Customer Reviews for

The Duck Commander Family: How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

If you follow Phil Robertson, or duck dynasty. This book gives inciteful background on the lives of one of the greatest sounthern families. I am proud to see southerners that express what the south is all about. Rather than the stereotypical southern reality show that
...
If you follow Phil Robertson, or duck dynasty. This book gives inciteful background on the lives of one of the greatest sounthern families. I am proud to see southerners that express what the south is all about. Rather than the stereotypical southern reality show that
shows southerners in a unfavorable light. MAY GOD KEEP HIS BLESSINGS COMING ROBERTSON FAMILY!

posted by mek13 on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Non Lendable?!  For $12 I can buy 2 paperbacks and let my whole

Non Lendable?!  For $12 I can buy 2 paperbacks and let my whole inner circle of family and friends read it...  Wake up!  Let's enter the digital age, mm-kay?! 

posted by 17064210 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good Read

    If you follow Phil Robertson, or duck dynasty. This book gives inciteful background on the lives of one of the greatest sounthern families. I am proud to see southerners that express what the south is all about. Rather than the stereotypical southern reality show that
    shows southerners in a unfavorable light. MAY GOD KEEP HIS BLESSINGS COMING ROBERTSON FAMILY!

    33 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Written by common everyday people that face everyday problems wi

    Written by common everyday people that face everyday problems with a strong belief in God and Family.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    As a new fan of the Duck Dynasty show on television, I was excit

    As a new fan of the Duck Dynasty show on television, I was excited to buy a copy of Duck Commander Family because I wanted to know more about the Robertson clan. This book definitely did not disappoint me. It’s well written, honest and very entertaining.

    I loved the fact that Duck Commander Family is written from the points of view of both Willie and his wife Korie. There is definitely a difference in the way they were both raised as children, so to get the two perspectives enhances the reality of the book. Willie, a “redneck” country boy, was raised with a lot less money than Korie, who is a self-proclaimed city girl. So when the two get together, it’s fun to see the dynamics of clashing cultures.

    The book centers on the Duck Commander business, which has been operating for over forty years. Phil Robertson, who is Willie’s father, started the business in his house. With a lot of hard work and salesmanship, Phil, along with the rest of the family members have made duck calls a multi-million dollar business, with Willie as CEO. This is not just a G-rated story about backwoods country folk who got rich. This is about raising and redefining the meaning of family, to include adoption, foreign exchange members, and friends.

    My favorite part of Duck Commander Family is getting to know each character a lot more. Whereas the TV show Duck Dynasty does not reveal each member of the main characters' families, the book does. That depth alone makes it worth buying the book, and adding that it is extremely well written makes it a well deserved best seller!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Loved it! What a great feel good book about a funny, Christian

    Loved it! What a great feel good book about a funny, Christian family!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I loved this book I grew up around the same area they live now.

    I loved this book I grew up around the same area they live now. I love their show and I love this book its like the show.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Non Lendable?!  For $12 I can buy 2 paperbacks and let my whole

    Non Lendable?!  For $12 I can buy 2 paperbacks and let my whole inner circle of family and friends read it...  Wake up!  Let's enter the digital age, mm-kay?! 

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    :)

    I only got a free sample but that sample was the greatest thing ive ever read

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Good book

    Enjoyed the book, its about 200 pages.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Love the Robertson family!

    Great read! Glad to have recently discovered Duck Dynasty and also getting to read about this wonderful family's story! Its funny, touching & inspiring.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great read

    I loved it would recommend to anyone who watches the show or is from the south.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Fun and interesting! A family that loves each other no matter wh

    Fun and interesting! A family that loves each other no matter what the circumstances. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Rivetting introduction

    This is a tad bit different, but this book has an excellent free sample. The intention of a free sample is to give you a good feel for the book, but often, lately, free samples have been 90% "legal stuff" pages. This sample really sucks the reader in and leaves them thinking "I can't stop there! I have to buy it, right now, so I can keep reading! I am looking forward to the rest of the book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    This book makes me say " Hey Jack!"

    Si is awesome!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!! Their life is about morals & values

    I am not a reader, but once I started I could not stop

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!

    I ordered this to read on my Nook, and while I didn't get the pleasure of glossy color pictures (as in a book), I devoured the story of one of the best shows on TV. They are an amazing family, with a story that is probably not quite what you expect!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    This is a book I really enjoyed reading. Duck Dynasty is one of our favorite shows to watch as a family, and learning the history behind Duck Commander calls and all about the family that makes up the business was interesting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great reading about a family of faith

    One of the best books l have read. Love the tv program and the fact that the family believes in God and always prays before the meals. Great morale values and all the children show their respect for adults. New parents can take a page from this book on rearing children.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love the show, save your money

    I love the Robertson Family and Duck Dynasty but this book was terrible. The stories were rushed and underdeveloped. I think a different ghost writer may have been able to flesh out the bare bones of this book but, as it is, a flimsy tome at best.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Best

    Best EVER

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    The duck commander family

    I am happy,happy,happy with this book! Hey, get this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 275 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14