Customer Reviews for

The Edge of Always (Edge Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Amazing series!!!

Has you from the very beginning...then it won't let you go =)

posted by 17990328 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Boring

The first book was fantastic, this second one was flat and boring. It is a 300-page epilogue that tries to stretch the original story without really adding anything consequential. I loved the characters in the first book, but in this one I got tired of them. I was hopin...
The first book was fantastic, this second one was flat and boring. It is a 300-page epilogue that tries to stretch the original story without really adding anything consequential. I loved the characters in the first book, but in this one I got tired of them. I was hoping for them to finally grow up, but everything they did was try to repeat what they had done in the first book. There was nothing really exciting to keep me interested. I ended up skimming through paragraphs at a time and I could not wait for it to finally end. The first book is a stand alone, and I would have been better off not wasting my time with this one.

posted by EmmaGR on November 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Boring

    The first book was fantastic, this second one was flat and boring. It is a 300-page epilogue that tries to stretch the original story without really adding anything consequential. I loved the characters in the first book, but in this one I got tired of them. I was hoping for them to finally grow up, but everything they did was try to repeat what they had done in the first book. There was nothing really exciting to keep me interested. I ended up skimming through paragraphs at a time and I could not wait for it to finally end. The first book is a stand alone, and I would have been better off not wasting my time with this one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Amazing series!!!

    Has you from the very beginning...then it won't let you go =)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     I fell in love with Andrew and Camryn and their story in The Ed

     I fell in love with Andrew and Camryn and their story in The Edge of Never and have been anxiously awaiting the release of The Edge of Always, which picks up shortly after The Edge of Never ends.  Everything seems to be going well.  Andrew and Camryn have made it through a really, really tough time after Camryn almost lost Andrew, and they are planning a trip back to Raleigh to see her mom, considering possibly moving there for a while.  After arriving in Raleigh a series of events unfold and Camryn sustains another devastating loss, one that almost destroys her.  She has endured so much grief and loss over the last few years and her coping mechanism has been to try to push it all down and forget it, burying the hurt and the pain.  Andrew is hurting to, but he is more concerned about Camryn.  The girl he managed to uncover on that road trip 5 months prior is slowly disappearing inside herself once again.  He's been kind of walking on eggshells around her, a fact that bothers Camryn even more, even though she doesn't say it.  That combined with the concern of her best friend Natalie, and her mom, drives Camryn to do something she never thought she would, which eventually blows up in her face and causes Andrew to realize just how damaged Cam is from the series of tragic events that have occurred over the past 3 years.  With the help of Natalie and his brothers, Andrew devises a plan to help Camryn face and deal with her grief, with the goal of reviving the person who is the other half of his soul, as they go back to the place that they both feel most at home, on the road.  




    I really enjoyed The Edge of Always.  It is told from both Camryn and Andrew's POV, which I enjoyed also.  I have to say that Andrew Parrish is an amazing man and I am totally in love with him.  I don't think they make them any better than him, seriously.  He could be considered a modern day Prince Charming with a sexy alpha side hiding underneath all that hotness.  He and Camryn go through a lot in this book, but the one thing that impressed me so much was that their love for each other never failed.  It was solid, like a rock, and when life's circumstances threatened to crush them on more than one occasion their love was the one thing that never wavered.  Sure, they may have had a questionable moment or two, but inside they both knew what they had in each other, were secure in it, and knew that their's was a relationship that was meant to last for a lifetime, and even beyond.  I admire Redmerski for not throwing in a love triangle, cheating, or the like for dramatic effect in this novel.  The romance and passion between Andrew and Cam was like a blazing fire and continued to be so, despite any circumstance they faced, growing brighter over time instead of slowly burning out.  I loved being a part of their journey on that road trip called life, and being able to see the events that transpired in the process.  Though they may live in one place for a season, the place they feel most at home is when they are on an adventure, exploring the world has to offer them.  The Edge of Always was not  as intense as The Edge of Never and had kind of a different feel to it, but it was also very satisfying and sweet, and I especially enjoyed the way J.A. Redmerski brought closure to Andrew and Camryn's story with a wonderfully satisfying epilogue.     

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Amazeinggggg

    I really enjoyed this book

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Ugh

    No plot. Forced myself to finish it because I loved the first book. I'm confused by the positive reviews because I found it boring and disappointing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Rating: 4.5 of 5 ¿¿ Life is certainly looking up from





    My Rating: 4.5 of 5 ¿¿




    Life is certainly looking up from when Camryn Bennett first met Andrew Parrish. They had some really difficult times in the past five months, but so far everything was looking good, although they stopped travelling. Not quite sure where they were eventually going to end up, Camryn wants to be close to her mom and Nat and Andrew is happy wherever Camryn is. 




    Neither need much to live, and they are happy picking up work as they need it. But their sense of settled happiness is short lived, when yet another tragedy befalls them. Camryn seems off, avoiding to discuss or process their misfortune, trying to force life back into a pattern. Instead, she slowly seems to disappear from Andrews grasp and he is shocked when he realizes how deep her denial runs.




    The only thing he knows to do is to once again pull away all predictability and set out on a new journey. They have their love, and trust in each other and they will try to rediscover their passion for life and their determination to carve out their own unique path in life, without fear. 




    *****




    A worthy sequel to THE EDGE OF NEVER!  Beautifully written, again with that unique perspective on life, this time as wanderlust and the need to settle are at odds.




    The concept of living in the moment is something that has come to Andrew as natural as breathing. For Camryn it has taken some adjustment, she isn't as emotionally 'free' as she appears to be. Camryn's coping mechanism has historically been avoidance, with as a result that she has some deep rooted unresolved grief that holds her hostage and prevents her from truly moving forward. 




    Andrew often understands Camryn better than she understands herself and he tries to find ways to help her come to terms with her past and current pain, without pushing her too hard. He has his own fears to deal with, but they seem to diminish next to the extent of Camryn's anxiety. Andrew is the ultimate facilitator and protector and carries wisdom well beyond his years.




    The story brings us all the way through to what would probably be their mid-life, where circumstances once again allow them to reinvent the content of their lives. The lessons are no less valuable in this book than they were in the first. Regardless of your life circumstances, you always have choices, you can always give create the life that you want. All you need is a creative, adaptable, hungry and open mind, and the possibilities are endless. 




    Amazing messages; pitting 'need' against 'want', valuing experiences over possessions, maximizing choices and minimizing obligations and filling needs instead of creating them. 




    ¿A rich, moving, sensual and liberating journey of love¿




    **ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Forever in return for an honest review.**

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Should have ended it in the first book...

    I absolutely loved the first book and after reading it I knew I had to read this one. One word: BORING! The beginning was good and got me into it but towards the middle and through the end was nothing but pointless information that just wasn't interesting to read. I only finished because I had such high hopes that it would intrigue me again but it didn't. The author definitely lacked in this second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Moving

    I love this book as much as the first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow! The edge of never was my all time favorite book ( and I read about 4-5 books a week) but I now have two favorites! Camryn and Andrew are amazing. This book had me on edge so bad...I was laughing and wanting to cry. The emotions in their story are so real! Def reccomend this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    A wonderful sequel

    I laughed and I cried...actually I sobbed when Andrew explained toward the end of the book why it was ok to name their little girl Lilly. If only every man was like Andrew the world would be a more loving place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Its okay

    Nothing happened in this book. I felt like I was reading a 300 paged epilogue about a honeymoon. Its boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    I read and reviewed The Edge of Never back in September and I re

    I read and reviewed The Edge of Never back in September and I really enjoyed it. Andrew and Camryn's journey together was a memorable one and I was happy with the way everything fell into place. When I heard there was a sequel and then read the blurb I was overcome with nerves. These two had already been through so much- how much more could they endure?

    Andrew and Camryn are two of the strongest characters I think I've ever read about. They have been placed through the ringer time and time again and still manage to come out on the other side stronger. While The Edge of Never was about learning to let go and let yourself fall in love- I found The Edge of Always to focus more on strength of self and how to overcome life's trials and tribulations and create a life that makes you happy. I absolutely thought this book was beautiful in every way and I really believe Redmerski did an excellent job of wrapping up Andrew and Camryn's story. You can really break this story down into two parts: the first part, was about overcoming tragedy and learning how to become whole again and the second part was about living life to the fullest and making every moment count. I did feel the two parts had a rather strange transitioning period. At the end of the first part we are left wondering about some alarming news and then the second we are in a completely different place and I didn't feel those two really flowed that well. That was the only issue that detracted from this story, though. Once I started reading part two I felt like I was in fast forward (but not in a bad way). Things picked up speed perfectly and I found myself wanting to hit the slow down button because I wanted to savor what was happening.

    Camryn is such an interesting character. She's unlike any I've ever read. The way that she copes by hiding really broke my heart and I'm so glad Andrew is there for her and will never let her suffer alone. She is such an enigma though. She is very difficult to figure out- one minute she feels one way and is happy to be doing what they are doing, but then the next she questions and doubts their decisions. For someone who doesn't want to have a set plan of her life, it seems her not knowing really makes her even more anxious. Places she thinks she wants to go, she realizes she's trying too hard to recreate past memories instead of making new ones and that really bothers her.

    “It’s like, you know, it doesn’t matter what you do, even if you try to replicate an experience down to every last detail, it’ll never be the way it was when it happened naturally the first time.”

    Andrew and Camryn are both such free souls and I love that their views on life are so unfettered. Their pact and promises they make to one another are so precious and I love how they'll make each other promise something, but know they could never actually hold true to that promise.

    Andrew's devotion to Camryn made my heart hitch so many times that I was left breathless. He is so madly in love with her and would do absolutely anything to make her happy. His happiness was dependent on hers and when those two would get on stage and make music together, I really saw just how well they complemented one another. They have a love that would defy time and space and both have faced so many things together that I knew their love was of the lasting kind.

    The epilogue to this book? Perfection. It really was. I know a lot of people hate epilogues but I felt this was so critical to their story and it's a surprise POV from a different character. The story really comes full circle and I really appreciated Redmerski giving that to us.

    I found myself enjoying this story more than the first. I loved watching Andrew and Camryn fall in love on the road, but I loved watching their growth and development even more. Watching them turn back to the road after their world has been thrown into disarray and watching them learn how to live again is what made this such a good read for me.

    "Life is a journey- not a destination." -RWE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2015

    Amazing

    Loved the book! I love the characters and their story. I finished this book in a couple days, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Love it

    Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2015

    Anonymous

    Well guess I wont be buying since half the reviews say it's boring and others blab they have a kid. Thanks plot spoilers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Awesome end to a wonderful story!!

    Book 2 had me at page 1... I loved it I can not say anything more then that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    loved

    loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Andrew and Camryn are finally together. With Andrew's surgery be

    Andrew and Camryn are finally together. With Andrew's surgery behind him and a baby on the way, they are blissfully happy. When tragedy strikes forcing them down a difficult road they realize that they need to figure out where they belong in the world. But do they set out to find it or do they just settle with what they have? The decision is on Camryn.

    I was happy to get to read more of what's in Andrew's head. It makes me happy that they found their place in the world and helped each other thru the rough times. That's what marriage is about, right?

    I really liked this book. Not as much as the first, but enough that I couldn't put it down. The difficult path Andrew and Camryn are forced down is a very real road for a lot of people. I think the author captured it well from both points of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    The first one was way better

    I thought this sequel was boring. I loved The Edge of Never, but I found this one to be forgettable. I actually put it down for 6 months and then finished it only to have it done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    I love this book so much!!

    It was different but a very good different and because it was, i couldnt stop reading it and ended up finishing it in 2 days. It was really hard to stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8