Customer Reviews for

The Eerie Adventures of the Lycanthrope Robinson Crusoe

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Classic, with a twist of wolf.

    Mr. Clines is like a fine chef with this book. He seasoned the original with enough new material, that it keeps you glued to it, but not so much that it takes from the classic story. This new material blended so smoothly, that I had to question if some of it was not in the original. It just worked. So if you like mash ups, and seek a new twist on an old story, then allow me to recommend this book. I know you will not be disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Truly reads like a classic horror novel...

    I was skeptical about this because a) I'm not a big fan of the original Robinson Crusoe, and b) mash-ups are really hit-or-miss. But I love werewolves, and the premise intrigued me, so I decided to give it a try. Honestly it is a bit difficult to get used to the language and style at first, but once you do, it's a very easy read (think of, say, a British movie where you have to get used to the strong accents). This is Crusoe with the most boring and offensive parts trimmed out, and a compelling first-person werewolf account seamlessly blended in. And if that's not cool enough, the island where the werewolf Crusoe gets stranded, is a creepy Lovecraftian place. Unlike in the original, I actually cared about Crusoe here, and found his friendship with Friday sweet and funny and sad. And I actually teared up towards the end, though I'm not going to give spoilers away. This is not a fast-read "junk food" kind of book (not that those don't have their place); this is an engrossing read to be savored. It really feels like a genuine "classic horror novel" in the vein of Frankenstein and Dracula.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1