Customer Reviews for

The Dreamer's Dictionary

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Pass it on

My mother read this book often when I was a little girl, as I became a teenager I would borrow her book to look up certain details of my dreams that stuck out,one day as a present my mother gave me my own copy, my girlfriend would always tell me her dreams and I would l...
My mother read this book often when I was a little girl, as I became a teenager I would borrow her book to look up certain details of my dreams that stuck out,one day as a present my mother gave me my own copy, my girlfriend would always tell me her dreams and I would look them up for her eventually I gave her my copy of the dreamers dictionary. Lately I have been having dreams and I am currently without a book :' I had enough going without my Lady Stearn Rbinson and Tom Corbett book that today I am determined to purchase it. It is such a great way to look up your dreams. this book has been around for so many years. I have went to barnes and nobles book store to look at other dream books, my personal opinion is there isnt another that can compare to this one. I suggest you pick up a copy for your self and one for a friend too. I hope my reveiw helped you and you will enjoy it like the trest of our reveiwers comments.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Looks interesting but the content is so, so

The contents is just OK. Not much special

posted by Fren on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Pass it on

    My mother read this book often when I was a little girl, as I became a teenager I would borrow her book to look up certain details of my dreams that stuck out,one day as a present my mother gave me my own copy, my girlfriend would always tell me her dreams and I would look them up for her eventually I gave her my copy of the dreamers dictionary. Lately I have been having dreams and I am currently without a book :' I had enough going without my Lady Stearn Rbinson and Tom Corbett book that today I am determined to purchase it. It is such a great way to look up your dreams. this book has been around for so many years. I have went to barnes and nobles book store to look at other dream books, my personal opinion is there isnt another that can compare to this one. I suggest you pick up a copy for your self and one for a friend too. I hope my reveiw helped you and you will enjoy it like the trest of our reveiwers comments.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    You have chosen well

    i purchased the oringinal book in 1975 and i have never been so
    delighted with a book as i am with this one.

    i am now ordering a new copy since the original is now way beyond
    handling. i now have it safetly wrapped and protected against any more damage. i really feel that you will not be disapointed. i am a true beliver in dreams ( warnings and Luck) remember not all dreams come true
    and some take longer then other to come to you. just use your logic and \common sense. you can't go wrong with this book by these authors.

    i have tried others and they just do not compare to this one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is the Dictionary to use if you are having weird dreams.

    Did you know being bit by an animal is a good omen? It is, but I didn't know that. I had a dream about a dolphin biting me on the hand and according to this dictionary it is a good omen. The dictionary is in plain english and encompasses todays environment. So if you look up an item, it will give you synonyms for that item and expounds on the symbolism. I use this dictionary daily, that is when I dream. I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Dreams

    It is an interesting book. Would recommend. Actually I purchased 2 and gave one away to a person that was in question of dreams.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    I have this book since 1997 (LOVE IT)

    I keep this book on my night table next to my bed. I have many dreams and all in color and if I can't create a movie out of them, I may as well know what they mean.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    bedside friend

    this book has had a place next to my bed for 12 years now - man is my husband jealous! i just tell him the book came first, haha. seriously thoe, the book is very accurate and id be lost without it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2006

    On the money dream book

    I've had this book for over 25 years. It is amazingly accurate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Looks interesting but the content is so, so

    The contents is just OK. Not much special

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2004

    FAKE!!!!!

    My friend has this book, and according to it, i'm going to have an affair. I'm 13!!!!! I ain't havin' no affair!!!!! This book is fake, don't buy it!!!!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2001

    I love this book!

    This book is wonderful! I have had it for 3 years now, and wish I would have bought it sooner. I tell you, dreams are telling you something. And the authors interpert them to a 'T'! I even have four other friends that call on a regular basis to ask me to look their dreams up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    I've had this book since the 1970's

    This is my all time favorite dream book. I have been studying dreams for almost 25 years and always go back to this book. I bought this paperback copy because my original hard-cover copy was falling apart. Awsome book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    The most ACCURATE I've read!!!!!

    I borrowed this book from a family member to get an understanding of my dream. This book was right on point from A-Z. I have purchased a copy for myself and my grandmother who is very much into dreams and what they try to tell us. She was VERY impressed with her copy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    dream book

    A little off the subject at times, but many meanings are on the money. We have different dreams that mean one thing or another, and most likely are taken personal at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    Excellent Guide to Dreams

    This is a very complete and consise book for helping one to understand the meaning of his/her dreams. It is simple to use and gives good detail. Because of its popularity, both at home and at work, I had to purchase several copies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    fakers

    I think some of the reviews here are fake. Isn't it funny that for all the dream interpretation books, theres always a lot of people that like Dreams: Gateway to the True Self, all posted on or near December 3rd? I smell someone posting many posts posing as different people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    Hang on to this book...

    I had this book years ago, and then gave it away, t hinking I would replace it right away. I don't know why I waited so long. It has references that you would never expect to find. Once I had a dream I was walking through deep, wet, green blades of grass, and at the root of the blades were donkey heads. Believe it or not, I found this exact reference in the book! And I swear I never looked through the book out of curiosity so as to put some image into my subconscious. I am very careful not to do that. Once you get a copy of this book NEVER let it go! I have had so many intense dreams lately that I now MUST replace it. TODAY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    I Love This Book!!!!

    I Think this Book is Great!!! It is so accurate!! Everytime i Have a interesting dream I run to this book. It is a great bedside reference. I absolutly recommend this Book to anyone who enjoys this type of reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2002

    BEST DREAM GUIDE AVAILABLE!

    My family live by this book. It is the most accurate dream analysis I have ever read. If anyone knows of one better please email with the title and author. I have referred to this book for over ten years....when it falls apart, I purchase a new one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    I'm one of the people who dream avidly and can remember my dream

    I'm one of the people who dream avidly and can remember my dreams upon waking. I've had this book for a long time and even though it's falling apart, I refer to it regularly and I'm going to buy a new one soon. I've only owned one other book and look up other references online but in my opinion, I think this book is the most accurate. The only comparable one I've found is the interpretations from Gustavus Miller but I still l prefer this book over him. Remember, these are just interpretations and dreams may have different meanings. Some people may have more powerful or predictive dreams so really, it's up to you to decide if it's for you. I find that it's close enough for me and usually comes to pass two days later. I may not even refer to the book right away but after an "incident" may have passed, I go back, look at the book and I'm NOT surprised to find that the book was pretty accurate. Sometimes you can interpret your own dreams as well by writing them down and you'll eventually find the same dream having the same meaning to you each time. I love this book though and I've brought my sister her own copy as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Excellent book use often

    Excellent book use often

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3