Customer Reviews for

The Duke Is Mine

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Interesting concept that was enjoyable to read.

The Duke is Mine is a book with many facets. Loosely based on the Princess and the Pea, the heroine, Olivia, has been engaged for years to the intellectually challenged Rupert. Olivia¿s mother, who is constantly quoting the Duchess of Scone, would marry Olivia to a wart...
The Duke is Mine is a book with many facets. Loosely based on the Princess and the Pea, the heroine, Olivia, has been engaged for years to the intellectually challenged Rupert. Olivia¿s mother, who is constantly quoting the Duchess of Scone, would marry Olivia to a warthog if it were a Duke. Olivia¿s sister, Georgina, is in the mix to become engaged to Tarquin, the Duke of Scone and son of the know- it- all Duchess. Olivia accompanies her sister on a visit to the Scone estate and when Olivia and Tarquin meet the sparks fly. There are several interesting aspects to this book. I was impressed with how Ms. James handled Rupert¿s condition. His portrayal was sympathetic, even when we knew Olivia¿s betrothal was not what she wanted. Rupert¿s father was also done very well. He and Olivia¿s mother were schemers but the Duke was all concern for his son and the future of the family and one felt sorry for him and his suffering over the son who would never measure up. This is a romance novel so it is never a surprise how it will end, but what is in doubt is how the eventual resolution will be handled. The story was masterfully played out in this case. I would have felt bad if anyone was left with a broken heart but that didn¿t happen. All of the protagonists were treated with dignity and it made the story so much more enjoyable. This book has it all-romance, pathos, snarky dialogue, steamy love scenes, action sequences, and all of it is wrapped up in a great story. I haven't read the other books in this series but I am going to do so after reading this one.

posted by SharonRedfern on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Horrible book

I have NEVER not been able to finish a book, but this one was beyond boring. The writing was horrible & repetative. Don't waste your time or money buying this book. Only reason i gave it a star is because i had to to post my review.

posted by 11424757 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    A charming adaptation of "The Princess & The Pea"

    I love Eloisa James. However, I will be the first to admit there are times that her books do not always rank among my favorites. However, with "The Duke Is Mine," I felt that she really created a wonderful, charming tale. I admire the fact that she has taken these old fairy tales (e.g., "The Princess and the Pea," "Beauty and The Beast," and "Cinderella") and changed them to fit into the historical romance format. "The Duke Is Mine" is perhaps my favorite of her entries. I absolutely adored the character of Olivia Lytton. She was charming, witty, but also had her vulnerabilities. Our hero of a Duke, Tarquin, also was enjoyable, although I did feel that he remained more on the back burner than Olivia. Although I had a good sense of his character, I don't think I could relate or know him as well as I did with Olivia. Ms. James also, in Olivia, created one of the few historical romance heroines who not only was a fully realized character, but didn't seem uppity. I could completely relate to Olivia and felt as though, if she were a real person, I very much would have enjoyed having a cup of tea with her. Her twin sister, Georginia, seemed to be a little too lofty, and someone who I wouldn't have wanted to take the time to get to know better - although, in the end, she was perfectly lovely. One of the most sympathetic (almost bordering on pathetic) characters in the novel is Rupert, Olivia's original betrothed. I felt deeply sorry for the young man, who seemed quite aware of his limitations, but despite that tried all he could to live with honor and uphold the dignity of his family. The resolution to his portion of the story brought tears to my eyes as I sympathized greatly with him. I appreciated the compassion and sisterly love that Olivia showed to him at that time. My only complaint about the subplot with Rupert is that it almost seemed as though his ended was forced. There might have been another way to have conclude his part in the story, and his engagement to Olivia, without what happened to him. That, however, is a minor criticism of an otherwise wonderful story. I am sure that this tale will be one of my favorites of 2012, and one that I will re-read often.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Must read!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was fun, adventurous and sexy. If you enjoy this book check out My Ruthless Prince, It's even better =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Very good romance book!!!!

    Will definitely read more books by this author. Love, love loved this book. Enjoyed the main characters!!!! Highly recommend!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Liked itt

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    A fun rendition of the fairy tale. I enjoyed reading it. And the

    A fun rendition of the fairy tale. I enjoyed reading it. And the love stories popping up all over. Also enjoyed the mystery of how he would get together with her and still have sisters happy.....It was an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Hhhbh

    Bfg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    An Affair before Xmas I am so sorry Elosie I looked at the revie

    An Affair before Xmas I am so sorry Elosie I looked at the review and had not read the book people have to understand you writng in order to get the full meaning of what the story is about I enjoyed I gave it a bad review before even reading it you a a brillant writer and what other don't get a lot of your fan do. I can't wait to read villers story and I am hoping that Beaumont work out as well. I think what people found that they didnot like was so many different people and roles but I was able to appreciate it. I had to wirte this here snice I couldnot correct the mistake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    It's not my favorite of the series, but it was still enjoyable.

    It's not my favorite of the series, but it was still enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Fun book

    Enjoyed this light hearted romance story. I laughed throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    fun

    Fun read. The whole French storyline towards the end was tedious, but otherwise a fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Fun Regency

    The Duke Is Mine is an enjoyable book to read. The author states that this is a takeoff on the "Princess & Pea" fairy tale. The story runs a bit different than most regencies. It is hard to see how Olivia's problem will be resolved. She has been engaged since birth to a Duke's heir, and her twin sister wants to marry the man Olivia loves. Yes, I would recommend this book to regency book fans. I intend to read the "Cinderella" story next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    A good read - I recommend it!

    I have really enjoyed Eloisa James' Fairy Tales series and "The Duke Is Mine" in particular. Yes, working in the mattresses at the end was a little bit of a stretch, but overall it was a great story. I love the fact that the hero and heroine were not endlessly separated by misunderstandings and denials, etc. I was a little concerned at the beginning that the Duke's baggage from the past would recreate a frustratingly drawn out story, but it did not. The characters had reasonable issues, but dealt with them. This is, after all, a romance! ) I really enjoyed reading this one and recommend it, along with the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great story

    I really enjoyed this book. Cannot wait fot her next fairytale installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    I liked the main character Olivia because she had a sense of humor that was ribald and not the norm for her time. The one issue I had with it is that at the ending not much detail was given about her sister Georgiana. If the author is going to spend a lot of time describing her during the book that she should have an ending as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Love this story ...elements we can all relate to!

    I loved this story. I loved the opposing personalities of the two sisters Olivia and Georgiana. I have a twin and can totally relate to that, but aside from that I loved how Olivia was so open and unreserved and still we see moments when she clearly doubts herself. I think that any woman no matter how self assured would admit to those moments too. My one thing that I wish had not happened relates to a minor character-- the other man so to speak-- I wish he had had a different ending but that being said I know that the time frame of this story in some ways probably made it almost necessary for Rupert's ending.
    I can't wait to see what Georgiana's story will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Love it!

    A few qualms about the attitudes toward poor Rupert and them working out how to get out of their betrothals (and trying to cope with honor and morals all through it), but otherwise, a fabulous book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    A good example of how secondary characters can make a story.

    Olivia Lytton and all of society know that she is destined to wed the Duke of Canterwick. How is it that she is falling for Duke of Sconce, her sister¿s suitor? Even stranger is that the Duke of Sconce, who swore never to fall in love after a disastrous first marriage, returns those feelings. Complicating the issue Olivia¿s intended has gone to war to bring Glory to the family name. The story is good, but it is really the secondary characters that carry the tale. The appeal of Olivia and Sconce are dimmed somewhat by her disregard for others and his smugness. It is the Duke of Canterwick and Georgiana, Olivia¿s sister, that are really interesting and make you appreciate how there is often more to people than appearances.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4