Customer Reviews for

The Easy Way to Stop Smoking: Join the Millions Who Have Become Nonsmokers Using the Easyway Method

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

How to Quit Smoking- no if, ands, or butts.

No need for a long review here. About the first three quarters of the book is spent exploding various myths and delusions about smoking (such as smoking relaxing you or getting rid of stress), which sets you up and gets you into the right frame of mind for actually quit...
No need for a long review here. About the first three quarters of the book is spent exploding various myths and delusions about smoking (such as smoking relaxing you or getting rid of stress), which sets you up and gets you into the right frame of mind for actually quitting. At this point, the book wants you to continue smoking while you read it. In a nutshell, the easy way to stop smoking involves two things: one, deciding you are never going to smoke again, and two, don't mope about it anymore, rejoice. Sounds too simple, but after reading the first part of the book, this strategy will make more sense to you.

Lastly, the book cites two main reasons why you will fail: the influence of other smokers, and having a bad day. Having been around for 20 some years and being able to refine it with twenty years of feedback, I feel like this is one of the better books out there on non-smoking.

Also helpful: The Sixty-Second Motivator -short, to the point, and practical.

posted by 207915 on October 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

He makes it sound good!

I was a bit disappointed in this book. I found it to be very repetitive and while the author states he isn't going to lecture you on why it's unhealthy to smoke the whole book continually referred to the stuff we already know which is smoking is bad for your health.

posted by peskind on December 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Quit Smoking- no if, ands, or butts.

    No need for a long review here. About the first three quarters of the book is spent exploding various myths and delusions about smoking (such as smoking relaxing you or getting rid of stress), which sets you up and gets you into the right frame of mind for actually quitting. At this point, the book wants you to continue smoking while you read it. In a nutshell, the easy way to stop smoking involves two things: one, deciding you are never going to smoke again, and two, don't mope about it anymore, rejoice. Sounds too simple, but after reading the first part of the book, this strategy will make more sense to you. <BR/><BR/>Lastly, the book cites two main reasons why you will fail: the influence of other smokers, and having a bad day. Having been around for 20 some years and being able to refine it with twenty years of feedback, I feel like this is one of the better books out there on non-smoking. <BR/><BR/>Also helpful: The Sixty-Second Motivator -short, to the point, and practical.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    Changed my life

    Although the writing was really somewhat primitive and exceedingly repetitive and I did not in any way believe I would quit smoking as a result of reading this book, I was amazed to find, that after years of smoking and quitting and smoking again many times, I found myself a non-smoker at the end of the book and I have not had any desire for a cigarette since then, even in circumstances that would have previously tested my willpower to the extreme. This is not about will power anymore. I simply don't want to smoke and most of the time I don't even think about it as something I used to do or would have done before. I am an educated and thoughtful person and was sure I would not be "taken in" by what felt somewhat gimmicky and slick in this book, almost like an infomercial. But if you want to quit smoking, READ THIS BOOK.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    IF YOU HAVE TRIED TO QUIT SMOKING BEFORE AND FAILED, YOU NEED THIS BOOK!

    I was a 39 year old woman who has been smoking since I was 16 when I discovered this book. I've always vowed to myself that I would NOT be a smoker when I turned 40. I've tried and failed to quit at least 15 times in the last 10 years or so. Nothing worked. I would always tell people how awful it was to quit. You feel as though you're losing your best friend! Think about it, if you started smoking as a teenager, which most smokers did, the coping mechanism you've used your whole adult life is a CIGARETTE! If you're stressed, smoke. If you're sad, smoke. If you're happy, nothing could make you happier than a cigarette! So every other time I've quit, this has been how I felt. Sorrow and deprivation were expected reactions, and, sadly, quickly led me back to smoking again.
    I happened upon this book and it caught my eye. I kind of laughed, thinking, "There IS no easy way to quit smoking!"
    Boy, was I wrong. I read the book in one night. At one point in the book, Allen asks you to go smoke a cigarette. I was kind of nervous because I just knew it would be wonderful and I'd already be depressed, thinking about the upcoming loss. Interestingly, I just got through that cigarette, no enjoyment whatsoever. And that's the last cigarette I've had. There IS no going back. I am SO incredibly happy to be a non-smoker! There was no weight gain, no substitutions, just a very happy non-smoker! It really is possible. I gave the book to my best friend and she quit with no pain whatsoever as well.
    Nicotine has brainwashed us and this book takes that brainwashing away and replaces it with a positive message. Try it! The worst thing that could happen is that it DOESN'T work for you, right?
    I have now passed my 40th birthday and am enjoying my life. I can eat a meal and be completely fulfilled by that meal. No more wriggling around, restless in a nice restaurant because I can't light up and "finish" the meal. What a wonderful feeling.
    TRY IT OUT!! You have so much life to live on your own, without the horrible enslavement of the smoke to drag you down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    If you really want to quit smoking, you must buy this book. You can do it and this book will help.

    This book changed my life. If you smoke, please let it change yours. I wasn't even sure I wanted to quit smoking but this book changed all that. Believe me when I say, I really enjoyed smoking. Almost three years later, I don't ever think about smoking and some times I forget that I was a smoker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    He makes it sound good!

    I was a bit disappointed in this book. I found it to be very repetitive and while the author states he isn't going to lecture you on why it's unhealthy to smoke the whole book continually referred to the stuff we already know which is smoking is bad for your health.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    done smoking

    great simple read and it is not pushy, religious-base or even the 12 steps type of approach. Very realistic and helps give strength and reality to the addiction that it truly is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    Easiest way to quit smoking!

    I had tried many ways to quit smoking but nothing worked until I found this book. Now, ten years and seven month later I'm still not smoking. It was the easiest way to quit. Gave this book to a friend who wants to quit smoking. Three years ago I gave this book to another friend and he is still not smoking!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    Great for some, not for all

    Friend recommended this book and although it was informative...it did not work for me. I believe it works for some people by changing the way you think about smoking..but for others it just did not work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for any smoker

    I read this book in August 2008 and my husband read it a week later. It is now June 2009 and we are still non smokers. We stopped smoking immediately after finishing the book and have never regreted a minute. I had smoked for over 13 years and my husband had smoked for over 23 years. We had both tried numberous methods and this book was probably the least expensive. We were both completely amazed at our success. We did gain some weight when we quit but have gotten it all back off now and are looking at running our first 5K in August. We are so excited to be able to breathe once again. We love taking long walks now and going hiking - something that was just to exhausting while we were smokers.
    This book is easy to read. I read it in about 3 days and didn't want to put it down til I finished it. About half way through I was getting excited about finihishing it so I could quit. Its not expensive, so if you want to stop smoking it can't hurt to try it. Actually my husband didn't want to stop, he only read it to keep me happy and he still stopped! But you do have to read it. I have recommended it to friends that asked me how I did it. They have purchased the book then never read it. They are still smoking and I told them until they read it I don't want to hear any excuses.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The only thing that worked.

    I tried everything; hypnotism, patches, gum, Chantix, cold turkey, tapering off. After 42 years of heavy smoking this is the only thing that worked. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    Wish I read this 10 years ago

    I read this book with intentions of quitting. Thinking yeah right a book that will stop me from smoking. Well it worked. Once I started I couldn't put it down, and finished in less than a day. <BR/><BR/>If you have an open mind this book will work for you. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend this to anyone wanting to quit.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    It REALLY is easy!

    I smoked for 25 years. I had tried nicotine replacement (patch, gum, lozenge, etc.), psycho drugs (Zyban), and cold turkey. Nothing worked, I would be smoking 4 hours after I had 'quit'. I saw a reference to the book, and decided, what the heck, it's only $15, what have I got to lose? WOW! What a book, I took my time reading it, about a week, set my quit date, and haven't looked back. Allen Carr helps you see what the addiction does to your mind, and then he helps you break the cycle. Spend the few dollars on this book, it will change your life!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Excellent book!!!

    I smoked for 35 years and tried quitting many times before I read Allen Carr's book. I had to read it a few times but IT REALLY WORKED. It has been 2 Months today and I have not gained any weight and if a thought comes around about wanting a smoke I will do as the book says.

    If you are reading this then you already made the first step...buy it, read it and become a non smoker. It really is that easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get This Book!!

    This book has changed my life. Allen Carr was an amazing man. I Thank him from the bottom of my heart for 'finally' making me a Non Smoker!! I had smoked for over 20 years. I have tried everything on the market to quit smoking and had just about convinced myself I would die a smoker. My girlfriend had told me about this book, and since I had tried everything else, I figured why not try this last thing. What did I have to lose? This book is outstanding!! Although Allen Carr allows you (and encourages you) to smoke while you are reading the book, I did not. The only thing I disagreed with was that Allen Carr did 'not' recommend using the Nicotine Patch, which I 'did' use. Between the patch (please do 'not' smoke while wearing the patch. I know of 2 people who had died doing so!) and reading Allen Carr's book faithfully (Once I finished reading it, I would open the front page and start all over again) I was 'finally' able to stop smoking and haven't had a cigarette in a year and a half! Never in my wildest dreams did I think I was going to become a Non Smoker. If I can do it, you can do it. This man is amazing and his book is nothing short of a miracle!!! Buy this book and put out those cigarettes for good!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Great Concept - readability not so much

    Great concept and really works except it is too wordy - would recommend the shortened version of the book instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    How to Quit Smoking- no if, ands, or butts.

    No need for a long review here. About the first three quarters of the book is spent exploding various myths and delusions about smoking (such as smoking relaxing you or getting rid of stress), which sets you up and gets you into the right frame of mind for actually quitting. At this point, the book wants you to continue smoking while you read it. In a nutshell, the easy way to stop smoking involves two things: one, deciding you are never going to smoke again, and two, don't mope about it anymore, rejoice. Sounds too simple, but after reading the first part of the book, this strategy will make more sense to you.

    Lastly, the book cites two main reasons why you will fail: the influence of other smokers, and having a bad day. Having been around for 20 some years and being able to refine it with twenty years of feedback, I feel like this is one of the better books out there on non-smoking.

    Also helpful: "The Sixty-Second Motivator" -short, to the point, and practical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    Easy Way is the BEST WAY

    I can't believe I quit smoking. No one can. I haven't had one pang, no moods, no hysterics, no outbursts, I haven't killed anyone, nor have I threatened to. I just read Alan's book, smoked my last cigarette as I read the last page, closed the book, put out my cigarette, and that was it. I'M DONE!! I've been done for over a month now and really believe I am done forever. What a relief. I can hang with the cool people now! Try it. It works. It really, really works. I don't know why it works, but it works. Just do it. You won't regret it. It will change your life. XO K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Smokers this is all you need.

    Allen has a way of understanding the smoker that is refreshing and authentic. Having been a smoker himself he actually understands smokers and doesn't just berate you with all the dangers of smoking (which we all hear enough of anyway). If you are thinking about quitting then take the time to read this book. When I was done, not only did I want to quit, but I wasn't even bothered. Withdrawals were all but non-existent and I feel great! Good luck to you all and keep your head up (your not alone).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If I can do it, anyone can!

    This book is a must read! I was getting ready to try hypnosis to quit smoking. I thought, I better go buy a book and get my mind right, so the whole experience of quitting will be easier for me. I stumbled onto this book and read the whole thing, cover to cover, and 3/4 of the way in the book. I layed down my cigarettes and haven't even thought about picking one up since.
    Although, he tell's you to keep smoking while reading it. I couldn't do it anymore. This book is the "magic pill". I have smoked for 29 years and I layed them down. I cancelled my hypnosis appointment and I now, I am leading a healthy, happy life, as a non-smoker. You can do it too. It was way too easy. You'll see. Life is good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    It works! It really does work.

    I don't know how this book does it but after you read the last page - if you're genuinely interested in quitting smoking - you will not pick up another cigarette. I haven't smoked in a month and have never had the urge to. In fact, when I am around smokers, I find myself seeking refuge due to my intolerance of second-hand smoke.

    The book doesn't really tell you anything you don't already know, which is why I give it only 3 stars for being educational. What it does do is remind you that smoking is merely enslavement and that you are strong enough to break free.

    If you are trying to quit, read this book. Read it twice if you have to. But it will work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6