Customer Reviews for

ePub-ESV Study Bible

Average Rating 4
( 392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(242)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Great on the Nook v1.5!

My wife and I took advantage of the $99 Nook wi-fi Black Friday deal and when we connected our Nooks to the internet, they promptly updated to v1.5. I had previously purchased the ESV Study Bible for use on another ereader that can handle B&N epubs. However, this Study ...
My wife and I took advantage of the $99 Nook wi-fi Black Friday deal and when we connected our Nooks to the internet, they promptly updated to v1.5. I had previously purchased the ESV Study Bible for use on another ereader that can handle B&N epubs. However, this Study Bible froze up that ereader whenever I attempted to read it. My new Nook with v1.5 software had absolutely no problem loading the ESV Study Bible. This is an excellent version of the Holy Bible and the study aids are tremendous. It was very easy to navigate using the Nook and quickly responded to any section I selected. I would highly recommend this to anyone using a Nook at least with v1.5. I don't know what the issues could have been with earlier reviews that said the ESV Study Bible would not work with their Nook, but I did have this installed in the main storage area of the Nook and not a memory card. I also have the most current firmware. Hopefully, this will help others troubleshoot any problems reading this on their Nook. I would not recommend purchasing if you're using an ereader other than a Nook.

posted by Numbr6 on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I cannot open this book!!!

I also purchased this book and am not able to open it on my Nook. I wrote to Barnes and Noble, but they were of no help in solving the problem. After MUCH frustration, I simply considered a $$$ loss.

posted by 4362115 on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Mixed feelings

    I like the Esv bible but man, so many times when I go to highlight or add a note it closes on me. It states "sorry forced closure". Drives me crazy! The pages lock up sometimes and will not let me go to the next page. It also puts my notes and highlights in different places. Not sure if this happens to anyone else. Thats the down side, the up side is that it has good commentary notes, and I do enjoy reading it.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    A Positive Correction to a Previous Rating

    I went ahead and took a chance and downloaded this Bible Version even thought the "trial version" did not function very well. In the trial version the links were not connected so you couldn't completely verify every function. After downloading this version and doing some quick checks the navigation is pretty good. It's not as fast as a 'hard' copy Bible, but it's good enough. One useful thing you will learn is after you find a verse you are interested in and you want to go back to the table of contents all you have to do is touch the screen and a little slide bar shows up at the bottom of the screen and you can slide it back to the left and it will take you to the beginning where the TOC resides. I will be testing this for the next 5 weeks that I am working in Africa in an isolated location. I should be either very happy or very disappointed.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Works okay

    I have the print version of this and love love it but its so big and hard to carry. I purchased the nook version for portability reasons and have been mostly happy. Some of the links in NT books do not work - so the additional features that are a selling point for this version don't actually matter in some cases. Its a little irritating to go through a book one page at a time but at least it is mostly the littler books. I still use it often and enjoy it but wish all the links worked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Book Great, Software Poor

    The book itself is great; it's very readable with great notes. Unfortunately on my nook it is annoying. It freezes, refuses to open at times, and it takes too many clicks to get back to the text after viewing the footnotes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    This book was hard for me to rate. The ESV is a great translatio

    This book was hard for me to rate. The ESV is a great translation and it has lots of great notes – these get 5 stars. But the rest is a 1 star. Crossway should have gotten together with Tecarta and made this study bible an App!! Sadly this is only an e-book. The best way to use this book is to go to the Contents, than select what part of the book you want. One cannot go to a verse only to book and chapter – after that you turn the pages till the verse comes up. The same with the concordance as well as much of the rest of the bible. Why is there a concordance anyway? There should be a search engine!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    esv study bible

    helpful but repeatts a lot of scripture in notes so far

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Anynomous

    Great Bible the actual book is very big

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    ESV is great!

    DL'ed for Nook. Searcheable, easy to use, reliable translation. Excellent Bible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Excellent Bible, Limited Usefulness

    The ESV Study Bible is an inaluable resource; in addition to the print edition, I regularly consult the Online, iPhone and this Nook version. However, the massiveness of the volume is prohibitive on the Nook Simple Touch. Accessing footnotes is a clumsy process, and searching simply doesn't work; I've waited for several minutes, unsuccessfully, for results. My guess is that the regular ESV Bible is a better purchase, while more comprehensive study tools are unfortunately best left to other devices at present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2