Customer Reviews for

The Duke Is Mine

Average Rating 4
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Interesting concept that was enjoyable to read.

The Duke is Mine is a book with many facets. Loosely based on the Princess and the Pea, the heroine, Olivia, has been engaged for years to the intellectually challenged Rupert. Olivia¿s mother, who is constantly quoting the Duchess of Scone, would marry Olivia to a wart...
The Duke is Mine is a book with many facets. Loosely based on the Princess and the Pea, the heroine, Olivia, has been engaged for years to the intellectually challenged Rupert. Olivia¿s mother, who is constantly quoting the Duchess of Scone, would marry Olivia to a warthog if it were a Duke. Olivia¿s sister, Georgina, is in the mix to become engaged to Tarquin, the Duke of Scone and son of the know- it- all Duchess. Olivia accompanies her sister on a visit to the Scone estate and when Olivia and Tarquin meet the sparks fly. There are several interesting aspects to this book. I was impressed with how Ms. James handled Rupert¿s condition. His portrayal was sympathetic, even when we knew Olivia¿s betrothal was not what she wanted. Rupert¿s father was also done very well. He and Olivia¿s mother were schemers but the Duke was all concern for his son and the future of the family and one felt sorry for him and his suffering over the son who would never measure up. This is a romance novel so it is never a surprise how it will end, but what is in doubt is how the eventual resolution will be handled. The story was masterfully played out in this case. I would have felt bad if anyone was left with a broken heart but that didn¿t happen. All of the protagonists were treated with dignity and it made the story so much more enjoyable. This book has it all-romance, pathos, snarky dialogue, steamy love scenes, action sequences, and all of it is wrapped up in a great story. I haven't read the other books in this series but I am going to do so after reading this one.

posted by SharonRedfern on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Horrible book

I have NEVER not been able to finish a book, but this one was beyond boring. The writing was horrible & repetative. Don't waste your time or money buying this book. Only reason i gave it a star is because i had to to post my review.

posted by 11424757 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting concept that was enjoyable to read.

    The Duke is Mine is a book with many facets. Loosely based on the Princess and the Pea, the heroine, Olivia, has been engaged for years to the intellectually challenged Rupert. Olivia¿s mother, who is constantly quoting the Duchess of Scone, would marry Olivia to a warthog if it were a Duke. Olivia¿s sister, Georgina, is in the mix to become engaged to Tarquin, the Duke of Scone and son of the know- it- all Duchess. Olivia accompanies her sister on a visit to the Scone estate and when Olivia and Tarquin meet the sparks fly. There are several interesting aspects to this book. I was impressed with how Ms. James handled Rupert¿s condition. His portrayal was sympathetic, even when we knew Olivia¿s betrothal was not what she wanted. Rupert¿s father was also done very well. He and Olivia¿s mother were schemers but the Duke was all concern for his son and the future of the family and one felt sorry for him and his suffering over the son who would never measure up. This is a romance novel so it is never a surprise how it will end, but what is in doubt is how the eventual resolution will be handled. The story was masterfully played out in this case. I would have felt bad if anyone was left with a broken heart but that didn¿t happen. All of the protagonists were treated with dignity and it made the story so much more enjoyable. This book has it all-romance, pathos, snarky dialogue, steamy love scenes, action sequences, and all of it is wrapped up in a great story. I haven't read the other books in this series but I am going to do so after reading this one.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Beautifully writen, heartfelt, and wonderful!

    LOVED this book. I stayed up until dawn to finish it in one day. Eloisa wrote an almost perfect love story. I won't describe the story, because others have done so before me. I will share how it made me feel... I laughed, cried ove the Duke's loss, and felt redeemed at the end of the story. BRAVO Eloisa!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    I just love this book!

    Eloisa James does a great job in this retelling of The Princess and the Pea. What I really like about her books is that the characters talk to each other. I love the banter between Olivia and Georgiana, and the whole issue with the mattress (oh, the mattress!) is hilarious. I've enjoyed every book in this series so far, and this latest installment is just as good, if not better, than When Beauty Tamed the Beast or A Kiss at Midnight. This goes in the "Read Again Soon" pile.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Horrible book

    I have NEVER not been able to finish a book, but this one was beyond boring. The writing was horrible & repetative. Don't waste your time or money buying this book. Only reason i gave it a star is because i had to to post my review.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Cant even make it past chapter 1

    I cant even make it past chapter 1. I read the first book in the series and it was good, but this one is just awful i my opinion. Im glad i borrowed it from my library. Now i can return it without having wasted my money.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Save your money and avoid this awful book

    I have often liked Eloisa Jame's books. Not this one. While initially charmed that her heroine was overweight (and I don't mean chunky or heavy but morbidly obese), the fact that it came up in nearly EVERY scene of the whole book made me want to scream at the heroine "Stop whining and apologizing for it and accept who you are or lose the pounds!" I put it down and picked it up repeatedly, struggling to get through the story but it never improved. It was awful.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happens when what you anticipated to occur does not?

    Miss Olivia Mayfield Lytton has been promised to a titled man since before her birth. It is not the relationship she seeks but duty calls when a there is the possibility of a title in your future even when you are not suited to the position. Now Olivia¿s twin sister Georgiana would fit the role perfectly but she being born seven minutes later negates the point unfortunately.

    The nuptials are postponed as Olivia¿s future husband fulfills his duty to his country in the military. With time on her side Olivia and Georgiana travel to find Georgiana a husband, which just might be Tarquin Brook-Chatfield, Duke of Sconce. However, if he is looking at one sister to be his wife, why is he kissing the other one? Quin has had one disastrous marriage and trying to avoid another by not letting his emotions rule his decision. With Olivia¿s lips pressed to his that is not as uncomplicated a feat as it should be. Quin¿s heart will not listen to anything he is saying and the passion he cannot control is making him do illogical things, which he does not believe in. Quin knows she belongs to another but that is not going to stop him from chasing after her and convincing everyone including Olivia that destiny brought them together.

    Eloisa James knows how to hit every romantic note written. She brings the love on in waves so that it warms your soul and melts your heart at the perfect time. I was a little put off by the treatment of one character but if this is historically accurate than the reaction was probably accurate.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I usually like Eloisa James, but this was terrible

    I did Not like the heroine at all. Selfish, spoiled, entitled, rude. The hero also was spoiled and rude. All he felt was lust. Not a sinle redeeming characteristic between the two. Lots of witty banter, all of it sexual though. Very little depth of character, no plot whatsoever, and two shallow people who lust for one another. Don't waste $$. If you have to read it, check it ou from the library.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No thank you...

    I love this author but this was by far the worst i have read by her, i was greatly disappointed with the tedious repetition and the continous explanations that took away from the current story.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    A charming adaptation of "The Princess & The Pea"

    I love Eloisa James. However, I will be the first to admit there are times that her books do not always rank among my favorites. However, with "The Duke Is Mine," I felt that she really created a wonderful, charming tale. I admire the fact that she has taken these old fairy tales (e.g., "The Princess and the Pea," "Beauty and The Beast," and "Cinderella") and changed them to fit into the historical romance format. "The Duke Is Mine" is perhaps my favorite of her entries. I absolutely adored the character of Olivia Lytton. She was charming, witty, but also had her vulnerabilities. Our hero of a Duke, Tarquin, also was enjoyable, although I did feel that he remained more on the back burner than Olivia. Although I had a good sense of his character, I don't think I could relate or know him as well as I did with Olivia. Ms. James also, in Olivia, created one of the few historical romance heroines who not only was a fully realized character, but didn't seem uppity. I could completely relate to Olivia and felt as though, if she were a real person, I very much would have enjoyed having a cup of tea with her. Her twin sister, Georginia, seemed to be a little too lofty, and someone who I wouldn't have wanted to take the time to get to know better - although, in the end, she was perfectly lovely. One of the most sympathetic (almost bordering on pathetic) characters in the novel is Rupert, Olivia's original betrothed. I felt deeply sorry for the young man, who seemed quite aware of his limitations, but despite that tried all he could to live with honor and uphold the dignity of his family. The resolution to his portion of the story brought tears to my eyes as I sympathized greatly with him. I appreciated the compassion and sisterly love that Olivia showed to him at that time. My only complaint about the subplot with Rupert is that it almost seemed as though his ended was forced. There might have been another way to have conclude his part in the story, and his engagement to Olivia, without what happened to him. That, however, is a minor criticism of an otherwise wonderful story. I am sure that this tale will be one of my favorites of 2012, and one that I will re-read often.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    such a beautiful book with a great story line and great ending.

    such a beautiful book with a great story line and great ending. Eloisa James is a great author and one of the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    M

    I truly despise plot spoilers. Rude and inconsiderate ppl who feel they simply have to ruin a book for others. If u want to be an author, write a book. Stop rewriting other peoples books in your so called reviews.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Poo on justin bieber

    This books sucks soo bad that my dead mother is coming back from her grave.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Must read!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was fun, adventurous and sexy. If you enjoy this book check out My Ruthless Prince, It's even better =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Very good romance book!!!!

    Will definitely read more books by this author. Love, love loved this book. Enjoyed the main characters!!!! Highly recommend!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    God this book is stupid

    Awful

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Ehhhh.....

    The concept was interesting initially but the actual end state was disappointing. Not one of he best books thats foe sur

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    So bad I didn't get past page 53

    The characters are moronic and shallow and the story is slooow to start. Try one of her other books. They are much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    You Don't Want To Miss This One!

    Eloisa James' books are magical...and this was one of her best. I thoroughly enjoyed the action, crisp dialogue and plot. She's one of my 'auto-buy' authors. Give this book a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Good

    I liked it. The book didn't go the way I expected it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10