BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

ePub-ESV Study Bible

Average Rating 4
( 391 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Great on the Nook v1.5!

My wife and I took advantage of the $99 Nook wi-fi Black Friday deal and when we connected our Nooks to the internet, they promptly updated to v1.5. I had previously purchased the ESV Study Bible for use on another ereader that can handle B&N epubs. However, this Study ...
My wife and I took advantage of the $99 Nook wi-fi Black Friday deal and when we connected our Nooks to the internet, they promptly updated to v1.5. I had previously purchased the ESV Study Bible for use on another ereader that can handle B&N epubs. However, this Study Bible froze up that ereader whenever I attempted to read it. My new Nook with v1.5 software had absolutely no problem loading the ESV Study Bible. This is an excellent version of the Holy Bible and the study aids are tremendous. It was very easy to navigate using the Nook and quickly responded to any section I selected. I would highly recommend this to anyone using a Nook at least with v1.5. I don't know what the issues could have been with earlier reviews that said the ESV Study Bible would not work with their Nook, but I did have this installed in the main storage area of the Nook and not a memory card. I also have the most current firmware. Hopefully, this will help others troubleshoot any problems reading this on their Nook. I would not recommend purchasing if you're using an ereader other than a Nook.

posted by Numbr6 on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I cannot open this book!!!

I also purchased this book and am not able to open it on my Nook. I wrote to Barnes and Noble, but they were of no help in solving the problem. After MUCH frustration, I simply considered a $$$ loss.

posted by 4362115 on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Good Book -- So-so Software

    The ESV Bible is a wonderful translation, annd this edition is chuck full of extempeeanious infoemation relevant to gaining a deeper understanding of God's Word, but there are features in the Nookcolor's software that are lacking. They are: the Book and chapter are not listed at the top of each page (page numbers are, but Scripture is navigated by book, chapter, verse); notes and highlights are listed on the same feature even though some highlights have no note; notes are not available in one seperate location for easy reviewl; notes and highlights only have page reference, not book, chapter, verse; bookmarks list the first sentence of the page marked -- no other reference than page number given; there is no way to mark where you stopped reading; if you navigate away from your main text, there is no back feature to get you back to he previos section. Therefore, unless you are really wanting the extra study features in this version, any e-ESV will do -- including the free one.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    The Holy Bible, in a highly portable and annotated version

    According to pollsters (Gallup, Barna) the average American home has four or three Bibles. If your home has not achieved this threshold, if you are seeking a highly portable copy, need a larger print version than you already possess, want to add to your collection of translations, or just want a heavily annotated edition, you should consider the Crossway eBook.

    Not being a theologian, I cannot personally offer an authoritative review concerning the validity of the substance of the annotations and commentary; however, I have seen my (Anglican) priest and senior warden have both purchased print editions, so they must think the commentary to be sound doctrine.

    At the beginning of the Crossway are informative essays, including, without limitation, many concerning the history and themes Old and New Testament, an overview of hermeneutics, and a summary of concepts important in Christian doctrine. Within the text of the Bible itself appear live numberings for footnotes and symbols for passage commentary. These, if clicked on, will take the reader to the footnotes and passage commentary themselves. Some readers will like that footnotes and commentary concerning specific passages are on separate "pages" from the Bible text, so they do not distract from reading the English Standard Version text; others may find the Nook mechanics of having to either scroll back or return to the original Biblical page to be an annoyance - frankly, I alternate between the two.

    In addition to the above, one's ownership of this edition (or the print version) authorizes one to access the Crossway ESV online, where one can hear the Bible read aloud as well as access the Bible text and annotations - so the Crossway owner actually "gets" a twofer. I especially like that the Psalms are recorded. They are lovely and comforting to listen to.

    So which to buy, the ebook or the print edition? The portability of the ebook makes this version ultimately a "plus" in my opinion. With the Nook, one can highlight and make notes on passages, so this version is very usable for personal or corporate study. As long as one's ebook battery is charged, or one has a power cord, the Nook version packs a lot of theology, guidance, and comfort into a very light package.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Amazing Bible - Tremendous amount of references and study guides

    This is a fantastic Bible. The sheer volume of extra notes and guides make this an amazing value. They are very insightful and easy to understand.

    I have used it on my Evo 4G and it's pretty easy to navigate, haven't tried it on my original Nook, that could be a bit cumbersome I would think.

    Would have given 5 stars but navigation is a bit difficult.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love it!.... But a little cumbersome to navigate.

    The ESV Study Bible is such an awesome resource, easy to read and fantastic references and notes! Great for anyone who wants to enhance their Bible Study. I highly recommend this Bible. My only hesitation is that I found it a bit combersome to navigate through as the Table of contents is so extensive. However, I am using it on my Ipod Touch and my desktop.... it may be easier on the Nook itself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Esv study bible - nook or kindle

    First,I bought esv sb for nook and I can say it's good. Then I bought esv sb for kindle. Both aplications I use for Nook Tablet 1.4.1.
    In my opinion, both have similar navigation/ kindle has slight advantage here/ but the main advantage for kindle is the speed of swith from main biblical text to notes - really fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Great bible! (Plz read thx) :)

    It is a pretty good version, i personally like NIV or NKJV best. They are probably cheaper also. But i am so glad they have a Bible on nook. Most definately the most important book you will ever read. I love it when God shares a verse with you that has exactly the right words for when your feeling sad. Best way to spend your time is reading the Bible and talking with God. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Awesome

    Only annoying thing is now it doesnt navigate as well. Otherwise great resource

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Great

    Most bibles are hard to understand but this one easier then most just a click away from the study bible

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Almost Perfect!

    I use this almost everyday! I have a leatherbound ESV that I love and I love having the ESV on my Nook... I love the quick references and the jumping between books to see parallel passages. And I love all the search capabailities. I only have two issues with it: 1) there are a lot of bugs with the highlighting and notes. I deleted all of mine just to have it work fast enough to keep up in church. 2) It may be petty but I would really like a graphic for the cover. The grey is just a little dull and it looks like a mistake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Good

    The paper back is better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    5+ study bible, 3+ performance

    +

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    TERRIFIC SO FAR

    I love being able to take notes and highlight. I'm starting to really enjoy the ESV translation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4