Customer Reviews for

The Drowned Cities

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Questionnn?

    Is this bookbgood for a 12 year old? And is it a good or a bad book??

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    I liked this story

    Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Set in the catastrophic ruins of a future America, THE DROWNED C

    Set in the catastrophic ruins of a future America, THE DROWNED CITIES is a book that consumed my thoughts from nearly the first page forth. To be honest, I didn't expect to love this book. I actually took it for review only because I like to keep my reading horizons expanded. I had looked into the first book in the series, THE SHIP BREAKER, and was impressed by the acclaim it had received. Since THE DROWNED CITIES was a companion and not a sequel, I felt that I could safely jump into the world and not flail in the lost details. For the most part, I succeeded. Once I was able to grasp what this future America looked and functioned as, I was good to go.

    Brutal. The story is absolutely, utterly brutal. Imagine the horrors of the never ending wars, the horrific genocide that has occured on an endless loop in Africa. The horror that we've only seen in newscasts, or movies watched in the comforts of our homes. But the horror is here, in America, and it's happening to you. Warring factions are deadlocked in a ceaseless battle for control of territories. They each claim to be working for the better good, but they only work to scavenge the land, leaving you alive long enough to fulfill your usefulness. This is your America. Flooded. Broken. Poisoned. Are you scared? That is the feeling that filled me as I read THE DROWNED CITIES. I despaired for the world, for Mahlia and Mouse.

    I will probably be flogged for saying this, but in my opinion, Mahlia is a heroine that surpasses the exceedingly popular Katniss Everdeen. I'm not saying that there is anything wrong with Katniss, but I am saying that I connected with Mahlia in a way I never did with Katniss. Mahlia's spirit, her will to survive, is one of the strongest I've ever read. She is faced with near impossible choices, with no sure or easy outcome. She makes dangerous choices, sometimes the wrong choices that cost those around her, but she stands behind the decisions. Although Mahlia isn't technically a soldier, she is at war. She is simply another casualty of the war around her.

    In the end, you can do with THE DROWNED CITIES as you wish. You can read it strictly as an epic adventure. And it most certainly is. The journey that Mahlia takes is entertaining and tension-riddled as they come. You can also read the story as an allegory. A cautionary tale on the consequences of destroying the earth, and of war. Or you can do what I chose and accept it as both. THE DROWNED CITIES is a story that took me on a brutal, beautiful, terrifying, and thought-provoking journey. And although I did not need to read THE SHIP BREAKER to enjoy this, I have already ordered a copy so I won't miss a single moment of the haunting tale.

    Favorite Quote:

    " 'Lock it away,' the half-man whispered. 'You feel, after. Not now. Now you are a soldier. Now you do your duty for your pack. If you break, your Mouse will die, and you with him. Feel, after. Not now.' " (pg. 196)

    "None of it made any sense. He hadn't done anything one way or the other to end up where he was. The tide of war had rolled in and swallowed him up, and Banyan Town with him, and they'd all tumbled in the surf. And for reasons he couldn't understand, he'd broken the surface and managed to breathe, while everyone else was drowning alive." (pg. 274)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    A GREAT BOOK

    Its a little twisted but i recommend it for ages 13 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Emili

    Rides up to the store and buys a new pair of boots and the movie footloose she walks up to the cash register and pays walks out side and puts her boots on and puts her vanns and movie in her backpack gets on her motorcycle and drives off to her house.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Sharo

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Justin

    U mean to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Celia

    The litle 3 year old crawls around the store then she sees a stuffed animal and giggles and hugs it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Dark but very well written

    Just when you think things couldn't get any more down or depressing. . . he takes us a notch further. This book is NOT for the faint of heart. While it has a lot of action and you really do get to know and love the Characters. . . it just left me wanting/needing a glimmer of hope. A ray of sunshine. . .

    I did love the fact that one of the more interesting character's from Paolo's last book was able to be explored a lot more in this one. Very well written. I'd recommend this book to anyone that I think could handle it. I don't know anyone like that right now though. :-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Jade to nolan

    "Umm thanks." She says and rins out of the store with her ond hair flowing behind her. "Omg this is like the third guy thats been hitting on me today!"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Jade to liana

    Jade sits in the empty house wondering wats going on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Liana

    Go to aprtments second result.thats my house. Btw i dont have kids aymore. Just you andmy golden retriever janet. I wa tired of rping them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Liana

    Buys a small packet of doritos and eats them through out the store. She buys new sheets for every girl and pays at the register. She puts them in the trunk of her car and drives home.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Loved reading it - hated when it ended.

    Paolo Bacigalupi is my new favorite sci-fi author. I inhaled this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    JELLOH go all?

    IF U LIKEZIZ JELLOW (I NO I SPELLED THT RONG) SAY I ND SING ABOUT SOX OKI???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
    LALALALALALALALALALALALAALAALALAALALALALALALALALALALALAALALALALAALAAALALALALAAAAALAAAALALALALAALAALAAAAAAAAAALAAAAAALAALALALALALALAAALAAAAAAALALLAALAALAALALALAALALALLALALALALALALALALLALALALALLA SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX OX SOX SOCKS SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOSOSOX XX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SOX SIX SOX SOX SOX SOX SIX SOX SOX SOX SOX AOX SOX SOX SOX OX SOX SOX LLALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALAALALALALALALALALA JK LALALALA TTYL LALALALALLALALLALALALALALLALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALLALALALALAALALA UWG GFVGT FNCHLG GK CFGF HSV GD CHEVY V U RGOVQGQGOOGOOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOGOOGHOOGGOGOOHOOGOOGOOGOOGOOOGOOOGOOGOOGOOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGGOGOGGOOGOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOOGOGOOGGGOGOGOGGOOGGGOGOGOGOGOGG BE BE BE MY BFF CUZ IDK WUTS COMING NEXT IL BE LMHO WITH THE RST SO TTYLXOX DERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDEPDERPDEPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPPDERPDERPDERPHRHDHSJWIQOQOJDDBDBFDSOAPABDOMEN EHEOWJDNJEIEJEBRBRJRJTJGTJRJGJRJFBRBRHRHFEKWWIQBARFJFKEOQPFUXKFFRJEIEFIChdhdddjeuwjdjfjfueeieiwkqirjgjfbJDHJFDJFJFUCJWQOQPWEJFFBBEBHSIE$--28283747%-'-#81†‡‡‡‡†‡†‡††‡†‡‡†‡‡‡†††††††*37192+$%%%*#¿¿¿¿¿€¿¿FJUWOAPDDNFDEWDBEUFYFHDNDUWIQEF BUTTERFLIES HFJDKWKWDFFKQPQKEJRBBBJJCIFIQPEIEJF FHDJDOAQOJE FHFQLSD FPQ FFFDQ FJA P OLOPOIOOOOOOPPOIKUYHHHG JUDIWUDHF HFUDIQUJFUCIDWODJCUCFUUJUUUUUFFUUFUFUUUYRYRYFYFFFFFFFFFUSOQFJDRYANILGFYFYEUSJDJDUWUQFFDUEEHDOVEUJFIFFDUEIQPQPWIURHFHFBDYEUWUQIEJRBFHEJEIQUEHFBFHEJIIQIEJFUEIUWHFHBFUWURJHEJWJHF FIOWBFBRejdwieddjffiuwjfjvhfejeksiisidfgyfrdisiajdfhFKEOWOEIGJNCNFHDJDUEIQOQEUJCCHFHDAIUHFBJJIWOQQOWFNNNJJJKDPQUEJRHFHFHCJFIUEHFBFHFEJDJDHHAHAAHAAHAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAAHAHAAHAHAHHAH¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿HDJDJSIEIUJF FFJELWWRFJFJREOWEFJVUFJENEJUEIWJFJIIJEJRHCXBFJFUUUEJFJCJUEJFCCUDHEY EHEODBGD DS FQQ G GANHYF FAUEIWOQWRTHDDHRJFJVNDJDJHFDEERGUFJDSWQQEDCCCFKCFWUFWGFYEWWIWPQOWIEIRURUTSLWLDKKFHANCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQQRSTUVWXYZ JGUIIKJVJFJFJCJVJJVVFJFFJKWGYRIOUOUOUOYROPIIJKHKK
    KFGKTG4~`|•??¿¿¿{}[[==_^^¿¿€¿¿¿¿¿?¿¿¿¿¿\<]}?¿~|??¿¿}}[==_^¿¿€€¿¿¿¿¿¿¿\<>]]<<¿¿¿?¿¿¿¿¿¿€€¿^^_=[[}}{¿¿¿¿???|`~¿?¿¿\<=[{¿¿^|~|?¿{}_¿¿`hfewrryiitryii
    NjkkkgkfkrykeiiigkkjghyKGKJJFJGRUTBEJHFHVLALALALAHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHHOHHOOHOHHHOHOOHOHOHOHOHHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOHOOHOHHOGOHOOGOGOGPHOHOHHHOHOHHHOHHHHOHHHHHHOHOHOHHOHOHOHOHHHPHHHPHPHPOHHP
    TY I HAV NT READ DA POOOK YET BUT OK¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿
    I LOST THE GAME HAH
    XOX?

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Good, but not as good as The Windup Girl. This is well worth yo

    Good, but not as good as The Windup Girl.

    This is well worth your time, though. Well-written, though-provoking and well-paced.

    But, Bacigalupi is on dangerous downwards path. The brilliant thing about The Windup Girl was that it mixed beauty, squalor and violence in roughly equal parts. Ship Breakers was heavy on the squalor and violence, lighter on the beauty. Here, the beauty has almost vanished. Depressing is the overriding feeling.

    So come on, Paulo, get back to the balance of The Windup Girl, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Wonderful!!

    Im not completely finished with this book but from the very beginning it sucked me in. Recommend you get the free preview ( first 85 pages) and check it out before you buy it. Great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    WAFFLES

    I like waffeles

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Real review?

    Has anyone read this book who can leave a ligit review? I'm curiously interested.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3