Customer Reviews for

The Edge of Normal

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dark, Emotionally charged

    Can anyone ever be “normal” after having lived through almost four years of isolation, abuse and torture at the twisted hands of a monster? Reeve LeClaire was kidnapped as a child and even after years of therapy is still unable to feel comfortable in the “normal” world. Relationships are beyond her, the ability to hold a job is beyond her, but the nightmares still come. When asked to help with another young victim of a kidnapping/rape/torture who has just been found and released to her parents, hesitantly Reeve agrees, only to find it therapeutic for herself, as much as for the young girl. The similarities between what these girls endured are uncanny, and the aftermath something only another victim could understand. Has Reeve found the magic bullet that will kill her tormentor? Will helping others be the key to ending her nightmares? Are there more young girls being hidden away by a demented puppetmaster who is calling all of the shots? Will he get to Reeve before she uncovers his secrets?

    The Edge of Normal by Carla Norton is powerful, intense and hideously real. She has connected the reader to the characters at a level that will make your skin crawl and your blood boil as you become personally invested in the lives and torment of these girls. There is no pretty packaging, no flowery phrasing, the story is told with brutal frankness as a former victim learns she is stronger than she could have imagined. If you are unaffected by a crime so heinous, a crime that happens in the ‘real world,’ perhaps it’s time for a pulse check.

    An Arc edition was provided by NetGalley and St. Martin's Press/Minotaur Books in exchange for my honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Well written

    Love the author's style of writing. This was a great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Carla Norton presents a rapid fire, heart jumping book with her

    Carla Norton presents a rapid fire, heart jumping book with her first novel. Based on real crime concerning violence towards women, she is respectful of the subject and families who suffered through the horrors of having loved ones kidnapped and abused. The characters are genuine and her technique of having different voices tell the tale is most effective. Reeve has survived the worst of ordeals yet through healing and ongoing therapy is able to reach out to others who have suffered as she has. Reeve takes us along as she plunges into the ongoing crime scenes. It's a powerful ride through tough territory; I was fully engaged by the plot and Ms. Norton's exceptional writing. I hope to see Reeve return in future books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A thriller were

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A thriller were the reader knows the killer from the beginning, but is just waiting for the detectives and team to put all the pieces together.  Told from many point of views, the reader is able to get a full picture which was beyond entertaining.

    My most favorite part of the book was thinking that it was concluding, but realizing that there were quite a few pages to go and clearly there was still a few things that were going to happen!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing, suspenseful, with interesting twists... I received

    Engrossing, suspenseful, with interesting twists...

    I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. "The Edge Of Normal" is an amazing story of strength, courage, and perseverance. Reeve LeClaire has been through quite a lot in her short twenty two years of life. She was kidnapped and held captive when she was 12 years old, and by chance was found about 3 years later. She was traumatized, raped and abused. Now another young girl has been found. Will Reeve fight her demons to help this young girl heal?

    This book put me on an emotional rollercoaster. The descriptions were so vivid, it was like reliving the story in your mind's eye. You see the main character grow from victim to survivor, and her emotions move from fear to anger as she becomes determined to find the other two missing girls. I was completely engrossed from start to finish as I wondered if they would realize who the kidnapper actually was. This was a great book with edge of your seat excitement, a must read for every crime thriller fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    what my future holds part three

    Part three. <p> i jumped infront of Sun's dad. He tackle me out th window and down two stories. The lats thing i herd was "ALEX! HES A GO<cr>D IT ARES!" millions of thoughts flew through my find. When suddenly i crashed into the ground ontop of the Ares guy. Bounced alot more than i thought. In less than a second i was on the ground with a sword at my throght. I tried to move but a seering pain shot up my back. "ALEX!" Sun yelled. "Shut up you worthless girl!" He yelled. Hy hand quickly shot to my wrist and my shield shot out just as the man swung his sword at my neck. When them the sword made contact with the shield te sword explpded pushing the man backwards. "YOU HAVE MADE AN ENEMY WITH ARES! YOUR LIFE OVER! You dissapoint me girl!" he dissperd into a blood red cloud. Sun ran out into the yard followd by my mom. My mom had this wierd thermos in her hand. Sun kneeld next to me. "Wt happend alex?" She asked. "I dont know." I said looking at my mom. She sighed. "I knew this was coming." She said giving me the liquid in the thermos. It tasted like fresh strawberrys. "What mom." I said gulping down the liquid. "Have you to ever noticed anything wierd about you." She asked. I shook my head. "Like that one eyed bus driver in third grade? And the minataur thing at the petting zoo." Sun said. "Ya, and the gaint substitute in sixth grade." I said. My mom nodded. "Do you know what half-bloods are?" My mom asked. "Those sons and daughters of the greek wierdos." I said as Thunder rumbled in the distance. She nodded looking from Sun to me. "You kids have to get to camp half-blood imedetly."" Whats camp half-blood?" Sun asked. "A camp where kids like you will be safe." Okay i said lets go. <p> next part at next res. - &#9787

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    To "What My Future Holds"

    Keep writing!! You are a good writer/author. Please simply work on typing/gramar. Thank you:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    To What my future holds

    Keep writing your doing great! Please continue your other story. I'm dieing to find out what happens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Sweet Death

    Great! Keep on going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Normal me #2

    Changeling Zecora has really changed."Thanks Zecora.",I said. Zecora had patched up the blood and wrap some bandages on it.

    "Well I have to go home. Spot needs to be fed.",I said."Goodbye.",Changeling Zecora said. I opened the door and walked home.

    When I got home Spot started licking my face like crazy."I missed you too,Spot.",I said. I got Spot's dog bowl and poured his dog food.

    Spot got done with his food and it was time for bed."Well I guess its time for bed Spot.",I said. We went upstairs and laid our heads down."Night Spot.",I said turning off the light.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1