Customer Reviews for

The Eat Right 4 Your Type The complete Blood Type Encyclopedia

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Too technical

    Just wanted the facts...not so much the science of it. This book reads like a medical journal. I should have gotten a sample first!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Blueprint for your health based on your blood type!

    Dr. Peter D'Adamo attempts to prove that to achieve optimal health, a person should consume a prescribed diet based on their blood type. Now, I am not a scientist. However, I am fairly health conscious and I believe that there is some correlation between diet and blood type. My blood type is 'A -' and his description of Type A individuals was pretty accurate. For example, Type A individuals are described as having sensitive digestive systems and producing a lot of mucus. I have a sensitive digestive system and my body does produce a lot of mucus. Therefore I avoid orange juice, milk, and any other mucus-producing foods. I also avoid drinking beer because it upsets my stomach. Dr D'Adamo also recommended that Type A people adopt a vegetarian diet because Type A people tend to be susceptible to cardiovascular disease. That's also true, but that could be said for other blood types as well. I've dealt with elevated cholestorol despite being fairly health conscious and I also know people who can eat anything and maintain normal to low cholestorol. So, I believe that some people burn cholesterol differently and a factor could be blood type. What I found really useful with this book is that he recommended foods that were beneficial,neutral, and foods to be avoid for each blood type. Overall, this is one of many good diet books out in the market. However, I am also a realist. If you can implement 80% of what Dr. D'Adamo recommends, you will have much improved health!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Sample isnt great

    I've heard a lot about this book. I definitely don't want to buy the book based off the "sample". Its 35 pages of nothing. Literally, nothing but TOC, acknowledgement, and other useless pages. I would rather check it out from the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    New Way to Eat

    I found the book very informative and easy to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Damn :(

    Got his eat right... type o and love it. When I bought this expensive version I was VERY dissapointed! When you get to the food charts, they are too small to read. Tried to enlarge print on my nook... didnt help. $20 WASTED!!!! :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    I bought the paperback version years ago. Now I can use it as reference almost anywhere I go. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to feel better or live longer. I'm a firm believer in what is written in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Fascinating

    I find this whole idea of different blood types needing different foods interesting. I have been following the diet for over a month and have noticed such an increase in energy and still can't believe that grains and veggies will completely satisfy me. So far so good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    How to Treat Your Illness or Disease with Relevant Herbs

    Dr. Peter D¿Adamo has written a very interesting adjunct to his superb book, Live Right 4 Your Type. If you have already read that earlier book, you will find this book adds to your knowledge by letting you know about the latest research about the statistical correlations of various diseases and illnesses to those with various blood types. I wrote down the illnesses that I have more frequently than other people I know, and the diseases I have experienced before reading this book. I checked my experience against what the book reports, and found a high correlation (I have had two additional problems not typical of my Type O blood, and have not experienced three problems often associated with Type O people). I did the same for my wife, who has a different blood type, and found that her pattern reasonably closely matched what is described in the book as well. Then, the book has an excellent discussion of why people with each blood type can be affected differently by each illness or disease. You are also given extensive suggestions for herbal therapies that match your herb type. I have not had experiences with the herbs that were suggested for me, so I cannot comment on how relevant they are. If you already use herbs to improve conditions, you will probably adore this book. If you don¿t use many herbs, you will probably appreciate understanding more about the potential strengths and weaknesses of your blood chemistry. The book is quite thorough in providing articles you can read for more details, and where to access these articles on-line. If you have not read Live Right 4 Your Type, you will find that this book covers almost the same background material but at a much higher level of abstraction. There is a fairly complete discussion of how blood types seem to have developed and what their chemical implications are. In other ways, the book is quite complete in similarity to the earlier ones. For example, you get the food indications for each blood type, essentially like the information in both Eat Right 4 Your Type and Live Right 4 Your Type. Many people are skeptical about Dr. D¿Adamo¿s work. I found him careful about what he had to say. For example, he notes that the risk charts in the book describe how blood type ¿in conjunction with other factors . . . may be [associated with] an increased risk for developing a certain disease.¿ As to the diseases and illnesses, I was impressed to see how much different cancers were broken down by the part of the body affected while different infections were also segmented. I always find it helpful to keep the research-based associations to blood type in mind when I read other books about nutrition, health, and diseases. Perhaps someday other health authors will add this perspective to their work, as well. Until then, I am very grateful to Dr. D¿Adamo for helping me understand how to make the most out of being a Type O person! How can you turn your strengths and weaknesses into resources for improving the quality of your life . . . and those you care about? Keep your mind and your body full of the most helpful resources you can add! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The 2,000 Percent Solution and The Irresistible Growth Enterprise

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What Is Your Type?

    This encyclopedia offers the reader a plethora of information about foods that should be helpful for health promotion. It also provides suggestions for foods that may actually be beneficial to your health and well-being based on your particular blood type, as well as foods to avoid. Inside you will find suggestions on protocols to assist you to prevent certain illnesses and diseases along with information to treat certain concerns that affect your well-being. Dr. Peter J. D' Adamo with Catherine Whitney have done extensive work to provide a valuable resource for people trying to protect and improve their health status. The visual aids provided in the encyclopedia are very helpful and they assist the reader to "see" what the authors are trying to convey; these visuals make it easy for you to understand the different blood types and various other information you may obtain from knowing your blood type. A favorable review: informative as well as enlightening and educational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2