Customer Reviews for

The Eight

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

absolutely amazing

A page turner of a novel that kept me in my seat of what's going to happen next! It may be a long novel, but there is a good story behind it! And though it does seem to reflect the persona of the author herself, it showed how she can marvel at storytelling putting hist...
A page turner of a novel that kept me in my seat of what's going to happen next! It may be a long novel, but there is a good story behind it! And though it does seem to reflect the persona of the author herself, it showed how she can marvel at storytelling putting history and adventure into play. This is an excellent read that I have ventured as I'm more of a Rollins fan, but I do love a story that has some history and myth behind it and added with adventure that puts you right into the story itself.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What a rook

The story was hard to follow at times and the twists were a bit cheap. Driving in 200 degree temps in a convertible! Come on. I did not even finish the book.

posted by Ladychelot on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Glue to your seat book!!

    It's a really good book if you like suspense and some mind challenging.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    absolutely amazing

    A page turner of a novel that kept me in my seat of what's going to happen next! It may be a long novel, but there is a good story behind it! And though it does seem to reflect the persona of the author herself, it showed how she can marvel at storytelling putting history and adventure into play. This is an excellent read that I have ventured as I'm more of a Rollins fan, but I do love a story that has some history and myth behind it and added with adventure that puts you right into the story itself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Exciting Mystery Thriller!!

    The Eight is an amazing book for all those readers who enjoy a compelling mystery in both the past and present. Those who enjoyed The Davinci Code will be riveted by this amazing story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Eight by Katherine Neville The Montglane Service - a chess set

    Eight by Katherine Neville

    The Montglane Service - a chess set that holds the key to a game of unlimited power - is a gift from the Moors to Emperor Charlemagne. Its pieces have been hunted fervently throughout the years by those seeking the ultimate power. Carved in gold and silver, filled with precious gemstone, they contain the formula for the elixir of life. The person who can decipher the secret formula held by the pieces, will have not only ultimate power, but also, immortality.

    The first game with these pieces was played by Charlemagne himself against Garin Montglane. The destructive forces of the game were so great that Charlemagne decided to bury the chess set in the Abbey of Montglane where it lay until the French revolution when the Republic declared war against the clergy and decided to steal all the religious treasures of the kingdom.

    Helene de Roque, the abbess of Montglane, decides to uncover the hidden treasure and spread it around the world so that no one can abuse the magnificent powers that it contains. Thus a chess game is started and continues throughout history.

    The Eight features two intertwined storylines set centuries apart. The first takes place in 1972 and follows American computer expert Catherine "Cat" Velis as she is sent to Algeria for a special assignment. The second is set in 1790 and revolves around Mireille, a novice nun at Montglane Abbey. The fates of both characters are intertwined as they become pawns behind the Montglane Service and are nothing but players in a sinister and deadly chess game.

    The book is narrated from the first person point of view by Catherine, and from the third person point of view by Mireille. Every now and then a character narrates his or her tale - a revelation into the puzzles that are needed to gain the knowledge to decipher the formula hidden by the chess set.

    The book is fascinating and it is masterful in its use of historical fiction. I loved it. A great mix of romance, historical fiction, and medieval mystery - both vibrant and cerebral.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than DaVinci Code (my opionion)

    I really enjoyed this book for everything I like about thrillers, mysteries, action, romance, etc. The plot moves along without becoming tiresome. The characters are colorful and their connection is not entirely obvious too soon. I had no problem jumping between the eras as it never became confused but was very concise and organized for the reader. I would recommend this book to pretty much every one of my reading friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I have read this book every year since the first year it was published.

    Katherine Neville has written a masterpiece. I never tire of reading this book. Each time I read it I learn something new about a character, or the plot. I have given this book to several people as gifts and find out later that they enjoyed it so much they made sure others would read it as well. One year our book club read it and every member became as enthralled as I. I have only had paperback copies and have to replace them several times. Recently, I bought the (long a-waited) sequel and can't wait to start that as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I enjoyed this book when it first came out and still love to read it. I have given it aways numerous times, and always with a return thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An All-Time Favorite!

    I've been devouring books since I was five years old and The Eight, from the first time I read it twenty years ago, remains one of the most entertaining books that I have ever read. The long-awaited sequel, The Fire, gave me an excuse to re-read The Eight and, once again, I had difficulty putting it down at 2am. A unique blend of history, intrigue, thriller, fantasy,drama, and romance, Katherine Neville has woven a complex tale spanning several time periods, past and present, without ever seeming choppy or disjointed. This well researched, beautifully written and entirely unique book is centered around an ancient chess set. Populated with historical figures as well as fictional main characters, this saga portrays the horrors of the French Revolution and stretches across three continents. Although it was hard to see the story come to an end, this time the sequel, The Fire, was already in my bookcase. (The Fire, is in its own right, another great book.) Don't miss either one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Eight is Great!!!!

    A totally wonderful book,the Characters are well written and completely lovable,<BR/>the story itself is really interesting and to top it all you learn more from it then most history books.A Top Ten Book of all time for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Book of all time!

    I approached this book with trepidation. Yet another piece of romantic historical fiction. Was I ever surprised. The characters were richly developed and easy to relate to and the story line intriguing. Why couldn't the second book be like this. What a huge disappointment after so many years of anticipation. Stick with the "Eight", the one hit wonder!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Checkmate!

    This is a fantastic, well-told, page-turner story in which the lives of certain chosen people become intertwined with that of a chess set. Their present day lives are also thrown into the mix with the lives of people vying for the same chess set two hundred years previously. With many historical references and twists and turns, this is a must have for any book lover. Ten times as good as "The Da Vinci Code."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is outstanding. It blends historical and contemporary fiction with legend, alchemy, chess, secret codes, and a bit of romance. I was first drawn to this book because of the chess element, because I love chess, but the plot quickly engaged me. This is a long, luscious read, with tantalizingly hinted-at and drawn-out romance that wraps up very satisfyingly. The book ends on a somewhat ambiguous note... but I won't give it away. You need to read this for yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Katherine Neville makes Dan Brown look like an amateur

    I first read this book in 1989 when it came out and have read it repeatedly each year since then. I own at least 4 copies, 2 of which I lend to friends who have not read it. The tapestry of words, characters, and historical events woven throughout a fictional story that is so well written you would need to have known Voltaire or Catherine the Great for repudiation. The allegory of 8's throughout the story is also easily missed on a first reading. This book is far and away my favorite and I await with excitement and trepidation the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Two thumbs up from a Chess novice!

    This book is about Chess, international intrigue, and the mystery of an ancient artifact with supposed mystical qualities. Don't let this dry summation fool you. This book delivers on everything it promises, and then some!! Wow! The author, obviously writing about situations and places of which she knows, infuses this tremendous work of fiction with subtle nuances, full flavors and all the depth of a quality literary work. Her novel idea of weaving notable characters in history into this fictional plot was, I thought, brilliant. This is the book that the DaVinci Code wants to be when it grows up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Best Heroine Book Ever

    One of the best cloak and dagger books I have read in a long time. Better than the Da Vinci Code by far. A definite page turner until the very end. As I read this book I was truly amazed at how I felt transcended in time to the places and events which were being described. Finally a book where the hero is none other than a smart, ruthless, moral woman. Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2006

    Amazing

    I bought this books because I am a chess fiend, and enjoyed books like Angels and Demons, and the Rule of four. What I was lucky to find is the best book I ever read. It was flawless, erudite, and incrediable. READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    I Loved It!!!

    I loved this book! It intertwined history with modern day facts and a mystical edge... I would reconmend this book to anyone who like to pick up interesting facts. Also this book had some great quotes, brainy and funny!!! All around great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Loved it.....

    I can not say enough about this book. It was a real page turner, I found myself getting up early and reading a few pages before going to work. I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    What a journey!

    After reading DaVinci Code and Angels & Demons, I had little hope of finding yet another work of modern fiction so captivating. (had been forever covering the enjoyable 'classics'). When a friend suggested the Eight, I didn't hold much hope. Boy was I in for a surprise! This book was nothing short of incredible. The weaving of time, locale, historical figures, action, suspense, etc. - it pulled together for a story that any fan of the DaVinci Code would love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Brilliant

    What a great book! I will probably read it again to pick up details I may have missed the first time, as the story line is fairly complex. It's also a great refresher on world history - it's been too long since I was in school... I found it rather humbling that I recognized many of the historical figures, but couldn't recall any other details about them. This is not a speed-read by any means, but worth the time and focus. And a timely reminder to look in the past for great reading material rather than waiting for the next new work from favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4