thieves would lead you to believe.

    If there's one thing Stiefvater excels in, it's writing a story that makes the magic in it feel completely possible---one where dreams are real, ley lines are woken and sleeping kings can be found. And this is why I love this series. Because there's whimsy surrounding everything in it, even if it is a little dark. With each turn of the page, we're driven deeper into the quest that ensnares Blue and her Aglionby boys. The story Stiefvater tells is one that's wrought with emotion and depth. She weaves this complex net of backstory with so many unexpected twists and turns. There's not a predictable moment in sight. Even the things you think you know are coming, still come as a surprise. She is masterful at creating atmosphere. Every page is rich with intricate detail and the deeper you go down the rabbit hole, the more entangled you become. I am trapped in this world in Henrietta and I never want to leave. But as much as I love the world Stiefvater built, I love the characters even more. Each one is tragically beautiful in their own way. They are truly one-of-a-kind, and not in the trying too hard to be one-of-a-kind either. They are naturally, effortlessly unique which just adds to the haunting atmosphere. Even Henrietta is a character in and of itself. Blue is quirky. Gansey, the old soul. Adam, the troubled nice boy. Noah is a little less smudgey and a whole lot more. And then there's Ronan. The dream thief. I love angry, onry Ronan and am pleased that we get to see exactly why he is the way he is. We're also introduced to a slew of new folks in The Dream Thieves, Mr. Gray being my favourite among them. He's calculating and clinical and never loses his sense of self, despite the revelations that come to him. There are so many reasons to love each and every one of these characters, including the horrifically intriguing Kavinsky. Like Blue with her Raven Boys, with each passing page, I fall a little bit more in love with them. Where I'd say The Raven Boys was in large part a legendary journey, The Dream Thieves is much more a book of discovery. We discover who and what Ronan is. We discover the changes that have occurred to the group at large after waking the ley line. We discover new parts of and people in Henrietta. We discover a whole new world, a world of nightmares. We discover what first kisses feel like and we discover what dreams are really made of. Everything in Henrietta has irrevocably changed since Book #1 and I can't wait to see where the journey takes us. Even though there are still so many unanswered questions by the end of this book, there's one thing I am absolutely certain of: Magic is real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Beautiful, exquisite and engaging

    Another brilliant installment. This one focuses more on Adam and Ronan. Ronan's talents hav drawn the attention of someone who wants him captured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Love this series...

    I really love the cast of characters in this series! I do believe I enjoyed the first book a touch more but this one was still awesome! Can't wait for the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Checked book three days ago just finished it an hour or two ago

    I really enjoyed this book. To me it was step up from her pevious series. Despite the fact i enjoyed reading this book
    I felt there was too many unanswered questions. This is the only reason I am giving this book a 3 and not a 4.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     The Dream Thieves goes much deeper than my brain wanted to proc

     The Dream Thieves goes much deeper than my brain wanted to process a few times. I confess it’s true.

    The trouble (and succeeding delight) was that there are a lot of pieces left dangling well into the 4th quarter of the story. Sharing some of these questions will smack of spoilers for the first book. That’s my warning.

    The Grey Man is downright scary. There was nothing about him that made me like him even after he visited Fox Way and got some sort of green light with sprinkles on top from the fairy godmother(s). I wanted them to treat him like… the lightbulb changer. I doubted their abilities, even.

    Meanwhile the story takes a deep dive into Ronan’s (primarily) distasteful character. The fleeting moments of humanity took a long time to win me (enthusiastically) over.

    Meanwhile… Adam is squeezed even tighter and begins to lose his grip on sanity before I understood what happened in the first book. It was like… catching myself on a slippery slope, only to find that I was hanging on by an itty bitty fern that pulled up by the roots, leaving me slipping down into WHA-?!  For me, Adam was the source of the most impossible tangle of unfinished threads. Threads that very neatly re-arrange themselves into a complicated tapestry by the end. (My reaction? "No. Way. She pulled it off.")

    Plus… Blue/Jane becomes more human and more lovely simultaneously. Gansey reveals his vulnerable side, finally deferring to the possibilities hinted at in book #1.

    The Ending… was more satisfying than I would have imagined possible at the beginning of the 4th quarter. One of the best culminations I’ve read, I think. There’s fire and death, for starters. Explosions. Lightning. Gunfire. But more importantly, there’s acceptance and understanding and a huge sigh of relief.

    Even the epilogue cannot disturb my warm fuzzy feelings of all being (momentarily) right in the world. I think I’m happiest about Persephone. I needed her to prove her worth and now I’m ready to take on whatever else Stiefvater’s got up her sleeve for this crew. 

    They’re my friends now!

    4 Stars - More tangled plot than fast pace, even more believable characters, lots of automotive fun.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the mythology, legends and great pack of friends. Wish the

    Loved the mythology, legends and great pack of friends. Wish the third book was out already, because I'm going to miss seeing these characters till then. Excellent, excellent, excellent read. Thanks Stiefvater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Fun

    I like the story and the adventure, but I think it could have been written better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    It's not often I can say I liked a second book in a series even

    It's not often I can say I liked a second book in a series even more than the first. We jump right in and already think we know a bit of what's going on in Henrietta, Virginia, but Stiefvater just keeps adding more layers to these characters' stories. The bulk of this story really belongs to Ronan. Blue's "boys", as we know, are hunting for Glendower along a newly awakened ley line in Henrietta. Being on summer break from Aglionby is helpful, as those summer days and nights can be spent exploring, or letting off steam. There are great descriptions of land, sky, cars and the heat. Ronan's tragic family past and the new understanding about his father's death may actually help shed some light on Gansey's search. His brothers, Matthew and Declan, play important roles here too, and I liked the way Stiefvater blends in their family issues (and mom's name--which I'm not going to tell you, just to see if you agree!) into the bigger text of the story. And I don't mean to say Blue or anyone else gets pushed aside. Her curse, of course, is still an important plot issue and her family's special traits are very necessary to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Nice

    Very nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars

    This one was some what fascinating. I liked this was focused a lot on Ronan and further explanation of what he can do. He sure is one complex character.

    In this book, not only is there people looking for the “Greywaren” but the ley lines are not what they were in the first book. There was also a moment between Blue and Noah that had me giggling and then pouty.

    There was two things that got under my skin. The first was Adam, I totally didn't like him in this book. Just his way of thinking was making me want to throttled him. The second was Mr. Gray. I understood his character but I thought it was weird how everyone welcomed him with open arms. Then again half of the people were psychic.

    I look forward to the next book to see what happens with Glendower.

    *I received this ebook from NetGalley*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve always been a really big Maggie Stiefvater fan. I have love

    I’ve always been a really big Maggie Stiefvater fan. I have loved everything she’s written so last year when I got to read The Raven Boys which was the first novel of The Raven Cycle I was very excited to get started. I do remember that The Raven Boys had been a read that I had a good time reading, but that I did have a few difficulties with since it did feel very slow paced. Getting to read The Dream Thieves I couldn’t wait to get started because for one thing I would get to read more about Ronan who (from what I remembered) was one of the more interesting boys from the Aglionby Academy.

    In The Dream Thieves we learn about Ronan’s ability to take things from his dreams and bring them into the waking world. Continuing the search for the dead king Glendower, the raven boys and Blue find themselves delving deeper into a world full of mystery, secrets and magic. Between Blue, Adam and Gansey is the fact that if Blue ever kisses her true love they’ll die—and according to everything Blue has seen, heard and knows Gansey fits the bill. But Blue won’t let herself believe that Gansey is her true love and she knows deep in her heart that Adam is the better boy to be with…

    Then there’s Ronan and the matter of the secrets surrounding him and his father’s uncanny ability to steal things from their dreams. But Ronan’s ability is beginning to spin out of control and with it has come the arrival of new threats. One of them being a charming and eerie man in grey, another being a fellow Aglionby student and a total pain in the butt. When things begin to spin out of control, the raven boys and Blue find that their search for Glendower may lead them to things they never expected and shocking revelations.

    Personally I enjoyed The Dream Thieves a lot more than I did The Raven Boys. Mainly because I felt that unlike The Raven Boys there weren’t as many unnecessary introductions to characters, backstories and the like. The Dream Thieves continues right where The Raven Boys left off and keeps up the same pace throughout the story. I liked the change in atmosphere that came with this sequel as well as getting to see into Ronan’s head whereas most of The Raven Boys was strictly Blue and Gansey and a few other characters.

    In The Dream Thieves we do get to see through the eyes of Blue, Gansey, Ronan and a few other raven boys. We also get to see chapters written in the POV (point of view) from a few secondary characters and antagonists. Characters who didn’t get many appearances in The Raven Boys come back in The Dream Thieves and get more chapters including them which I really liked. Plus there’s the Gray Man, a creepy new character who was probably one of my favorite parts of the novel. He was a mysterious, suave stranger who raises some Hell throughout The Dream Thieves.

    The one thing that I was a bit disappointed about was the lack of romance in The Dream Thieves. I did expect that apart from the raven boys proceeding to search for Glendower, Blue, Adam and Gansey would get some time to expand their romance. I was also hoping that maybe some of the other raven boys or secondary characters would get some romance in especially since Stiefvater writes romance so well. Personally I found the romance aspect of this read lacking which did have me majorly sad since the description I read for The Dream Thieves made it sound like there would be way more romance than there was in The Raven Boys.

    I would recommend this series to readers who are big fans of the supernatural, readers who are looking for a new exciting and original read and to fans of Maggie Stiefvater who are definitely going to eat these novels right up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    This book kept me intrigued the whole time! Its a love story mixed in with best friends forever! There is twist around every line!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    The thing is I usually dont like books like this.  I'm a romance

    The thing is I usually dont like books like this. 
    I'm a romance girl myself. I like strong female characters (not to say Blue isnt strong, she just isnt the main focus). Its what I almost always read. 
    But I read Shiver and Linger and Forever and fell head over heels in love with her writing. 
    And to be honest, the writing is what kept me reading. I would give this a 4.5. Because of the writing (oh my goodness the WRITING) and the plot is completely original and for once I honestly didnt know what to expect like I do with most of the book out there in the young adult section.  
    Best book I've read this year. Honestly. Read it. You will not be sorry. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. I hated this book. I think that, in this cas

    I loved this book. I hated this book.

    I think that, in this case, these two statements describe exactly how I feel, still, four days after finishing the novel. I read reviews before hand, and usually I don't care that they're a little spoiler-ridden, but let me start off by saying that Ronan was my favorite character. In some ways, he still is. Nevertheless, due to the nature of the information I found out before hand, I was constantly dreading the point where said information would be revealed. And, to be honest, I wouldn't have even cared if it had been anyone except for Ronan. That said now, I loved his story, mostly. I loved piecing things together about his family, his mind. I loved finding out more about him, and I loved being able to see Matthew Lynch in this story, even though we saw less of Declan. I loved the moment with Gansey and Blue, and I always love Noah. I don't care for Adam. 
    This book was beautifully written, as all of Maggie's work is, and I was glad to have the continued story of the Raven Boys. I loved the detail, the lyrical way the pictures are painted around you as you read, and it breaks my heart to give this three stars. I am eagerly looking forward to, and seriously dreading the next book. Hopefully this revelation of Ronan's stays in the background, so I can more easily forget about it. Ronan was my Cole St. Clair of The Raven Boys, and it's eaten at my heart for a week now, so I'm sorry to have to get this off of my chest. I really did love, and hate, this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been looking forward to this book for months, mainly beca

    I have been looking forward to this book for months, mainly because I was so enthralled with Ronan in The Raven Boys. He was so enigmatic in the first book and shrouded in mystery I could not wait to be unveiled. I just knew he had to have some sort of crazy story behind his dark, cryptic exterior, and I was so not disappointed.

    One of my favorite things about this series is the fantasy world the author created within our own world. There are just things that cannot be explained, but you do not question them. They just are, and they work. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters better in this book, Gansey, Adam, Blue, Noah, and of course Ronan, all feel like old friends now. After reading this book, I definitely want more of Adam. He is such a lost soul, and I cannot wait to see where the author takes him.

    My other favorite thing about this series has to do with the author's writing. She manages to put together her words into sentences into paragraphs into this entire story in such a beautiful and graceful way. I think if anyone else was trying to lay out prose like her, it would come across forced and insincere. But somehow Maggie Stiefvater pulls it off with amazing ease. It makes me wonder if she really sees the world this way and thinks like this in everyday life…what a strange place her head must be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'The Dream Thieves' is the second book in The Raven C

    4.5 Stars

    'The Dream Thieves' is the second book in The Raven Cycle series that continues following Blue and her "Raven Boys" - Adam, Ronan, Gansey, and Noah. Gansey's search for the hidden king continues on, until the day when the group discovers that Cabeswater - the magical forest they've discovered - has disappeared. On top of these problems, Ronan is going through some really hard times in his personal life - not like he'd ever admit it or talk about it with anyone. He's finding it harder to stay out of his dreams and even harder to separate his dreams from reality. While Ronan struggles to gain control of his dreams and the group is trying to figure out how to bring Cabeswater back - a stranger appears in town and just happens to be searching for the same thing as they are. Only this person will stop at nothing until he finds it.

    I absolutely LOVED the first book in the series, so I was really excited when I got to read The Dream Thieves. It deals a lot more with Ronan than the rest of the gang, which I wasn't expecting. Ronan is a rough character and can definitely be a jerk most of the time, but the story lets the reader understand him a bit better and learn more about his life. If I thought Ronan was nothing but a jerk looking for a fight before - I was definitely wrong about him. I'm really glad that the author allowed us to get a better grasp of his character and what makes him tick. It certainly explains a lot about his actions in the series. The majority of the plot revolves around Ronan and his exceptional gift that he inherited from his father. This ability is slowing bringing Ronan's dreams into reality though - and that isn't a good thing. His nightmares are unleashed upon the normal world and it's up to him and the rest of the group to get them under control. Cabeswater and Gansey's quest get put on the back burner a bit with this book, along with Blue and her problems. The writing was phenomenal and I was immediately pulled back into the world that the author created within the first couple sentences of the book. The story is fast paced and has a natural flow that kept me eagerly reading to see what was going to happen next. The author uses vivid imagery and detailed descriptions of everything from the setting to the characters and the occurences in the book - so much so that I easily imagined myself alongside Blue and her boys as they tried to figure out what was happening. There's some action, mystery, adventure, and a bit of romance mixed in with the fantasy and paranormal aspects of the book, so it will definitely appeal to fans of all genres. The only bad thing is now I have to wait (impatiently) for the next book to come out. If you haven't started this series yet, DO IT. It's not like any other series I've read before and definitely gives a fresh take on the genre. Very highly recommended!!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Not my favorite

    First book in the seires, great. Scorpio Races, great. This book? The last 70ish pages were pretty darn good but the first 220 or so... I had to drag through them to get to the part that id been hoping for. It was good but at times a little painstaking to get through. I get the need for back ground and all but if your book is only 300 odd pages long, 200 of them shouldn't be spent on the set up.
    It wasn't my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Review from an ARC. Just a flat out awesome book. I loved The R

    Review from an ARC.

    Just a flat out awesome book.
    I loved The Raven Boys and I was so worried The Dream Thieves wouldn't be as great. Worry not readers!
    The Dream Thieves is arguably even better then the first book.

    Spoiler free review.

    The Dream Thieves is exciting, original, and each and everyone of the characters are awesome.

    Stiefvater is such an amazing writer. Just the way she writes is beautiful and refreshing and original. I could go on and on about how awesome the writing is.

    Now that I've read The Dream Thieves, I know that The Raven Boys was just laying out the characters.
    We learn so much more about them in this book and I really feel like they are some of the most real, relatable characters I've ever read about.

    I honestly feel the same way about all the characters as I did at the end of book one. I still don't hate a single one of them! If anything, I love them more.

    Blue is, without a doubt, the best female character I have ever read about in YA. No drama, no making poor decisions, no "love" at first sight, no pining over a boy, whining about her life and looks, no flat out stupidity. Blue is a real girl. She's funny, smart, and incredibly relatable. No crap from her.
    She's the kind of girl I want to read about. If more female characters were like Blue, there would be a lot less crappy books out there.

    I truly loved all four boys. Normally, I pick just one that I like and I couldn't care less about the others, but oh no! Not with these four! I loved each one of them individually and then put them together? You got yourself one amazing book. Just the dynamic of their relationships were so wonderful. And they didn't pine over a girl, they didn't brood, they didn't say how they weren't good for anyone. They, just like Blue, were real people. And I cared! I cared so much I couldn't sleep because I was thinking about them and their problems. I would spontaneously smile just thinking about something that they said, that I'd read days before.

    And I love how we got in know a little bit more about Blue's family.
    I loved how Stiefvater added two new characters. And not just filler characters. Characters that mean something and are interesting and cool.

    The only thing that is a tiny bit negative is I thought it became a little confusing and complex toward the end. Sometimes I didn't really know what was going on.

    At the end! Holy crap! I cannot wait for book three.

    Overall, The Dream Thieves is a worthy sequel to The Raven Boys. I completely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4