Customer Reviews for

The Edge of Never

Average Rating 4.5
( 1638 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1311)

4 Star

(196)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

This is, hands down, one of the best books I've read this year!

This is, hands down, one of the best books I've read this year! Not just because of how original, emotional and brilliant the story is, and not because I'm a huge sucker for road-trip/traveling stories, but it's written in exactly the way I like it and I am just blown a...
This is, hands down, one of the best books I've read this year! Not just because of how original, emotional and brilliant the story is, and not because I'm a huge sucker for road-trip/traveling stories, but it's written in exactly the way I like it and I am just blown away by it.
Actually, I'm writing this on zero sleep because I got the "one more chapter" disease reading it - I really just wanted to read the first chapter while getting ready to go to bed to see if I'd like it...and see how that turned out!

Andrew is the perfect hero! I have never said this before, and probably never will again, but yeah, he really was perfect. He is a genuinely nice guy with just the right amount of cockiness, but there are just so many more layers than that to his character. You seriously can't help but fall in love with him and everything about him!

I loved Cam, too. She is strong but fragile at the same time, and honestly, I admired her bravery to just get away from everything and leave. I love it that she breaks all her rules and doesn't fight herself breaking them.

And I loved their banter and camaraderie, the way they were teasing each other (the pool playing scene? brilliant.) the chemistry between Cam and Andrew was just...perfect. Somehow their relationship progressed in very realistic way and I really really liked that.

So many feelings about this.
You don't see the twist coming at all, at least not one like that. I mean, I guessed there was something going on, but it kind of all comes crashing down when you least expect it with a BAM! and it's a lot to take in.
The last two chapters made me gasp and cry in turns.

I mean, just wow. The pacing of this is perfect, the switching of POV was unexpected but welcomed - I was concerned about this in the beginning, but really, the author handles it perfectly, she gives these two characters two completely different voices! Oh and yeah, some of the best sex scenes I've read in a while.
I haven't read anything by J.A. Redmerski before but I will definitely try to, now that I've seen what she can do!

posted by Ari_K on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

No up to the hype

No up to the hype

posted by 4999021 on December 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1638 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 82
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Holy Moly.....what a read! Get some tissues.....your gonna need

    Holy Moly.....what a read! Get some tissues.....your gonna need them

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    A mix of nicholas sparks novel and fifty shades. One of the best books i have read. Couldnt put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Absolutely loved it!

    Would highly recommend this book. I dont usually write reviews, but I felt this book deserved one. It was so good! I really felt like I knew the characters and the journey they took together was great! You wont regret reading this one! I laughed so much and even cried!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    The edge of Never was one of the best books I have ever read.

    The edge of Never was one of the best books I have ever read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ive never wrote a review before, but I feel the need. So much so that I'm listening to the Civil Wars as I'm writing;) The characters are well established, and the back and forth thoughts of the two main characters is well executed. I was intimidated by the # of pages, but it read quickly. I gasped, laughed, and cried. Boy did I cry. Love this book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved how this story played out and how it managed to drag me

    I loved how this story played out and how it managed to drag me in. I was enraptured with this story and couldn’t get enough. Told from Camryn’s POV (and sometimes Andrew’s), this story has so much depth and emotions invested in it. Every second brought a new adventure and a new emotion taking me on a rollercoaster that I never wanted to stop. Each page flowed into the next and not one idea got caught in the concept of the book and was lost. Every idea  was displayed and described perfectly. This is one of those books that you can’t help get caught up in the character’s plight.

    Camryn had her own plight and I loved her for it. A girl who has lost a past love and is hungering for adventure. I loved that she didn’t waste time talking herself out of finding adventure but instead goes out and tries to find it. Her character was simply amazing and I enjoyed every part of her from her emotions to her thoughts and words. As she moves through her journey I was captured into her life and ended up cheering for her throughout the book.

    Andrew Parrish. Charming, good natured and hot. What more is there to say? He seemed like the perfect male specimen…until I learned his secret. It threw me for a curve and broke my heart at the same time. I loved it when the story was from his POV because you got a foreshadowing of his secret and the bad news he had yet to break to Camryn. Overall his character was great and added emotional depth and mystery to the story.

    In contrast to other books this book is a definite in my favorites. Everything about this book screamed “Amazing” to me and I loved every moment of it. I will be looking for more books by this author and publisher and I hope that the author writes more books with a similar genre to this one.

    **** I received this eARC from NetGalley.****

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I was getting so tired of the same old same old. I gave this boo

    I was getting so tired of the same old same old. I gave this book a shot and am so glad! Best book I've read in a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    HOMERUN!!!

    MY KIIND OF STORY!!!

    The author develops the characters and story conveying emotion. It isn't often I read a book in which I feel the emotions along with characters. I caught myself smiling throughout most of the book. I actually cried, too. THAT is not a common occurrence. That the author was able to bring me into the story like that demonstrates a strong talent.

    This book is the first I've read by this author, but it won't be the last. I'm glad I took the chance and read it. If the other books are as riveting as this one I will never get any sleep! It was just too hard to put down. THIS ONE WAS A HOMERUN!

    HOWEVER, I have to add that if you shy away from sex scenes, this isn't your kind of book. The author doesn't "gloss over" them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Painful

    I could not get through this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Fantastic book

    This was the first book that I fell in love with both of the main characters. Both Andrew and Cam have baggage and I love how they both except it. Andrew technically saved Cam's life and Cam saved Andrew's life in my opinion. Same as the many reviews said before you will not expect the twist in this story. I loved every minute of this book and I hear there is a second one coming out on November 5? If you love a book were the characters joke around and banter yet can be very intimate with each other this is the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Not what I expected

    I bought is book because of the reviews. For the first time, I was misguided. I found this book to be slow going and boring. Since I am not the type to not finish a book, I suffered through it. The last couple of chapters, you need a box of tissue, that much the reviews got right. But that's about all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Absolutly amazing

    I have read hundreds of books, but never took the time to write a review, until now. This is, hands down the best book i have read in a VERY long time. It had me laughing, smiling, crying, and wanting to trade places with Cam! I cannot wait until the sequel comes out! I will definitely be preordering it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Is this book making young hearts beat faster and sigh at the tho

    Is this book making young hearts beat faster and sigh at the thought of this endearing love story?
    The answer to that would be yes.
    I found the description of the female main character a little disturbing. She is portrayed as completely immature, as if she has no common sense or sense of self preservation. In fact she actually describes herself as 'needing' a male to teach her how to not get into situations which may be dangerous for her.
    Really?
    I mean is this really how the author perceives young women or women in general. Do we 'need' to be led in the right direction?
    That was just the lead up to the borderline BDSM like sexual relationship which develops between the two main characters.
    What really got my goat was the almost obsessive fascination with rape. Aside from the fact that the storyline seems to imply that women should know or be taught super infallible 'how not to get raped skills' and if they don't it's their own fault.
    Hmm this seems to be a reocurring flawed thought process in YA and New Adult books that keeps rearing its ugly little head. Worrying to think that in our era many young women really do believe that if they don't adapt their behaviour to these 'how not to get raped skills' that they are somehow part of the problem.
    The answer to that is No they're not.
    Having to keep yourself safe, use common sense and trust your gut, whilst watching out for predators is a cop out of the upper echelon of ruling society. It is quite simply society putting the burden of keeping potential victims safe on the victims instead of keeping them safe by controlling and punishing the predators.
    Overall the story is sweet veering on the edge of unhealthy. Towards the end it becomes really emotional and more centred on the stronger points of the plot.
    I can see why it is a popular book. Personally I think it has aspects in it that I wouldn't want any female to take on board.
    I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Omg

    This book had me crying a river of tears...such a good book...one book I know I will always love!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    WOW!

    This book will take you on a roller coaster of emotions...I could not put this book down. Wow! I will be reading this book again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Wow

    One of the best books I have read recently... it was VERY refreshing and up to date. I could relate to Cam's thinking. This book really should be a movie (and they wouldn't have to do much with the dialogue- it was perfect and humorous). I found myself laughing out loud and smiling a lot. I also ended up bawling... but it was so worth it. This is an excellent book. I think EVERY woman should read it (17 and older though). I can't get over how amazing this book is....... wish it didn't end.... just WOW!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    I am very disappointed to write this because based on MANY revie

    I am very disappointed to write this because based on MANY reviews that i read- i had high hopes for this book. Not sure how so many people can have such an opposite opinion. It appears to be written from the perspective of two 1e year olds whom are supposed to be 2o and 25 in the story. No depth or intelligence of extreme kinds. this is the second book i've  purchased for my new Nook and luckily I only spent $3.99 on this one. it would be appropriate for teens maybe but in my late 20's i thought it was dull and couldn't find myself attached or connecting to any of the characters. their thoughts to themselves and what they say to each other makes it worse and unecessarily wordy. there wasnt much emotion and the main character was unrelatable and let things just happen to her so easily. ill think twice from now on before purchasing a book with so many positive reviews sadly. i assumed intelligent adults wrote them not tweens or something, it reslly wasnt entertaining or engrossing like EVERYONE seemed to think. i only review a book if its amazing or awful ....and i have to warn people about this one, keep searching.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great book!! A must read!

    I cannot praise this book enough! You get wrapped up in the story of both character and literally feel like you invested in there lives! The end of the book left me feeling exhausted and spent but it was well worth it. Make sure you have the Kleenex handy:)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Dont

    Dont read this book, DONT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Amazing!

    Loved!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1638 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 82